Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 25, 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 037587089X
ISBN-13: 9780375870897
223 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lions579
    lions579Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 5:30 pm55 stars
    This book is about a boy called Kyle, and he is a big gamer. His favorite games are made by his hero, Luigi Lemoncello. He created a library in the town where he grew up. And selected twelve twelve-year old kids to participate in a library lock in. The way you are chosen is by writing the best extra credit essay Kyle and eleven other kids are able to compete for the biggest prize they have ever wanted, they will be...(Sorry, but I can not spoil the ending, so read the book to find out) a great book with puzzles and at the back is a list of all the books mentioned in the story, so a good reference when wanting to read good and popular books. (There is also a secret puzzle for YOU to do.) This book I would recommend to people in third to sixth grade that love puzzles.
    • extrememsb
      extrememsbThursday, May 7, 2020 at 4:26 pm44 stars
      This book is about 12 people who get chosen (by writing essays) to be the first library card holders of the new library. The library was created by the famous game inventor, Mr. Lemoncello. What they don't know is that they will be part of a game to escape from the library. I thought that this was a very fun book. It has lots of puzzles and riddles in it. I recommend this book to anyone who loves puzzles and adventures!
      • toodorky
        toodorkyTuesday, May 5, 2020 at 12:02 pm44 stars
        Escape from Mr. Lemoncells's Library is a bout Mr. Lemoncello, of course. He designed a library with money by being a billionaire. He created a challenge in where children have to escape the library with clues and entering books of different genres. The winner, or the first person out get a special prize. Kyle Keeley really wants to win, but so does Charles Chiltington, a bully who will do whatever it takes to win, even if that means cheating. Will Kyle will? Will he and his friends stop Charles and his team and win the lucky prize? I really liked this book, and I'm sure you will too.
        • cyrekyso-158048913854
          cyrekyso-158048913854Monday, March 2, 2020 at 12:15 pm55 stars
          Kaiser Weist #27 February 4, 2020 This book’s genre is Mystery and Adventure and it was written and found by Chris Grabenstein. The first thing that happens in the story is, Kyle and his brothers are playing a game. Kyle and one of his brothers found what they needed and were sprinting to their house to get the last thing they needed before one of them got it. Meanwhile, Kyle’s other brother was stuck trying to get a dog toy. Kyle runs through the garden while his other brother ran through the house.Kyle made it to the basement window and kicked it open and got the last thing he needed first. The main characters are Kyle Keely, Akimi Hughes, and Sierra Russell.Kyle is the MAIN main character and he’s super smart and he likes to play games,video or board, no matter how old. Akimi is Kyle’s best friend and loves games too, and she is super smart like I said for Kyle.Sierra might be the smartest one of them all, she always has her nose in a book and she only takes her nose out of a book to help people. One of the key events that happened in the story that added to the plot was a bully that got invited to the lock in made his team mate steal one of the other team mates library card to go into their meeting room to copy down clues that they found to see if they were on the same track as them because they thought that would be a problem.The other key event that added to the plot was that the bully tried to steal one of the books that the other team was pulling out of the bookcase.Then he grabbed it and slammed into the person that was holding the book. The main character changes from the beginning of the story to the end because at first he is all about video and board and then on pgs.201-202 it says,” But finally, after the inside of his mouth had turned to sandpaper he said No thanks Charles.We’re just gonna,you know, read.” So that says to me that he is getting over video games and he wants to read more. One unanswered question that I’d like to ask the author is how did you come up with Alexandriaville,Ohio for the location and which dog is fred in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang? The thing that I enjoyed the most about the book is all the puzzles and clues and how hard it was for them to get out of the library and how long it took for them to solve the mystery. I would recommend this book because it is a good story and the author makes it seem like the setting is real but it is not real
          • cyrekyso-158048913854
            cyrekyso-158048913854Monday, March 2, 2020 at 12:02 pm55 stars
            Kaiser Weist #27 February 4, 2020 This book’s genre is Mystery, and Adventure and it was written by Chris Grabenstein.The thing that happens first in the story is, Kyle and his brothers are playing a game and Kyle and one of his brothers had found what they needed and were sprinting to their house to get the last thing first.Meanwhile, Kyle’s other brother was stuck trying to get a dog toy.Kyle runs through the garden while his other brother ran through the house.Kyle made it to the basement window and kicked it open and got the last thing he needed first. The main characters are Kyle Keely, Akimi Hughes, and Sierra Russell.Kyle is the MAIN main character and he’s super smart and he likes to play games,video or board, no matter how old.Akimi is Kyle’s best friend and loves games too, and she is super smart like I said for Kyle.Sierra might be the smartest one of them all, she always has her nose in a book and she only takes her nose out of a book to help people. One of the key events that happened in the story that added to the plot was a bully that got invited to the lock in made his team mate steal one of the other team mates library card to go into their meeting room to copy down clues that they found to see if they were on the same track as them because they thought that would be a problem.The other key event that added to the plot was that the bully tried to steal one of the books that the other team was pulling out of the bookcase.Then he grabbed it and slammed into the person that was holding the book. The main character changes from the beginning of the story to the end because at first he is all about video and board and then on pgs.201-202 it says,” But finally, after the inside of his mouth had turned to sandpaper he said No thanks Charles.We’re just gonna,you know, read.” So that says to me that he is getting over video games and he wants to read more. One unanswered question that I’d like to ask the author is how did you come up with Alexandriaville,Ohio for the location and which dog is fred in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang? The thing that I enjoyed the most about the book is all the puzzles and clues and how hard it was for them to get out of the library and how long it took for them to solve the mystery. I would recommend this book because it is a good story and the author makes it seem like the setting is real but it is not real
            • artyboifowl1
              artyboifowl1Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:11 pm44 stars
              Love this book. It's a magical, great story for people of all ages. Great book for the family and others.
              • lawalex
                lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:30 am55 stars
                In this race against the clock game, Kyle and his friends must escape the high tech library before time runs out. This book will have you hanging on every word, cheering for Kyle, and solving clues.
                • hedgeguin2
                  hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:03 am44 stars
                  So far, this book is pretty good! I don’t like that the book sometimes gives you a brief description of the activities the winners do. Well, I hope I like it!
                  • lunalovegood8
                    lunalovegood8Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:25 pm55 stars
                    This was a fun book because of the mystery that the kids needed to solve. I also really enjoyed the characters Akimi and Kyle because they worked as a great team! Mr. Lemoncello was also a really funny, interesting character.
                    • watercolrwonder
                      watercolrwonderTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:48 am55 stars
                      I first read this in my 5th Grade Battle of the Books, and I've recommended it to many people since! It's such a creative and clever story, great for any puzzle lover. I enjoyed working out the rebuses along with the characters. You won't want to put it down!