Deep and Dark and Dangerous: A Ghost Story

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4U4.050774

Just before summer begins, 13-year-old Ali finds an odd photograph in the attic. She knows the two children in it are her mother, Claire, and her aunt Dulcie. But who’s the third person, the one who’s been torn out of the picture?

Ali figures she’ll find out while she’s vacationing in Maine with Dulcie and her four-year-old daughter, Emma, in the house where Ali’s mother’s family used to spend summers. All hopes for relaxation are quashed shortly after their arrival, though, when the girls meet Sissy, a kid who’s mean and spiteful and a bad influence on Emma.

Strangest of all, Sissy keeps talking about a girl named Teresa who drowned under mysterious circumstances back when Claire and Dulcie were kids, and whose body was never found. At first Ali thinks Sissy’s just trying to scare her with a ghost story, but soon she discovers the real reason why Sissy is so angry. . . . Mary Downing Hahn is at her chilling best in this new supernatural tale that’s certain to send shivers down her readers’ spines.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 21, 2007 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0618665455
ISBN-13: 9780618665457
41 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • galaxynails_101
    galaxynails_101Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 7:58 pm44 stars
    This is the best horror author I have ever read. I love this book sooooo much. It is a great book. You should definitely go look for it.
    • quail
      quailThursday, May 16, 2019 at 5:08 pm55 stars
      You know her ; Your aunt she's been there your whole life. You know her just as well as your own mother… right? Well that's what Alison thought. She thought she had an average family until she met Sissy. Who knew a summer at the lake could feel like an eternity. Well who except Sissy. Alison knows fiction from reality; all those stories about fairy's and dragons could never be real but ghost stories... real as can be . When Alison found an old photograph of three girls, her mother, her aunt and someone marked as T who is torn out of the photo she gets mildly suspicious. Fast ford a few days and she meets Sissy a angry young girl who doesn't particularly love the water but loves sugar on her cereal; They become friends and Alison finally starts to learn the truth about a family secret that's been tearing apart her mother and aunt for decades. Maybe it was better she didn't know...
      • wiccanbat666
        wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 12:36 pm55 stars
        This was another one of my favourite childhood books. I read this book about 5 times before I put it down and moved to others from this authour. This was one of my favourite authours aside from Lemony Snickett and Rowling when I was a kid.
        • musi
          musiTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:37 am55 stars
          I love the way the writer has describe the story. I t is very interesting.
          • MariumTuesday, March 13, 2018 at 7:17 am
            This story was full of curiosity . I love the way the Writer written the story. I think this my best book ever.
            • obviThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:55 am
              this buk is really gud but it wus not that scary. i luv scary buks . i hop sum of u actualy got scared wen u red it. have fun geting scared! >:3
              • hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:44 am
                i need to read it
                • hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiThursday, March 1, 2018 at 10:43 am
                  i have to read that book
                  • emojis_rule_202
                    emojis_rule_202Friday, March 17, 2017 at 10:59 am
                    I have read this book also and it was the best book I have ever read.
                    • GandhjzWednesday, April 20, 2016 at 7:48 am
                      Cool. Book.