Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 4n/an/an/a

Praised by Newbery Medal–winning author Katherine Applegate as "graceful" and "miraculous," this Schneider Family Book Award–winning novel tells how one girl's friendship with a homeless dog mends a family's heart.

Cally Fisher knows she can see her dead mother, but the only other living soul who does is a mysterious wolfhound who always seems to be there when her mom appears. How can Cally convince anyone that her mom is still with the family, or persuade her dad that the huge silver-gray dog belongs with them?

With beautiful, spare writing and adorable animals, A Dog Called Homeless is perfect for readers of favorite middle-grade novels starring dogs, such as Because of Winn-Dixie and Shiloh.

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 4, 2012 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 9780062122209
ISBN-13: 9780062122209
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • criminalcat01
    criminalcat01Thursday, January 4, 2018 at 11:58 am55 stars
    This book made me cry a little. It is a very good book. The book is not that difficult and its a great book.
    • starpennie
      starpennieMonday, May 30, 2016 at 4:45 am55 stars
      I loved the book A Dog Called Homeless because the story is a good one. I think it is about a girl who is lonely with her brother and dad and then finds a dog that makes her so happy. Dogs make me feel happy as well.
      • unicorn123
        unicorn123Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 2:03 pm
        this is Probably my favorite book its sad and exiting its the best book ever!
        • mlance0902
          mlance0902Monday, April 20, 2015 at 11:52 am
          I would like to read this book because it seems like I am related to the girl because sometimes I see things that other people can't.
          • beastmode8
            beastmode8Monday, April 20, 2015 at 11:23 am
            look cool yo
            • ikyra_marie
              ikyra_marieSaturday, March 15, 2014 at 5:16 pm
              I want to read this book!I love books about dogs.This book looks a little sad though :(
              • frankiebaby
                frankiebabySaturday, March 15, 2014 at 11:03 am
                I love dogs
                • winterneeser
                  winterneeserSaturday, March 15, 2014 at 9:25 am55 stars
                  I wanted to read this book because of the dog.Also,Because when I read the back I felt all warm inside.It made me feel like some of my passed loved ones are with me.