Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6T5.439699
This bewitching first novel is a puzzle, wrapped in a mystery, disguised as an adventure, and delivered as a work of art.

When a book of unexplainable occurences brings Petra and Calder together, strange things start to happen: Seemingly unrelated events connect; an eccentric old woman seeks their company; an invaluable Vermeer painting disappears. Before they know it, the two find themselves at the center of an international art scandal, where no one is spared from suspicion. As Petra and Calder are drawn clue by clue into a mysterious labyrinth, they must draw on their powers of intuition, their problem solving skills, and their knowledge of Vermeer. Can they decipher a crime that has stumped even the FBI?
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprWednesday, May 22, 2019 at 7:37 pm22 stars
    This book wasn't as good as I was hoping for. The climax dragged too much and there were too many unnecessary details. Also, at some points everything was just boring. I'm not really a mystery fan but I was still hoping for something...
    • cre8ive
      cre8iveMonday, April 30, 2018 at 10:00 am55 stars
      Chasing Vermeer is a great book about two twelve year olds who try to solve the mystery of a stolen Vermeer painting. It is a suspenseful book full of coincidences and I recommend it greatly!
      • cre8ive
        cre8iveMonday, April 30, 2018 at 9:12 am55 stars
        Chasing Vermeer is a great book about two twelve year olds who try to solve the mystery of a stolen Vermeer painting. It is a very suspenseful book full of coincidences and I recommend it greatly!
        • mewantcookieMonday, January 1, 2018 at 4:10 pm
          I read this book six months back. It's a thrilling book and I enjoyed it a lot.
          • bamababy22
            bamababy22Thursday, November 17, 2016 at 6:22 am44 stars
            I loved this book because there were missing paintings. A girl named Petra dreamed about chasing the artist named Vermeerś painting. She didn´t know that her dream was real. So she dressed up as her dream for Halloween. A boy named Calder said he had the exact painting at home, but Petra never new that. Since she dreamed about the painting, she wanted to track down Vermeer. Read this mystery because even the FBI can not solve it!
            • marcoc7
              marcoc7Sunday, April 10, 2016 at 10:30 am44 stars
              I enjoyed reading the suspenseful mystery part, but the ending was pretty obvious. I would rate it a 3.5, rounded up to 4.
              • karleighSunday, December 6, 2015 at 7:17 am
                so good! my reading group is reading this
                • chrystal13
                  chrystal13Friday, July 31, 2015 at 3:48 pm55 stars
                  Petra and Calder, two friends, go on a remarkable adventure through the book series. A highly recommended read. I loved it :D.
                  • jojojosie
                    jojojosieTuesday, July 28, 2015 at 6:57 pm
                    4 Stars.. Not my favorite but still enjoyed it….
                    • creepyladyTuesday, July 14, 2015 at 4:09 pm
                      how is the book what did you thing how good was it what would you rate it