Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 1 - 3n/a2.38630
From Raina Telgemeier, the #1 New York Times bestselling, multiple Eisner Award-winning author of Smile and Sisters!

Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school's production of Moon over Mississippi, she can't really sing. Instead she's the set designer for the drama department's stage crew, and this year she's determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn't know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 1, 2012 by GRAPHIX
ISBN-10: 0545326982
ISBN-13: 9780545326988
993 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • hedgeguin2
    hedgeguin2Friday, July 24, 2020 at 5:53 pm55 stars
    As I’ve probably mentioned before, I love graphic novels! Raina Telgemeier is such a good writer and drawer, and I love all of her books! Drama is about Callie, a high school student, who is part of the stage crew that is going to perform a play. As they get ready, Callie goes on an adventure with boy drama and annoying brothers, but finds herself and who she wants to be at the end. I love this book a lot, and I would definitely recommend you read it if you haven’t! :D
    • butterflybriana
      butterflybrianaThursday, July 23, 2020 at 2:10 pm55 stars
      it's one of my favorites too! but I am sooo bored right now because of covid 19. I could watch youtube over and over again but my youtube's not working I keep checking and it keeps saying try again later... anyway i love this book!
      • goodvibesonly09
        goodvibesonly09Tuesday, July 21, 2020 at 8:55 am55 stars
        This book is one of my favorites! Drama is everywhere! Raina is one of my favorite authors I enjoy lots of her books including Smile, Sisters, and Guts. I like how in those three books she tells about her real life! My life isn't interesting enough for a book but now that we are all in the Covid 19 world I would really like to make a book of my own about the world right now. And I inspire you all to right your own books too!
        • uni444
          uni444Monday, July 20, 2020 at 12:31 pm55 stars
          This is a book about a girl named callie who loved working for stage crew on plays and things.one day she put up flyers for moon over the Mississippi and two boys walked by to check it out one of them that was really social was named justin the other Jesse justin was gay Jesse wasn't justin Tried out for the play of the lead role but didn't get it he got another part.The next day justin and Jesse took callie to the library and to get boba tea.The next day they practiced the play and stage crew helped out to get everything ready.For one of the props was a cannon and before callie couldn't get it to work but now she did.later that day callie thought about something Jesse has his 8 grade formal and she really wanted him to ask her and he did the 8 grade formal was fun but then Jesse said he had to use the restroom but then he disappeared callie found him and that's when she found that Jesse and justin were gay and then they worked it out the end.
          • honeybadger1313
            honeybadger1313Monday, July 20, 2020 at 12:03 pm55 stars
            This book is amazing and totally promotes self confidence!!! I recommend it! I'm a theater girl and this book really reminded me how much it helped me with confidence!!
            • galaxy52
              galaxy52Saturday, July 18, 2020 at 9:53 am33 stars
              I like this book. It was written by one of my favorite authors, Raina Telgamier. I like how she did flash backs in the book, and how she made the plot. I give it a 8 out of ten.
              • ramonakitty
                ramonakittyFriday, July 10, 2020 at 6:55 am
                Drama is SUPER good. I got it last year and I read it all the day I got it because it was so good.You should definitely read it!
                • lovereading310
                  lovereading310Friday, June 26, 2020 at 7:54 pm55 stars
                  its pretty good
                  • angella
                    angellaSaturday, June 20, 2020 at 7:00 pm
                    This book was about a one that was want to make a best character for the dtama but she can't sing instead she become a disigner for the stage crew.it is because shool cant afford the budget .
                    • angella
                      angellaSaturday, June 20, 2020 at 6:53 pm
                      This book is about an one girl that wan to play the best character on the drama but she can't sing ,instead she be a disigner for the stage crew she wants to make best to the school drama.