Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 25, 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 037587089X
ISBN-13: 9780375870897
218 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • lawalex
    lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:30 am55 stars
    In this race against the clock game, Kyle and his friends must escape the high tech library before time runs out. This book will have you hanging on every word, cheering for Kyle, and solving clues.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 11:03 am44 stars
      So far, this book is pretty good! I don’t like that the book sometimes gives you a brief description of the activities the winners do. Well, I hope I like it!
      • lunalovegood8
        lunalovegood8Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:25 pm55 stars
        This was a fun book because of the mystery that the kids needed to solve. I also really enjoyed the characters Akimi and Kyle because they worked as a great team! Mr. Lemoncello was also a really funny, interesting character.
        • watercolrwonder
          watercolrwonderTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 4:48 am55 stars
          I first read this in my 5th Grade Battle of the Books, and I've recommended it to many people since! It's such a creative and clever story, great for any puzzle lover. I enjoyed working out the rebuses along with the characters. You won't want to put it down!
          • lilbug747
            lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 1:00 pm55 stars
            This story is about a boy named Kyle, as he gets the experience of a lifetime, having the opportunity to visit the famous Mr. Lemoncello’s Library! What everyone expects to be just a fun sleepover, turns into a night of competition! This isn’t your average lock-in this is an actual LOCK IN! What team can solve the puzzles to find the one exit that is not a window , or how they came in. I loved this book and all of the characters! Five stars from me!!!
            • kgbradshaw
              kgbradshawSunday, May 12, 2019 at 12:01 pm55 stars
              This book is one of the best I have ever read. It is one of the most creative and different books on the shelf.
              • lavoiem
                lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:36 pm33 stars
                I liked this book a lot!!! I remember reading it and it being so adventurous and you had to use a lot of imagination which I absolutely loved because I usually don’t read books with a lot of that so it was really a wonderful book that was always so interesting and making your mind think of new and crazy things that are just awesome
                • StudentMonday, May 6, 2019 at 12:01 pm
                  I love this book! But be careful...it is nothing like the movie!
                  • pandimeep
                    pandimeepMonday, May 6, 2019 at 9:41 am55 stars
                    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!
                    • StudentMonday, May 6, 2019 at 8:22 am
                      I absolutely LOVEd reading this book! Be careful...the movie and the book are not the same.