Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Paperback
Published on August 5, 2013 by Galaxy
ISBN-10: 1471350509
ISBN-13: 9781471350504
3760 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • gervaisgirl
    gervaisgirlTuesday, February 11, 2020 at 5:39 pm55 stars
    I liked how auggie bravely started school and how he ignored the other peoples' taunts. I also liked his love for his dog, and his very deep friendship with his friends. I liked how the author wrote the books from other peoples' views, mostly telling the same things-their encounters with August.
    • weirdqueen101
      weirdqueen101Tuesday, February 11, 2020 at 9:59 am55 stars
      This is such a sweet life like book! The author is amazing!
      • batdad
        batdadFriday, February 7, 2020 at 12:08 pm55 stars
        this is a really good book it's funny it's sad it has a good ending.👍👍
        • ilovenutellayay
          ilovenutellayayFriday, January 17, 2020 at 2:35 pm55 stars
          I love this book so much! It is so interesting I'd suggest it to everyone
          • karebear190
            karebear190Friday, January 17, 2020 at 8:57 am55 stars
            I love this book! I fell in love with the book in 5th grade when our teacher read it to us. Kids these days won't understand with all the emotion and plot of it (since it's all about technology and other crazy things) but it's just a good book to read. I haven't watched the movie but I hear it's not good
            • meFriday, January 10, 2020 at 9:00 am
              I agree with booklover. it is just boring and I read my book during the time that the teacher reads it aloud. anyone else prefer particle physics over wonder?
              • wonder h8trFriday, January 10, 2020 at 8:53 am
                I really do not like this book. I don't get what's so good about it. The plot is boring, the storyline is boring and no one cares about all that emotional junk.
                • elle_0724
                  elle_0724Friday, January 10, 2020 at 7:07 am44 stars
                  I love this book! Auggie is a little boy who has always been home schooled. He was born with a deformed face and he has always gotten nasty looks from people and other kids. He is finally going to a real school this year. He becomes friends with some people and learns some great life lessons. I can relate to this book because Auggie had to adjust to a new school like me. I am rating this book 4 stars because it was very descriptive.
                  • riley_108
                    riley_108Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 9:45 pm55 stars
                    I rated this book a 5 star rating because this kid named Auggie had a disease and a lot of people made fun of him that's why his mom home schooled him and he didn't get to be in a school with kids his age so when he got into his grade it was new for him. When he got to his school people bullied him read this book to find out more about Auggie and all the bullies.
                    • swirlyyu
                      swirlyyuThursday, January 2, 2020 at 12:10 pm55 stars
                      This book is a good book for people who feel weird. Very similar to the report i wrote for smile. This book is filled with tons of encouringing ups and downs. I think that everyone should treat everyone how they want to be treated. Who know that person could get reported and they might stop. This book is very helpful