Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.021221

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours’ walk from her home: she makes two trips to the pond every day. The boy, Salva, becomes one of the "lost boys" of Sudan, refugees who cover the African continent on foot as they search for their families and for a safe place to stay. Enduring every hardship from loneliness to attack by armed rebels to contact with killer lions and crocodiles, Salva is a survivor, and his story goes on to intersect with Nya’s in an astonishing and moving way.

Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on November 15, 2010 by Clarion Books
ISBN-10: 0547251270
ISBN-13: 9780547251271
79 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jj512
    jj512Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 10:42 am22 stars
    This book is about a boy who is stuck walking through a war. He soon finds his uncle and hope, but will all of this go away after 1 accident? Salva is scared and I think this would be an amazing book if they fallowed Naya more! This is an amazing read aloud.
    • jini0710
      jini0710Friday, May 31, 2019 at 5:18 pm55 stars
      This is a really good book. You SHOULD read this book!!! It is about a boy named Salva and he is trying to find his family and survive while there is a war! YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!!
      • it was godWednesday, March 27, 2019 at 11:55 am
        this is good book
        • TMonday, January 14, 2019 at 2:27 pm
          This book was AMAZING!
          • HiTuesday, January 8, 2019 at 5:52 pm
            I can't wait to read this.
            • ottergirl4ev
              ottergirl4evMonday, December 17, 2018 at 5:09 pm55 stars
              Oh my gosh. This book was the saddest thing i have ever read. Its based on a true story and i love those kinds of stories because i can't just be like, i wish i was this CHARACTER. but instead i say, i wish i knew this person. it was super good
              • fodibubycidaxo
                fodibubycidaxoMonday, November 26, 2018 at 5:29 am
                I have wanted to read this book. I hope it is interesting to me.
                • olimpia5223
                  olimpia5223Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 5:22 am55 stars
                  This is a book about a boy who has lost his family did to the war in Sudan Africa. a book about uniting and how the wall to water was a long one. This is a great book based an amazing TRUE LIFE STORY. Any one who reads this book will love it.
                  • FlxthekiddSunday, October 14, 2018 at 11:34 am
                    nice story
                    • eaglegamer
                      eaglegamerWednesday, May 30, 2018 at 10:10 am55 stars
                      cool book