Wonder

Email
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.873053
"Wonder" is the funny, sweet and incredibly moving story of Auggie Pullman. Born with a terrible facial abnormality, this shy, bright ten-year-old has been home-schooled by his parents for his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the stares and cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, Auggie is being sent to a real school - and he's dreading it. The thing is, Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, underneath it all? Through the voices of Auggie, his big sister Via, and his new friends Jack and Summer, "Wonder" follows Auggie's journey through his first year at Beecher Prep. Frank, powerful, warm and often heart-breaking, "Wonder" is a book you'll read in one sitting, pass on to others, and remember long after the final page.
Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
2047 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • lizy123
    lizy123Friday, February 24, 2017 at 8:32 pm55 stars
    it is a book about a deformed boy who has to face challenges through life. A must read.
    • SuperiorvoFriday, February 24, 2017 at 2:16 pm
      I love this book
      • jenny12345678
        jenny12345678Friday, February 24, 2017 at 5:26 amFeatured
        I read this book in fourth grade and fifth grade and many times more. I personally love this book. It shows how brave Auggie is. Just because his face is not normal, it doesn't that he is any different from other kids. In the book, Auggie has to deal with being a new kid at school and looking different than others. He also had to deal with bullying and sad moments. I like how one day at school, August finally finds a friend, Summer. Even though Summer is popular, she helps Auggie out and doesn't make fun of him. Her friends are all calling both Auggie and herself a freak. The event was heartwarming. Throughout the book, you realize that the events have ups and downs which means that there are sad moments and happy moments for Auggie. After reading this book so many times, I did a little research. The author, R. J. Palacio actually saw a girl(or boy) that looked a lot like Auggie. She was with her children and they were making fun of her or him. I would recommend this book to people who like reading about bravery. I really enjoyed reading this book.
        • abigail2468
          abigail2468Friday, February 17, 2017 at 6:04 pm55 stars
          In the book Wonder, a boy named Auggie ( or August) Pullman has to start his very first day in middle school. Its new for Auggie because he's always been homeschooled by his mom. When he started his new school at Beacher Prep, it was rough for him on the first few days. Until Jack Will stood up started to hang out with Auggie. Jack Will stood up to Julian, the meanest kid at Beacher Prep, for August. This book is probably one of the saddest and heart touching story I think you'll read. Leave me a comment down below if you have anything you want to share about August Pullman or the book with me.
          • phoenixdrama
            phoenixdramaThursday, February 23, 2017 at 5:31 pm
            Well, Julian isn't that mean in the beginning, but grows to be a bully near the end.
          • abigail2468
            abigail2468Friday, February 17, 2017 at 5:55 pm55 stars
            we read this book in our classroom. on the last 5 sentences in the last chapter at the end the teacher started to get emotional and cry. she was crying that much that she had to ask one of the other students to finish the rest of the page.
            • bri-guy
              bri-guyThursday, February 16, 2017 at 1:02 pm55 stars
              do you guys remember this i loved it i am taking to the people in my class i recommend this book
              • GavinThursday, February 16, 2017 at 1:00 pm
                GREAT BOOK THIS IS AMAZING
                • bri-guy
                  bri-guyThursday, February 16, 2017 at 12:58 pm55 stars
                  Amsome amazing
                  • gavinThursday, February 16, 2017 at 12:56 pm
                    This book is amazing it is thrilling and jaw dropping i loved it
                    • Agatha Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 2:09 pm
                      This is an awesome book

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      joe wrote:

                      i really love the feel and the ...
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      it was veryyyyyyyyyyy cool
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      marie wrote:

                      i really like it
                      Who Was Harriet Tubman? (GB)

                      wobblepenguin12

                      i dont think its for grades 9-12...
                      Boy in the Striped Pyjamas