Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1222 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • elaine l am 12 Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 6:51 pm
    OMG L LOVE THAT BOOK SO MUCH THAT BOOK IS THE BEST .
    • BobMonday, June 10, 2019 at 12:19 pm
      I thought this book was ok. It wasn't really what I was expecting. I think girls would really like it though!
      • sjsj
        sjsjWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 9:59 am44 stars
        This book is a really good novel to read. With characters like Nikki, Mackenzie, and Brandon all mixed in this book, it gets super exciting and super romantic for two characters.
        • athlete08
          athlete08Tuesday, June 4, 2019 at 6:33 am55 stars
          OMG OMG OMG! THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER! SO FAR IT IS A SERIES WITH 13 BOOKS< AND I HAVE READ ALL OF THEM! SHE IS COMING OUT WITH A 14TH THOUGH!! YAY!! P.S She also has a new series called The Misadventures of Max Crumbly! She is coming out with a new Max. C book in June 5th, TOMORROW! YES!!!! So far this is a series of three! (including the new one coming out)
          • sgoiscool
            sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 6:00 pm55 stars
            Dork Diaries is a very good series! I love how she wants a phone but her mom inside got her a DIARY!! We meet the mean girl in the first girl and get to know her more as the series goes on.
            • lily9024
              lily9024Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 10:56 am55 stars
              I love love love love love love this book it is not like any other book and amazing stuff I will give it a 100 out of 100 amazing 🤩🤩🤩😀😀😀😀😀😀
              • lily9024
                lily9024Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 10:52 am55 stars
                this book is amazing I couldn't put it down 😄
                • ilikebunnies
                  ilikebunniesThursday, May 30, 2019 at 8:22 am
                  a girl named Nikki got a new diary for her birth day and writes all about her friends and bully Makenze. She enters a art competition and has had her painting destroyed so her friends help her.
                  • sara1585944
                    sara1585944Wednesday, May 29, 2019 at 4:41 pm22 stars
                    I did not particularly enjoy it. It was almost a rip-off of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, only for girls. It was kind of bland. So many Clichés! Not my first pick.
                    • AbbygailSunday, May 26, 2019 at 1:28 pm
                      I love it