Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8Y5.046150
This stunning debut novel about grief and wonder was an instant New York Times bestseller and captured widespread critical acclaim, including selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist! Oddlot Entertainment has acquired the screen rights to The Thing About Jellyfish, with Gigi Pritzker set to produce with Bruna Papandrea and Reese Witherspoon.

After her best friend dies in a drowning accident, Suzy is convinced that the true cause of the tragedy must have been a rare jellyfish sting-things don't just happen for no reason. Retreating into a silent world of imagination, she crafts a plan to prove her theory--even if it means traveling the globe, alone. Suzy's achingly heartfelt journey explores life, death, the astonishing wonder of the universe...and the potential for love and hope right next door.
Hardcover, 352 pages
Published on September 22, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316380865
ISBN-13: 9780316380867
62 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ajg16
    ajg16Saturday, May 18, 2019 at 7:57 am44 stars
    Suzy Swanson's best friends Franny Jackson died while on vacation, she drowned. This last time Suzy saw her she was crying because of something Suzy did. She'll never have a chance to say sorry now. Suzy will not give up on trying to prove exactly what happen to frankie , frankie was a strong swimmer, so she couldn't have just drowned. Suzy comes up with the conclusion that it had to be a deadly jellyfish sting. She hasn't spoken since and the people around her try to make her happier again. This was an amazing novel, it was a sad story with an interesting twist and it had amazing facts recommended for 12+ Thanks for reading -Ajg16's reviews
    • auntieb
      auntiebFriday, December 28, 2018 at 3:41 pm33 stars
      "Shoot Me if I ever become like that." is what Franny said. Suzy and Franny are best friends. Then in 6th grade Franny changes, she starts worrying about her hair, clothes, and what other people think about her. She also starts hanging out with popular (and pretty) Audrey. Suzy decides to send Franny the signal they had talked about. One that couldn't be missed. But then it all goes horribly wrong. The last time Suzy ever saw Franny was her crying carrying plastic bags down the hall. All because of her.
      • im a catMonday, September 10, 2018 at 2:41 pm
        MY FAVORITE BOOK OF ALL TIME!! Read this book. It's sad but also amazing. All my friends I've recommended it to have loved it, too. Honestly, even if you don't like how it sounds, still give it a try. This book has led me to other books that I love as well. 1.9 billion out of five stars
        • princesspower2
          princesspower2Monday, July 16, 2018 at 8:38 am55 stars
          This book was so beautiful. Anyone know what I mean? :P
          • bookworm15Monday, July 16, 2018 at 5:07 am
            I am really excited to read this for summer reading. The story seems like a different kind of topic
            • bookworm15Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 9:59 am
              seems really cool. I got this out of the library because its on my summer reading list.
              • wolfa_sky
                wolfa_skyWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 3:08 pm55 starsFeatured
                This book is written with honest emotions and is truly one of the most beautiful and heartbreaking books I have ever read! While Suzy goes through the hardship of realizing that her best friend is dead, she is determined to know the cause of her death. She goes to the full extent, barely ever thinking about giving up until she realizes that no matter how hard she tries, it won't bring her friend back from death. I read this book about four months ago but remember everything in it because of how amazing it was. I, with no doubt, recommend this to anyone who is ready to challenge their emotions to something depressing and a little tense.
                • koreanbacongirl
                  koreanbacongirlWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 2:53 pm
                  Cool! My sister has that book and it seemed boring but now I want to read it! Thanks grapefruit for the description!
                  • grapefruit
                    grapefruitWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 1:57 am55 stars
                    Since the death of her best friend, a girl wonders about the possibilities of a fatal jellyfish attack. She searches for a jelly expert until the result shows that her bestie was killed by a wave and not a jelly. The writing is creative and interesting, but it is all rather unclear about why the main character has these thoughts. It had all the potential, but I guess it could use more explanation--20 extra pages or so.
                    • joey1602
                      joey1602Friday, February 2, 2018 at 11:10 am55 stars
                      I loved this book!! It was really very well written and a must read for anyone!