The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, Vol. 1)

Book 1 of 11 in the The Princess Diaries Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.758954

The first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot.

Mia Thermopolis is pretty sure there’s nothing worse than being a five-foot-nine, flat-chested freshman, who also happens to be flunking Algebra. Is she ever in for a surprise.

First Mom announces that she’s dating Mia’s Algebra teacher. Then Dad has to go and reveal that he is the crown prince of Genovia. And guess who still doesn’t have a date for the Cultural Diversity Dance?

The Princess Diaries is the first book in the beloved, bestselling series that inspired the feature film starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 19, 2000 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0380978482
ISBN-13: 9780380978489
21 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rybicabu-157805874692
    rybicabu-157805874692Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:20 am55 stars
    In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is because it is written "in a diary" with her feelings. Another reason why is the main character thinks she is a normal girl but she really isn't. My favorite part is when she smears ice cream all over a mean girls shirt. You might like this book if you like fantasy and realistic fiction. You should read this book because the girl doesn't really have any friends then when everyone finds out her dad was a prince she got really popular and her grandma has to teach her to be ladylike; her crush notices her and takes her to the dance, then she dumps him; and her best friends brother and her dance and talk. Its a really good interesting book. There is also a movie for this book.
    • keylimepie
      keylimepieTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:35 pm55 stars
      i know this seems really girly and bad and horrible, don't judge a book by it's cover!!!!!!!!! The pink is just a fooler. It is actually about a girl who finds out she is princess of Genovia, her reaction, love life, ect. Recomend
      • pupnews
        pupnewsSunday, May 1, 2016 at 12:29 pm
        GREAT BOOK,LOVE IT
        • cimmie
          cimmieSaturday, April 30, 2016 at 10:00 pm55 stars
          Great book! I really related to it with the changes she went through, I would read it again no doubt!
          • kkkkkkkkk123Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:31 am
            I'm in 6th grade and i read this high school interest level!!!! is that good or bad?
            • kyrait
              kyraitThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:24 am55 stars
              Mia is a teenage girl, she is also the princess of Genovia. She never knew that she was a princess for her whole life, and she was definitely not prepared to be one. Until one day, her grandmother (which is the queen) decided to come pick her up and make Mia get ready to become a queen. Right now Mia has no idea how to be like a lady she is more on the tomboy side. So the queen personally got Mia a makeover, and taught her how to act, and look like a princess. It's really hard for Mia to take all these things in and get use to it. In the story it gives many funny details, and it's really relatable, because I think most of the girls will understand how Mia feels. I will recommend this book to people who really enjoy comedy and like the royal families.
              • emeraldMonday, May 5, 2014 at 1:55 pm
                i disagree with allid it dos not madder your age you can read what ever you want as long as you get it.
                • allid
                  allidThursday, January 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm
                  Well it is actually for older high school students, because the content is more appropriate for older students. I watched the movie and I am waiting to read this book.
                  • catcam10
                    catcam10Saturday, May 10, 2014 at 6:47 pm
                    Okay so let me say this again any book is okay for any age as long as you are allowed. My 9 year old sister watched a few episodes of friends. My 5th grade class is reading this and we are 10-12.
                  • headream100
                    headream100Sunday, December 15, 2013 at 3:00 am44 stars
                    It was a good book, and I kind of disagree with all those people out there that don't like Mia. She is so silly and makes this book shine!
                    • lovestosing
                      lovestosingMonday, September 23, 2013 at 9:20 am55 stars
                      I decided to read this book because I saw the movie. So far, this book is really interesting. It has a few cuss words but they don't hurt anybody.