Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 3M2.64737

We are celebrating by bringing full color to the Cretaceous period—full-color art that is! This jacketed hardcover edition boasts new artwork, plus extras, like an interview between the creators, a letter from Mary Pope Osborne, and up-to-date dinosaur info! Join Jack and Annie as they travel back to the time of dinosaurs where they encounter all sorts of dinos from the terrifying T-Rex to the crowd-pleasing Triceratops—and start on a life-time of adventures with new readers.

Hardcover, 96 pages
Published on September 25, 2012 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375869883
ISBN-13: 9780375869884
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • shayshaygirl25
    shayshaygirl25Monday, August 12, 2019 at 6:50 am55 stars
    I have read this book alot of times. totally recomended to anyone. Its the kick-starter of an amazing book series that I am flying through. I am very thankful for all these amazing magic tree house books! these was the first chapter books I ever read and I just got back into reading them!!! you should read it to!
    • aerodactyl1
      aerodactyl1Sunday, August 11, 2019 at 7:03 pm55 stars
      I would love to read this book of Dinosaurs before dark because it has my favorite flying reptile on the planet earth which they are no longer alive even though I love them so much makes me want to have a Pteranodon as a partner to get on my Pteranodon's back and fly to my work at Unyeway in Ramona, to bowling at Poway, at the Arc House in El Cajon,and anywhere I go on my Pteranodon.🐝
      • emmathomas
        emmathomasThursday, July 25, 2019 at 3:08 pm
        Because it reminds me of dinosaurs
        • bull955
          bull955Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 7:09 am55 stars
          I think it is a good book because you learn about deffrent places and thinks and I really like the other books in the seres too
          • spacepenguin
            spacepenguinMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:29 pm55 stars
            I really like Magic Treehouse Books. Dinosaurs Before Dark is the first one in the series. I started reading it because the first one I read was called Midnight on the Moon. I really liked it, and now I have my own copy. Then, I kept reading the series. In some of them there is a penguin named Penny. When they are in the Magic Treehouse, time freezes. πŸ˜› ☺️
            • spacepenguin
              spacepenguinSunday, June 2, 2019 at 1:26 pm55 stars
              I really like Magic Treehouse Books. Dinosaurs Before Dark is the first one in the series. I started reading it because the first one I read was called Midnight on the Moon. I really liked it, and now I have my own copy. Then, I kept reading the series. In some of them there is a penguin named Penny.
              • sweetcheese
                sweetcheeseSaturday, April 20, 2019 at 12:29 pm55 stars
                it was awesome!!!
                • buggyboy
                  buggyboyMonday, April 1, 2019 at 10:33 am33 stars
                  I like it but it was ok
                  • HermioneMonday, March 18, 2019 at 8:35 am
                    I like this book, but I like harry potter way better.
                    • hunobypadamymi
                      hunobypadamymiThursday, February 7, 2019 at 10:04 am
                      this book has alot of interesting facts in it i love the parts when jack and annie get to travel to see dinosaurars.