Upside-Down Magic (Upside-Down Magic #1)

Book 1 of 4 in the Upside-Down Magic Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 4n/a3.726913
From New York Times bestselling authors Sarah Mlynowski, Lauren Myracle, and Emily Jenkins comes a new, offbeat series about a group of misfits who set out to prove that life on the other side of ordinary has its charms.

It’s never easy when your magic goes wonky.

For Nory, this means that instead of being able to turn into a dragon or a kitten, she turns into both of them at the same time—a dritten.

For Elliott, the simple act of conjuring fire from his fingertips turns into a fully frozen failure.

For Andres, wonky magic means he’s always floating in the air, bouncing off the walls, or sitting on the ceiling.

For Bax, a bad moment of magic will turn him into a . . . actually, he’d rather not talk about that.

Nory, Elliott, Andres, and Bax are just four of the students in Dunwiddle Magic School’s Upside-Down Magic class. In their classroom, lessons are unconventional, students are unpredictable, and magic has a tendency to turn wonky at the worst possible moments. Because it’s always amazing, the trouble a little wonky magic can cause . . .

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 29, 2015 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545800455
ISBN-13: 9780545800457
95 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jkbear
    jkbearMonday, January 4, 2021 at 2:31 pm55 stars
    I love this book
    • gakmaster2020
      gakmaster2020Friday, January 1, 2021 at 2:02 am55 stars
      Wery goooooooood i love the book
      • SeleneThursday, December 31, 2020 at 1:40 pm
        I think that it is very good !
        • yourself11
          yourself11Wednesday, December 30, 2020 at 5:48 pm55 stars
          This book is a really great book because a girl turn into a cat and I already sawn the movie and the movie is different from the book I ❤❤ this book so much
          • Lolapop Wednesday, December 30, 2020 at 4:22 pm
            I Loved this book! It’s so crazy, and I love that she can succeed with not normal powers!
            • Lola JaneWednesday, December 30, 2020 at 4:02 pm
              ved this book! It’s so crazy, and I love that she can succeed with not normal powers!
              • Lola JaneWednesday, December 30, 2020 at 3:57 pm
                I loved this book! It’s so crazy, and I love that she can succeed with not normal powers!
                • hamilfan99
                  hamilfan99Friday, October 9, 2020 at 11:04 am55 stars
                  I love this book and the movie! I love the theme of be yourself
                  • swirl360
                    swirl360Friday, October 9, 2020 at 10:18 am55 stars
                    I have read all the books except Night Owl. I LOVE THIS SERIES!!
                    • belle252
                      belle252Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 3:17 pm55 stars
                      This is such a good book, so Nory loves doing magic and she is very proud of her magic till she gets to Sage academy, which is a magic school. Nory must pass a test so she can be placed in her correct school. She has to turn into a cat, but there's one problem she can't hold her cat formation without turning into some other wonky animal. Because of this she is placed in the UDM. She meets three other kids just like her who can't do there magic the "sage" way. Together the practice secretly and try to get better and embrace their differences.