Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5Q4.450368
There was no day that dumplings couldn't make better.

Pacy is back! The beloved heroine of The Year of the Dog and The Year of the Rat has returned in a brand new story. This summer, Pacy's family is going to Taiwan for an entire month to visit family and prepare for their grandmother's 60th birthday celebration. Pacy's parents have signed her up for a Chinese painting class, and at first she's excited. This is a new way to explore her art talent! But everything about the trip is harder than she thought it would be--she looks like everyone else but can't speak the language, she has trouble following the art teacher's instructions, and it's difficult to make friends in her class. At least the dumplings are delicious...

As the month passes by, Pacy eats chicken feet (by accident!), gets blessed by a fortune teller, searches for her true identity, and grows closer to those who matter most.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 2, 2012 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316125903
ISBN-13: 9780316125901
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kewlkat
    kewlkatThursday, November 19, 2015 at 5:00 pm
    I loved this book.
    • thecatsmeow
      thecatsmeowFriday, November 13, 2015 at 3:50 pm
      I love the food in this book! My especial favorite is xiaolongbao, which I had in Taiwan.
      • pandagirlrocks1
        pandagirlrocks1Friday, November 13, 2015 at 2:06 pm55 stars
        awesome awesome awesome awesome [3 hours later} awesome awesome awesom
        • happypug12
          happypug12Tuesday, July 28, 2015 at 6:34 am44 stars
          Dumpling Days was wonderful, heartwarming, and best of all, mouthwatering. I have read all Grace Lin's previous books, and she never has lost her touch in a single one of them to make my mouth drool and stomach growl. I also love her short stories inside the actual story. This was a perfect book that you will sympathize with and smile with.
          • chinagirl24
            chinagirl24Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 12:01 pm
            I like this book
            • Book NerdTuesday, April 22, 2014 at 9:10 am
              Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • jellolive12
                jellolive12Saturday, April 5, 2014 at 7:44 am33 stars
                I like this book
                • frankiebaby
                  frankiebabySaturday, March 15, 2014 at 11:05 am
                  I love dumplings
                  • jordin
                    jordinTuesday, February 18, 2014 at 11:46 am
                    i love this book it is very interesting grace lin is my 2nd favorite author. grace lin even came to my school once she is a very nice person
                    • faganbrown
                      Ms. Fagan-BrownMonday, January 20, 2014 at 4:08 am
                      The Year of the Horse is January 30th 2014. Help celebrate by reading any of Grace Lin's fabulous books.
                      • jordin
                        jordinTuesday, February 18, 2014 at 11:52 am
                        im the year of the ram what year r u