Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.38630
From Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile and Sisters!

Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545326982
ISBN-13: 9780545326988
910 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 8:14 am44 stars
    pretty good book, a great read for kids going into middle or junior high school. i really liked the characters in the story and their great friendships.
    • ck10
      ck10Friday, June 28, 2019 at 3:28 pm55 stars
      I think it's a great book. It has a lot of drama but that's ok - it is called "Drama" after all.
      • caylajw
        caylajwWednesday, June 26, 2019 at 6:43 am55 stars
        I love this book it is full of drama i love it
        • soccerchick03
          soccerchick03Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 5:31 am33 stars
          I have read books by Raina Telgemeier such as, Smile and Sisters and was hoping this book would be good to. It was a good book and has a lot about the theatre. I liked this book but I wish that she didn’t have to writ in the homosexuality.
          • TeAranga Monday, June 24, 2019 at 1:05 am
            Hi I love this book how much is it I would love to read it to my kids my kids really like this book so I am wondering how much it is thanks enyways I love ur bookπŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
            • 3bears
              3bearsThursday, June 20, 2019 at 11:17 am44 stars
              Drama tells about Callie, a girl who has a crush on her long-time friend, but he is always dating someone. Callie also likes to design costumes, and the drama club is going to hold a romance play. Two new boys joined the drama club, and they get to know Callie.
              • lumos
                lumosWednesday, June 19, 2019 at 2:02 pm55 starsFeatured
                Callie, the purple-haired 7th grader, joins the theater production "Moon Over Mississippi" in her school, doing what she loves. She meets two new friends, Jesse and Justin, who are twins. Jesse was shy to try out for the play, but Justin did. Later on, West, who played the leading role, broke up with his in real life AND in the play "girlfriend", and she quits the role of Bonnie on the opening night. Jesse, one of the twins, is then asked to play the part that Bonnie played. He agreed to. This is all I'll say right now, there are a few other topics I haven't discussed in this book that will be great to talk about, and learn more about. I enjoyed this book, and think the message about LGBT+ is very clear and powerful in this book. Love it!!
                • kl0p
                  kl0pTuesday, June 18, 2019 at 11:14 am55 stars
                  I loved this book and how it is about a play😻
                  • Drama QueenMonday, June 17, 2019 at 7:04 pm
                    I love this book . Raina Telgimeir is like the best author ever
                    • pandabear8777
                      pandabear8777Thursday, June 13, 2019 at 5:46 pm55 stars
                      I love this book so much. Raina telegmier is such a great author. Her books are so interesting. It was funny when the boy { I forgot his name} ditched caile at the dance