Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on June 2, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416980067
ISBN-13: 9781416980063
1290 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bluestar_111
    bluestar_111Wednesday, August 5, 2020 at 11:19 am55 stars
    I LOVE DORK DIARIES!!! This is probably my favorite book ever, after Warrior cats and Divergent. Nikki Maxwell will be starting eighth grade this year—and she’s nervous. Really nervous. Her parents won’t let her have a cell phone (they give her a DIARY instead! Aren’t diaries supposed to be for dorks?), and her locker at school is right next to...guess who? The most popular (and meanest ever) girl in eighth grade, Mackenzie! And make matters EVEN worse, she doesn’t have any friends! But then, Nikki meets Zoey and Chloe, who might just be her new BFFS forever...so can she survive middle school? Read this book to find out.
    • LisaThursday, July 30, 2020 at 1:48 am
      Wow that is So AWESOME!!!
      • Hay haySunday, July 26, 2020 at 5:31 am
        These books are aming and I really love them read them 5 times
        • pinkmonkey9
          pinkmonkey9Friday, July 24, 2020 at 11:41 pm44 stars
          I read this book not to long ago. And I thought it was Okay. And I would not like to be bullied at school all day everyday. Though I think she made two really nice Friends after a while. And I know her Friends would stand up for her, It's nice to have friends like that. And if you can it would be nice if you could follow me I'll follow you back.
          • FatimaTuesday, July 21, 2020 at 7:06 pm
            I have already read ths book , and I loved it
            • Les2011Monday, July 20, 2020 at 2:08 pm
              Omg loved it that I like read it a hundred times
              • nyc_rocks
                nyc_rocksSunday, July 19, 2020 at 5:39 am55 stars
                This book was hilarious. It's about a girl starting Middle School and her drama-fest with the mean-girl Mackenzie Hollister. There is drama, comedy and slight romantic tragedy in this book! I would recommend the age 8+ for this book.
                • rockey202
                  rockey202Thursday, July 16, 2020 at 12:58 pm55 stars
                  Nikki Maxwell is to a new school and so far it's been really hard with dealing with her worst enemy Makenzie which is way harder than it seems and trying to hide one of the most embarrassing thing in her life that she go to the school on a bug scholarship that a job has at her new school but her dads work can is the worst of it it has a huge roach on top and she tries to keep it a secret from people at school and dealing with trying to get some friends and her little sister Brianna who is so annoying and that she has a secret crush on the same boy as her enemy Makenzie do you want to know what happens than you will have to find out. It's a very good book
                  • rockey202
                    rockey202Wednesday, July 15, 2020 at 12:42 pm55 stars
                    This book awesome
                    • nyc_rocks
                      nyc_rocksSunday, July 19, 2020 at 5:46 am55 stars
                      I totally agree. I have read the entire series twice.
                    • bunnyhops
                      bunnyhopsMonday, July 13, 2020 at 10:15 am55 stars
                      Love the series I'm a total dork diaries fan