Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5O3.620719

In Chinese, peng you means friend. But in any language, all Anna knows for certain is that friendship is complicated.

When Anna needs company, she turns to her books. Whether traveling through A Wrinkle in Time, or peering over My Side of the Mountain, books provide what real life cannot—constant companionship and insight into her changing world.

Books, however, can’t tell Anna how to find a true friend. She’ll have to discover that on her own. In the tradition of classics like Maud Hart Lovelace’s Betsy-Tacy books and Eleanor Estes’ One Hundred Dresses, this novel subtly explores what it takes to make friends and what it means to be one.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on May 22, 2012 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0547684630
ISBN-13: 9780547684635
91 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • badbunny21
    badbunny21Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 10:09 am
    I like to read this book because this class mare had a book and they had a different book for each patner and this to girl had a book and they had to find the year of the book so they didn't find the year of the book but in the end of th story thet found the year of the book it was in the back of the book and the year as so small and the author of the book was by andrea cheng
    • kjtennis
      kjtennisWednesday, September 30, 2015 at 3:51 pm44 stars
      Anna is having friendship problems with her friends. But whenever Anna is in a book she feels as if she is in a different world. Books have showed her what friends are like. But will Anna ever learn to make her own friends other than her books?
      • warriorlover123
        warriorlover123Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 7:19 pm55 stars
        SUCH A GOOD BOOK. I LOVED IT SO MUCH WHEN I FIRST READ IT
        • casgirl
          casgirlTuesday, September 29, 2015 at 12:16 pm33 stars
          this one is about a girl and her family from china . and she has problems making friends at her now school . but it ends out ok .
          • catface173
            catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 5:08 pm22 stars
            This book was o- k. Could be way better. I would suggest you don't read this book but go ahead if you want to. ,
            • inventor60
              inventor60Saturday, September 19, 2015 at 12:15 pm33 stars
              Anna knows one thing for certain, it's hard being a friend, and having one. To her the only friends she could turn to were books, good old books. But she must still find the perfect friend. Not books. Real friends .
              • coreycole
                coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:37 pm22 stars
                i found this in a box in the basement . its a girl book . must have been my moms and she was donating it but it was on the list so i read it, i guess if your girl you might like it but i think its dumb why write everything down where peope can see it and then spread it around if you didnt want any one to know dont tell them
                • ejvarga
                  ejvargaThursday, August 20, 2015 at 9:41 am33 stars
                  The Year Of The Book was OK. I liked it but it wasn't my favorite book of all time. But, it was good. ! ! ! I would maybe read this book again.
                  • bunnyzhang
                    bunnyzhangSaturday, July 25, 2015 at 3:23 pm55 stars
                    I would recommend someone to read this book. This is because the book is about a girl named Anna Wang, and what her school year was like. Her best friend Laura was hanging out with Allison and Lucy. Laura now didn’t have time to hang out with Anna. Anna now needs to find a new friend. This book also reminded me about another book I read, it’s called “Katie and the Cupcake Cure”. In both books the main character loses its best friend. The only difference is that in “Katie and the Cupcake Cure”, Katie finds a new best friend, Mia. In “The Year of the Book”, Anna gets her best friend Laura back and Ray the Crossing Guard becomes both of their friends. Even though the stories end differently, they both end with a happy ending.
                    • roku
                      rokuWednesday, July 22, 2015 at 6:03 am55 stars
                      I love this book, I even understand the Chinese words because I speak Chinese