The Isle of the Lost: A Descendants Novel (The Descendants)

Book 1 of 3 in the The Descendants Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.363152
Evil tree. Bad Apple?

Twenty years ago, all the evil villains were banished from the kingdom of Auradon to the Isle of the Lost--a dark and dreary place protected by a force field that makes it impossible for them to leave. Stripped of their magical powers, the villains now live in total isolation, forgotten by the world.

Mal learns from her mother, Maleficent, that the key to true darkness, the Dragon's Eye, is located inside her scepter in the forbidden fortress on the far side of the island. The eye is cursed, and whoever retrieves it will be knocked into a deep sleep for a thousand years. But Mal has a plan to capture it. She'll just need a little help from her "friends." In their quest for the Dragon's Eye, these four kids begin to realize that just because you come from an evil family tree, being good ain't so bad.
Paperback
Published on July 2, 2015 by Parragon Book Service Ltd
ISBN-10: 1474812783
ISBN-13: 9781474812788
163 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • magicalmythical
    magicalmythicalMonday, August 3, 2020 at 3:07 pm55 stars
    I loved this book so much that it never gets boring! It has fun and adventure popping out of the words! I would recommend you to read this amazing book!
    • tyati0712
      tyati0712Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 1:19 pm55 stars
      I had fun reading this book!
      • wondescendantsk
        wondescendantskSunday, July 12, 2020 at 12:19 pm
        I have not read this book, but it sounds super good. I do not know how to rate it sense I have not read this book.
        • exallentemma9
          exallentemma9Sunday, November 10, 2019 at 12:50 pm55 stars
          It tells a lot bigger story then what the movie says because it focuses on the island and nothing relly else. I loved it so much
          • wocukizy-156884508154
            wocukizy-156884508154Friday, October 4, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
            i love this book i will never forget
          • mibapila-156821584456
            mibapila-156821584456Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 12:03 pm
            This book looks really good
            • 2223mal
              2223malThursday, September 19, 2019 at 5:20 am
              I read it! It’s is sooo good
              • jaden07
                jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 7:27 pm55 stars
                This book is just the absolute best !!!! It's based on the happy ever afters . It takes place on the Isle of the Lost. The island in which the villains are kept prisoners. its the descendants of the villains that are the anti- heroes (read the 2nd book to know what i mean) It features Mal , daughter of the evilest fairy of them all, Evie, daughter of the Evil Queen, Carlos , son of Cruella De vill, and Jay , son of Jafar. this book is the prequel the the Disney Descendants and its actually the inspiration. If it inspired a movie then you know its worth checking out.
                • Lonadda Monday, August 12, 2019 at 6:51 pm
                  Love it
                  • lilbug747
                    lilbug747Sunday, May 26, 2019 at 12:01 pm44 stars
                    Good, Bad? These kids, Mal, Evie, Jay, and Carlos, are the offspring of the worlds worst villains. These kids decide their own destiny, are they good are they bad, they have no choice or do they? Don’t worry I won’t give any spoilers. This book really shows how no matter the persons background or how they appear to be decides who they are on the inside. I loved this book and the , message it gave !