Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5R3.922123

Recalling the fiction of Harper Lee and Carson McCullers, here is a funny, poignant, and utterly genuine first novel from a major new talent.
The summer Opal and her father, the preacher, move to Naomi, Florida, Opal goes into the Winn-Dixie supermarket--and comes out with a dog. A big, ugly, suffering dog with a sterling sense of humor. A dog she dubs Winn-Dixie. Because of Winn-Dixie, the preacher tells Opal ten things about her absent mother, one for each year Opal has been alive. Winn-Dixie is better at making friends than anyone Opal has ever known, and together they meet the local librarian, Miss Franny Block, who once fought off a bear with a copy of WAR AND PEACE. They meet Gloria Dump, who is nearly blind but sees with her heart, and Otis, an ex-con who sets the animals in his pet shop loose after hours, then lulls them with his guitar.Opal spends all that sweet summer collecting stories about her new friends and thinking about her mother. But because of Winn-Dixie or perhaps because she has grown, Opal learns to let go, just a little, and that friendship--and forgiveness--can sneak up on you like a sudden summer storm.

Paperback, 192 pages
Published on August 6, 2001 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763616052
ISBN-13: 9780763616052
293 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • love-art
    love-artMonday, November 23, 2020 at 12:36 pm55 stars
    It is a wonderful and exciting book! Have a good time reading!
    • bsc
      bscWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 12:54 pm44 stars
      This was a good book! I read it a couple of years ago and I liked it. Did you know that there is actually a supermarket called Winn-Dixie? Opal finds a dog in a supermarket, who she names Winn-Dixie after the store. She and Winn-Dixie have many adventures and you learn about Opal and her dad and her disappeared mom. I'm not a big fan of this author, but I loved this book!
      • jkbear
        jkbearWednesday, November 18, 2020 at 11:05 am55 stars
        this is a great book
        • gold3nglar3
          gold3nglar3Wednesday, November 18, 2020 at 11:05 am44 stars
          I loved it. it's a heartwarming tale about a girl named India-Opal, and her newfound friends, and stray named Winn-Dixie.
          • messiactualface
            messiactualfaceThursday, August 27, 2020 at 12:09 pm
            i want to read it again in la
            • Agent ReaderTuesday, April 14, 2020 at 3:45 pm
              It’s interesting, sad and fun. I really like it.
              • cbear165
                cbear165Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 10:06 am55 stars
                I loved this book. It is the type of book you would keep on reading on and on
                • russellolchawa
                  russellolchawaTuesday, March 10, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
                  Abandoned by her mother years ago Opal , a 10-year-old girl, moves with her preacher father Jeff Daniels to a small town in Florida. Lonely and missing her old friends, Opal is exited to find companionship with a rambunctious little dog she names Winn-Dixie, after the store where she found the pup. I made a connection to this book by also liking dogs. I gave this book a 5 star because about the hard life of a young child.
                  • jelwell
                    jelwellMonday, February 10, 2020 at 4:00 pm55 stars
                    I really enjoyed the book Because of Winn-Dixie. I thought the characters were interesting and I liked how they interacted with each other. Opal, the main character, was without a mother and the people she encountered throughout the story kind of became her family. I liked that she was able to adopt the dog and those two went through the story together counting on each other. This was a very entertaining and heartwarming book.
                    • batdad
                      batdadFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:02 pm55 stars
                      this is a good book it's funny it's sad and it has a good ending.