Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.021221

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day. The boy, Salva, becomes one of the "lost boys" of Sudan, refugees who cover the African continent on foot as they search for their families and for a safe place to stay. Enduring every hardship from loneliness to attack by armed rebels to contact with killer lions and crocodiles, Salva is a survivor, and his story goes on to intersect with Nya’s in an astonishing and moving way.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on November 15, 2010 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0547251270
ISBN-13: 9780547251271
80 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • acalzoa
    acalzoaMonday, October 14, 2019 at 3:43 pm55 stars
    This book was good and sad. They reason why it was sad because they had no clean water not enough food and war was going on salva had to go on without his family and his uncle he had miss them very much the best part was when they help a little girl get clean water. YOU HAVE TO READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT WHO SALVA HELP!!!!!!
    • jj512
      jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 10:42 am22 stars
      This book is about a boy who is stuck walking through a war. He soon finds his uncle and hope, but will all of this go away after 1 accident? Salva is scared and I think this would be an amazing book if they fallowed Naya more! This is an amazing read aloud.
      • jini0710
        jini0710Friday, May 31, 2019 at 5:18 pm55 stars
        This is a really good book. You SHOULD read this book!!! It is about a boy named Salva and he is trying to find his family and survive while there is a war! YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!
        • it was godWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:55 am
          this is good book
          • TMonday, January 14, 2019 at 2:27 pm
            This book was AMAZING!
            • HiTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 5:52 pm
              I can't wait to read this.
              • ottergirl4ev
                ottergirl4evMonday, December 17, 2018 at 5:09 pm55 stars
                Oh my gosh. This book was the saddest thing i have ever read. Its based on a true story and i love those kinds of stories because i can't just be like, i wish i was this CHARACTER. but instead i say, i wish i knew this person. it was super good
                • fodibubycidaxo
                  fodibubycidaxoMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:29 am
                  I have wanted to read this book. I hope it is interesting to me.
                  • olimpia5223
                    olimpia5223Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 5:22 am55 stars
                    This is a book about a boy who has lost his family did to the war in Sudan Africa. a book about uniting and how the wall to water was a long one. This is a great book based an amazing TRUE LIFE STORY. Any one who reads this book will love it.
                    • FlxthekiddSunday, October 14, 2018 at 11:34 am
                      nice story