Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1237 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • QueenThursday, October 3, 2019 at 7:35 pm
    It is really good
    • nicole101
      nicole101Sunday, September 29, 2019 at 3:17 pm
      think this book is the best my favorite character in the book is Nikki because she has a lot of energy in her body. I would rate this book a 100% which is an A+
      • AngelMonday, September 16, 2019 at 1:14 pm
        I would totally rate this A five star!
        • Mow mow 2.0Sunday, September 15, 2019 at 11:43 am
          I like the way she writes with ecspretion she writes big and small and the pics were so detalid this is the best book im shore the rest of the books are going to be amazing
          • cheese1
            cheese1Saturday, September 7, 2019 at 12:04 pm55 stars
            I like it
            • BethMonday, August 26, 2019 at 6:44 pm
              My daughter loves these books she only finished one but she loves them!
              • blueopalwarrior
                blueopalwarriorTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 11:35 am22 stars
                Although I strongly think you should like what you like, Nikki can be quite rude at times. There are also mentions of her watching inappropriate things on TV. These books are good as light-hearted reads, but I read them in Year 4 and now I see some things I think parents should check.
                • xeta
                  xetaMonday, August 12, 2019 at 9:10 am55 stars
                  I was so in love with this book series when I was younger and I still am. x3 It's refreshing to read a story about a girl who's not perfect, in fact far from it, who makes mistakes and gets awkward and feels peer pressure like a REAL PERSON! I loved Nikki's adventures and there's a good chance you will too. :) ~ Xeta <3
                  • cupcakeq
                    cupcakeqWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 9:58 pm44 stars
                    Dork Diaries is a great book!!
                    • pizzagirl1
                      pizzagirl1Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 9:57 am55 stars
                      Dork diaries is more than great it's amazing I am following you
                    • isabellagamerab
                      isabellagamerabWednesday, July 17, 2019 at 11:20 pm55 stars
                      This book was awesome becouse niki has a secret crush brandon!!!!