Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6T5.533890

Erik is preparing for his first-ever hunting trip when he learns that his parents are being deployed to Iraq. A few days later, Erik is shipped off to North Dakota to live with Big Darrell and Oma, grandparents he barely knows. When Erik rescues a dog that's been stuck by a porcupine, Big Darrell says Erik can't keep him. But Erik has already named her Quill and can't bear to give her up. He decides to run away, taking the dog and a shotgun, certain that they can make it on their own out on the prairie.

In this story of adventure and survival, Erik learns about the challenges and satisfactions of living off the land, the power of family secrets, and the pain of losing what you love.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on May 10, 2011 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374380015
ISBN-13: 9780374380014
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Carson GeenyMonday, March 18, 2019 at 5:34 pm
    I give this 5 star easily, wild life is a sad and funny book! I suggest it to anyone who can relate to the prairies I can!
    • Carson GeenyMonday, March 18, 2019 at 10:02 am
      This is an amazing book! It’s a funny action packed book. I suggest it to any body who can relate to the prairies, I can!
      • gdog17
        gdog17Saturday, January 14, 2017 at 5:45 pm55 stars
        i would recommend this book to any one survival and hunting books.
        • hkennedy02
          hkennedy02Wednesday, April 29, 2015 at 9:46 am55 stars
          I think you should read this book because it's just amazing and wonderful to see what happens to Eric and his family and see how it turns out with him going to his grand parents in till his parents get back. It just made me be more interested in the book and made me keep turning the page.
          • JBThursday, September 25, 2014 at 5:05 pm
            It is the best! Anybody that is looking for good book this is the one you want to read. It has adventure, hunting, and friendship.
            • DLThursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:54 am
              This book was fantastic! It had exciting adjectives and juicy words. I would give this book 5 stars if I was a critic.That is how good it was and I liked it when it included action words and him hunting.
              • That One GuyThursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:49 am
                I love this book, it's a little sad at the end but it's great over all I would recomend this to anybody who is looking for a great book.
                • aeThursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:49 am
                  I think this book is awesome. I think this book is cool and I would read it over again without anyone asking me to! I thought this book was better than Harry Potter! You should totally read it.
                  • Bai W.Thursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:49 am
                    I think this book was amazing because it has adventure and hunting. I would recommend this book to people who like adventure. It shows how much you can make a dog become your best friend when you spend time with a dog.
                    • AOThursday, September 25, 2014 at 11:46 am
                      i would give this book five stars because it keeps you on your toes after every chapter and it has friendship, life lessons, and its a very well written book, i highly recommend this book for anyone who likes adventure, or hunting