Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.373953
Tanya is no ordinary girl. She can see fairies. But not the fairies we imagine. Evil fairies who cast spells on her, rousing her from her sleep and propelling her out of bed. At wit's end with her daughter's inexplicable behavior, Tanya's mother sends her away to live with her grandmother at Elvesden Manor, a secluded countryside mansion on the outskirts of a peculiar Essex town.

There is plenty to explore, as long as Tanya stays away from Hangman's Wood- a vast stretch of forest, full of catacombs and notorious for people losing their lives. Fifty years ago a girl vanished in the woods, a girl Tanya's grandmother will not speak of. As Tanya learns more about this girl, she finds herself dangerously close to vanishing into the fairy realm forever.

Debut author Michelle Harrison weaves an intricate mystery into a beautiful and haunting fantasy that captures a rich world of fairy lore where only the color red can offer protection.
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on April 12, 2010 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316041483
ISBN-13: 9780316041485
34 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mushu12345
    mushu12345Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:08 am55 stars
    The book is a capturing story with many plot twists. It has adventure and feeling. I strongly recommend this book to anyone. It has lots of adventure, mystery, and hidden clues. It does not seem good at first but as the story goes on you cannot put it down. The story is about a girl named Tanya who can see fairies, evil fairies. As she spends some time in her grandmother's house, She goes on many adventures with Fabian( the boy next door). They dig deep into a mystery of how a girl went missing 50 years ago in the woods, Will Tanya be the next one to disappear?
    • srinik2208
      srinik2208Thursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:08 am55 stars
      I highly enjoyed this book! The author did an amazing job to make the readers understand what is going on. She hid clues in the book for you to find which makes it like a very fun mystery game. The book is about a teenage girl named Tanya. Tanya is not an ordinary girl. She has the ability to see fairies. The book is about Tanya's adventure and how she slowly figures out everything about fairies along the way. Will anyone help her? Or will she have to do it alone?
      • Crazytiger883Tuesday, October 15, 2019 at 7:39 pm
        I love this book!
        • futbol0329
          futbol0329Sunday, September 13, 2015 at 11:57 am55 stars
          Great book and I highly recommend it.
          • penguin123
            penguin123Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:14 pm55 stars
            Tanya is a girl with a secret. She can see fairies! But these are evil fairies who have tormented her since she was a young girl. When she gets sent away to her grandmother's nomen the woods, she reopens the case of girl who went missing 50 years ago. Who was that girl and what happened to her? Tanya must solve the mystery, before she is sucked into the fairy realm forever.
            • spinnypeeps
              spinnypeepsWednesday, December 31, 2014 at 7:36 pm55 stars
              My 3rd favorite book in the world
              • crazyberry
                crazyberryTuesday, December 30, 2014 at 4:09 pm
                i loved the book
                • safire
                  safireThursday, December 4, 2014 at 7:09 am55 stars
                  I have read part of this book a few years ago and was really interested in it but I never got to finish reading it, but what I read was really good.
                  • pokihaeli
                    pokihaeliTuesday, October 14, 2014 at 1:45 pm44 stars
                    This is an awesome book. It's about this girl (called Tanya) who can see fairies (but thats only background Information). One day she goes to this mansion and in the attic she, finds out about some things that happened in the past but randomly they (she and a boy called Fabian) find some missing information and so a Mystery/ Adventure forms.
                    • inkpage78
                      inkpage78Friday, November 8, 2013 at 10:58 pm55 stars
                      Wow. I picked up this book not thinking it would make a very big impression on me, but Michelle Harrison caught me and brought me into the world of no ordinary magical fairies. I would read this book five times over or more because I know that I'd never get bored of it. I think Tanya is a different kind of hero, and I find it interesting to go through the book with her. I am so glad there are more books and I am overjoyed to get to read 13 Secrets and 13 Curses!