Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings (Where the Sidewalk Ends)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 8Grade 5n/an/an/a
If you are a dreamer, come in,
If you are a dreamer,
A wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er,
A magic bean buyer …

Come in … for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein’s world begins. You’ll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.

Shel Silverstein’s masterful collection of poems and drawings is at once outrageously funny and profound.

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on February 18, 2014 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060572345
ISBN-13: 9780060572341
37 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • warriorsgirl11
    warriorsgirl11Friday, February 14, 2020 at 6:51 pm55 stars
    I liked how the author wrote poems that are very funny. I liked the fun pictures and the words the author used.
    • wozunubu-157805875083
      wozunubu-157805875083Wednesday, January 8, 2020 at 5:29 am55 stars
      In my opinion, I really liked Where the sidewalk ends. One reason why is I really like to read poems. Another reason why is all of the poems are very well worded. My favorite part is s the poems are funny like the one about Captain Hook's hook . You might like this book if you like poem's. You should read this book because it is funny and make's you want to continue reading the book.
      • juniper07
        juniper07Friday, February 15, 2019 at 8:35 am55 stars
        These poems are funny, goofy, use homonyms and play on words. for example: Balancing my ABC's takes noon to half past three.I don't have time to get the E or even stop and take a P.
        • awesomeperson12
          awesomeperson12Thursday, November 15, 2018 at 1:42 pm
          If you like poetry then this and, all of the Shel Silverstien are right for you!
          • juniper07
            juniper07Friday, February 15, 2019 at 9:08 am55 stars
            I sure do!
          • girlforgreen
            girlforgreenWednesday, November 7, 2018 at 1:23 pm55 stars
            Shel Silverstein strikes again! This book of poems will tickle your imagination and make you laugh until you cry. I have been reading this treasury for years upon years. However, I still can not get enough of some favorites, including Cynthia Sylvia Stout, who would not take the garbage out, the man who's beard is so long, he wears it as clothing, the girl who ate a whole hippopotamus, and many, many more. I hope that everyone of all ages gets to read this book at least once in a lifetime.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 3:55 pm55 stars
              This collection of children's poems from Shel Silverstein is a real treat. Each of the creatures and characters is fascinating and never overly moralistically drawn. There are lots of laughs here -
              • meadowlark12
                meadowlark12Monday, January 8, 2018 at 2:18 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book is a true work of imagination! Given to me by my uncle on my 11th birthday, I read it in two days. I couldn't stop laughing at some of them- they were told upside down, from inside a lion's mouth, and from inside a snake (I hope that one wasn't from personal experience). It is a heartwarming treasury that even teaches a couple life lessons. I never knew poetry could be so whimsical!
                • dragonbookworm
                  dragonbookwormSaturday, October 14, 2017 at 8:12 pm55 stars
                  the poems in this book are awesome! I don't remember all of them but I remembered some. Like Hungry Mungry. These are funny and some teach people a lesson. I recommend this book because it could past time and it's good. (Lamest review, ever!)
                  • yodacoucheater
                    yodacoucheaterTuesday, September 5, 2017 at 9:50 am55 stars
                    This book is one of my favorites! I like all of his poetry. I recommend these silly poems to all of my friends because they will laugh a lot.
                    • HloWednesday, May 31, 2017 at 7:55 am
                      Best book ever