Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Hardcover
Published on November 6, 2014 by HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks
ISBN-10: 0007536712
ISBN-13: 9780007536719
716 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kurz
    kurzFriday, January 8, 2021 at 6:33 am11 star
    I loved the entire series
    • Eva Wednesday, December 30, 2020 at 3:31 am
      i Love the whole Book 🤣🤣🤣
      • chocolate168
        chocolate168Sunday, December 27, 2020 at 3:52 pm33 stars
        I... Uh... I didn't really enjoy this book that much. I felt that there were certain parts that I enjoyed, but overall, the book just wasn't that good. I don't know why this book is supposed to be one of the best. However, I don't regret reading it. That is all I have to say. Oh, and I (mostly) agree with chloele.
        • chocolate168
          chocolate168Sunday, December 27, 2020 at 3:59 pm33 stars
          I also want to add that perhaps I missed something. I usually don't but it's possible. Maybe my discontentment is the result of not finishing the whole series. Perhaps. I checked out the next two books. Might read them...
        • disneyfan2020
          disneyfan2020Tuesday, December 8, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
          One of the best books ever! Very long though. I managed to finish it in a week but take all the time you need.
          • chloele
            chloeleMonday, November 30, 2020 at 6:45 pm11 star
            If I could have given no stars, I would. I do not this book. Tris is a real bad role model. I don't get why people love this book. I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. There are scenes when things grow really inappropriate and violent. The whole plot should be fit for ages 16 and above, but the vocabulary is fit for 4th graders. Authors should use more vocabulary for books that have these kind of plots. The book also does not have enough details. Why did Beatrice chose Dauntless over Abnegation? Why did she switch her name to Tris? Why not other name? Dauntless also does not fit with the other four groups. Why is Dauntless even allowed in the group? They teach violence while the others teaches harmony, peace, and joy. Dauntless is supposed to be made as a military, that is keeping the people safe. Instead, they attack each other until they are unconscious, jump off buildings, and do more violent things the military should not do. This book also does not make any sense. The others that are not divergent are weak-minded for being good at one thing? More details. Another thing is that the Erudite wanted to get rid of the factionless. Why? Are they so disgusting even though they try their best on making a little food and clothing off their jobs? Do the Erudite want to drive buses and pick up garbage like the factionless? Is that the reason why they want to get rid of the factionless? The factionless work day and night for food and your attitude is to get rid of them? And why is every job fit for one type of group? To be honest, every job requires Divergent. For example, the Dauntless needs Erudite (intelligence) and Abnegation (selflessness) to defend the people. In the book, the Abnegation work in the medical field because they have selflessness, but when you work in the medical field, you also need Erudite (intelligence). This book just does not have any logic.
            • kgbradshaw
              kgbradshawSaturday, December 26, 2020 at 6:13 pm44 stars
              The book actually explains most of those questions very thoroughly. Maybe you didn't read it well enough...
              • lolineptune
                lolineptuneWednesday, December 9, 2020 at 8:20 am44 stars
                I can see how you would think this is confusing. Yes it is very violent and should probably be a YA book, and yeah, some parts are not the most appropriate. I do agree with you that Tris however is not a good role model. She get's recognition because she had an aptitude test for 4 out of the 5 factions. I have to agree that she is not the best of role models. But I can see how people can agree with her. She is not a hero as most people in books are. That may be why she isn't a good role model. She is not incredibly smart, strong, brave, kind, or anything. She is just an average person. People sometimes read books because they want to get a sense of someone different, and when you come to this book, you find a main character that's just like you or me, but living in a dystopian universe. That's why some people like this book because they see themselves in Tris. I know that sounds super corny but it's true. I also understand the Dauntless situation. Dauntless isn't like the rest of the factions, and Veronica Roth, I think made it that way. She wanted Dauntless to be different. She wanted to show that while there is peace, and harmony in the world, there are also people like the Dauntless, who are violent. That is basically our world now. We are not looking at something that is different than our world today, we are looking at the same thing, just set in a different time. Think about how separated they are. They have a choice of what trait they want to be known as. The selfless, the smart, the brave, the peaceful, the honest. They can make that choice. Why I really like this book, is because of the concept. There are other books like the Hunger Games, which I love but it is a world where you don't make a choice. You are stuck with what your stuck in and theirs rarely something you can do about it. Divergent however you have a choice. You can choose your faction. Tris chose Dauntless, because she wasn't honest enough to be in Candor, she felt that compared to her brother and her parents, she wasn't selfless enough to be in Abnegation, and she didn't want to be in Erudite because of her fathers grudge against them. She didn't see a point in going to Amity. Her main choices were to stay in Abnegation or go to Dauntless. It's a unique idea, that hasn't been placed in a book I have read before. I think that it is a type of book you either hate or love. I don't think Tris is the best role model and I think the story line can get fuzzy, but I think it is a unique concept, and you should read the series. And in my opinion the second 2 are better.
              • lottiestar
                lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:29 pm55 stars
                This book is amazing and I would definitely recommend it to someone!!
                • mhpurple58
                  mhpurple58Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                  The characters in this book are awesome, and I love the type of dystopian this is.
                  • divergent-fan13
                    divergent-fan13Thursday, October 15, 2020 at 8:30 am55 stars
                    I CAN NOT STOP READING THE BOOK'S. I WOULD GIVE IT 30 STARS IF I COULD!!!
                    • MasonFriday, October 2, 2020 at 9:34 pm
                      It is good
                      • willowschultz
                        willowschultzTuesday, September 1, 2020 at 3:01 pm
                        I read this series, and I would recommend it for older kids. Around 12