Newbery medalist Jerry Spinelli tackles the tale of cocky seventh-grade super-jock Crash Coogan, who got his nickname the day he used his first football helmet to knock his cousin Bridget flat on her backside. And he has been running over people ever since, especially Penn Webb, the dweeby, vegetarian Quaker kid who lives down the block. Through the eyes of Crash, readers get a rare glimpse into the life of a bully in this unforgettable story about stereotypes and the surprises life can bring.
Paperback, 162 pages
ISBN-10: 0439176743
ISBN-13: 9780545113601
31 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • chocazulu
    chocazuluThursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:03 pm55 stars
    i haven't read it yet but all of my friends say it's good
    • rvfd345
      rvfd345Thursday, April 6, 2017 at 6:37 am
      This book is very interesting, because once you read one chapter you get so into it and you don't want to stop reading, also the chapters our so short they're easy to read. The setting of crash is mostly placed in middle school, where this dude name crash and penn webb who thinks he's his friend.It an awesome because it's short and sweet. Spinellis writing style is good, because i love the way that the chapters our short and the book keeps moving.
      • 448288
        448288Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:10 am
        the book Crash by Jerry Spinelli was great. it was a amzing story behind it i loved it!!!
        • 432183Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:07 am
          I really liked this book and how the author writes it and he just adds a lot of detail about the characters and settings and what the characters are doing
          • 448274
            448274Tuesday, April 4, 2017 at 9:13 amFeatured
            In the book “Crash”by Jerry Spinelli takes you into pennsylvania in the shoes of a bully. The main character are Crash Coogan a bully who plays sports,Penn Webb a boy who just moved in,Mike Deluca a friend of Crash who also bullies penn, Abby Crashes younger sister, and Jane Forbes who moved in after Penn. The plot is This book takes place in pennsylvania where bullies reside and where Penn is now living also,Crash notices that Penn has moved in the neighbourhood and he takes an instant disliking to Penn. What I like about the book is that it really explains of how the characters feel about other people. This is a quote to give you a taste of the story “You never know who’s going to come home first. Tonight it was mom. Before she even closed the front door,she kicked her shoes across the living room.”.This is great book that will make you want to read every page and the chapter are short so it’s not really a long time commitment. Each page will want you to keep reading more it has drama and sadness but also a good plot. Fun fact Jerry Spinelli is an award winning author and grew up in Pennsylvania.
            • shopkincrz
              shopkincrzWednesday, July 20, 2016 at 6:29 am44 stars
              Crash by Jerry Spinelli is about a boy named John Coogan who was nicknamed Crash, because he is a football star. A new neighbor moved in named Pen Webb. Crash thought he had a dweeby name and he thought other things were dweeby about him. Crash and his friend Mike, loved pulling pranks and picking on Webb. After Mike pulls a mean prank on Webb, Crash has to choose what side he is on. Overall I loved the beginning because it was really funny. The middle got a little sad but the end felt like the author gave up. It is a good book, and I recommend it, but beware you might be disappointed at the end.
              • nelle656
                nelle656Monday, March 14, 2016 at 4:16 am55 stars
                Wonderful book
                • gymnastaussican
                  gymnastaussicanSaturday, March 12, 2016 at 9:51 pm44 starsFeatured
                  It is a very short book but to me it's worth it. I love how it show that winners and losers are common it many ways and it shows that life always works quite like that. I always felt bad for Penn. He seemed to be destined to be bullied. I think it was amazing to watch friendship grow and drown.
                  • justinw20
                    justinw20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 6:17 am55 stars
                    I think this is really a heartwarming book, the main character Crash been through the most difficult things in teenage, like his uncle Scooter shock at a afternoon. He started to change, when he saw Penn is the only guy in his friend who still care about him, even he don’t really like him. But after that, Crash strated to think is that right to bully others, he started to think make fun at Penn is really a mistake. Then finally Penn became his best friend. I think this book is really good to read, also you can learn from Penn and Crash, like Penn is always care others, and Crash change himself to stop been so childish. So I think this is really good for the teenagers.
                    • flower_girl8
                      flower_girl8Tuesday, November 24, 2015 at 10:45 am55 stars
                      I really like this

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      booklover wrote:

                      oh and witches and magic evil magic
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      this a great book for people who...
                      Warren the 13th and The All-Seei...

                      booklover wrote:

                      best book ever
                      The Lemonade War (The Lemonade W...