Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.021221

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day. The boy, Salva, becomes one of the "lost boys" of Sudan, refugees who cover the African continent on foot as they search for their families and for a safe place to stay. Enduring every hardship from loneliness to attack by armed rebels to contact with killer lions and crocodiles, Salva is a survivor, and his story goes on to intersect with Nya’s in an astonishing and moving way.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on November 15, 2010 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0547251270
ISBN-13: 9780547251271
87 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • willow123goma
    willow123gomaTuesday, June 16, 2020 at 12:07 pm44 stars
    This book was rather short, but extremely captivating. It is told by the perspectives of two people: A desperate Sudanese refugee, and a girl who suffers in a village where she must walk the entire day back and forth just to obtain water. This was an amazing book with an beautiful ending! I loved it!
    • red243Friday, March 6, 2020 at 1:56 pm
      im going to read it right now
      • Busy guy Thursday, March 5, 2020 at 3:49 am
        It sounds fun,now it is next on my reading list.📖📚😀
        • TIKTOKTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 7:14 am
          IT WAS OkAy :(
          • AmyTuesday, March 3, 2020 at 7:09 am
            We are about to read it I hope it's good it sounds like it is.
            • ? ?Friday, February 28, 2020 at 10:59 am
              it was kinda boring
              • bsc
                bscFriday, January 17, 2020 at 2:38 pm55 stars
                My class is reading this book and it is so well written! The beginning has a plot twist and it is sad, though perfectly written. Books open a world of emotion, and this book certainly does! I recemmend it and give it a five star rating. We all should be enjoying books, and why not start with this beautiful,absorbing, heartwarming book? Oh, p.s. did you know that salva’s story is real, but Nya’s isn’t?!
                • acalzoa
                  acalzoaMonday, October 14, 2019 at 3:43 pm55 stars
                  This book was good and sad. They reason why it was sad because they had no clean water not enough food and war was going on salva had to go on without his family and his uncle he had miss them very much the best part was when they help a little girl get clean water. YOU HAVE TO READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT WHO SALVA HELP!!!!!!
                  • jj512
                    jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 10:42 am22 stars
                    This book is about a boy who is stuck walking through a war. He soon finds his uncle and hope, but will all of this go away after 1 accident? Salva is scared and I think this would be an amazing book if they fallowed Naya more! This is an amazing read aloud.
                    • lime_skater0707
                      lime_skater0707Friday, May 31, 2019 at 5:18 pm55 stars
                      This is a really good book. You SHOULD read this book!!! It is about a boy named Salva and he is trying to find his family and survive while there is a war! YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!