Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.38630
From Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile and Sisters!

Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545326982
ISBN-13: 9780545326988
845 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bouncer
    bouncerWednesday, December 12, 2018 at 9:52 am55 stars
    This is a great book for 8-15-year-olds. It is very relatable being in middle school. It does talk a lot about relationships and the things that happen when you grow up but Raina Telgemeire puts a fun spin on it. I loved the book and I hope you did too!
    • fortnite456
      fortnite456Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 4:05 pm
      im not really a big fan but its still good
      • NjsbjsbsjbjsbjbFriday, December 7, 2018 at 6:38 am
        The drama with the guys I never saw coming 0-0
        • resghugvWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 7:54 pm
          the amount of words is for grades 1-3 but kids at that at that age won't understand the book until they're in grades 6-8
          • hellokitty83105
            hellokitty83105Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:21 pm33 stars
            I wasn't a big fan. It really caught me by surprise ( all of that Justin stuff ). Definitely not a book for kids in grades 1-3.
            • dogo FANTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 8:02 am
              wow I really wanna read this book it looks great for me......
              • YeetusTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:09 pm
                Love this book! Its awesome! I love all her books! like "Smile" and "Sisters" they are all awesome!!
                • maegan1
                  maegan1Monday, November 26, 2018 at 5:31 pm55 stars
                  callie is doing a play. she has so much drama
                  • stellaluna
                    stellalunaSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 4:08 pm55 stars
                    I love this book! It is one of my favorite books. (Probably because I love all of her books.) But that is not the point. Drama is everywhere, no matter if it is friendship issues, love, and acting. All of that is mixed into one of these exciting books Raina makes. Callie is totally in the spot. She understands that everyone is not the best with her, and that the stuff for the play Moon over Mississippi's budget. The play Callie and her crew are putting on. Theater drama. Onstage and offstage drama. Including love drama. She kisses this guy, snuggles this one, and likes this one. WHO WILL SHE END UP WITH?
                    • birdwatcher888Monday, November 19, 2018 at 5:57 am
                      so good and i can totally relate to this book i love the theater and acting as well!!!

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins