Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.261591

From acclaimed author Tricia Springstubb comes a poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Rita Williams-Garcia.

Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini’s life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend, Clem, doesn’t seem concerned; she’s busy figuring out the best way to spend the “leap second”—an extra second about to be added to the world’s official clock. The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being “secret sisters” to not talking at all.

Then Angela’s idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity and judgment. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with a series of startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. As Angela’s situation becomes dangerous, Nella must choose whether to stand by or stand up. Her heart tries to tell her what to do, but can you always trust your heart? The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge—the future will be up to her.

Paperback, 368 pages
Published on November 14, 2017 by Balzer + Bray
ISBN-10: 0062366297
ISBN-13: 9780062366290
0 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
Be the first to write a review.

    Recent Kids Book Reviews

    ashton wrote:

    i have read that book and it is ...
    Wonder

    jeff wrote:

    I have unlimited wins
    FoRtNiTe: 100+ Funny Fortnite me...

    WINGS OF FIRE F wrote:

    This is awesome I’ve read this b...
    Wings of Fire Book Three: The Hi...

    Our Apps and Plugins