The Princess Diaries (The Princess Diaries, Vol. 1)

Book 1 of 11 in the The Princess Diaries Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 12Z5.758954

The first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot.

Mia Thermopolis is pretty sure there’s nothing worse than being a five-foot-nine, flat-chested freshman, who also happens to be flunking Algebra. Is she ever in for a surprise.

First Mom announces that she’s dating Mia’s Algebra teacher. Then Dad has to go and reveal that he is the crown prince of Genovia. And guess who still doesn’t have a date for the Cultural Diversity Dance?

The Princess Diaries is the first book in the beloved, bestselling series that inspired the feature film starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on September 19, 2000 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0380978482
ISBN-13: 9780380978489
25 Book Reviews
  • iampumkincope
    iampumkincopeFriday, February 26, 2021 at 6:53 am
    this is really good
    • musicbooklover
      musicbookloverWednesday, December 30, 2020 at 8:26 am55 stars
      One minute Mia's a totally normal Manhattan fourteen-year-old. Next minute she's Princess Amelia, the heir to the throne of Genovia, being trailed by a bodyguard, taking princess lessons with her uncontrollable old grandmere, and having a makeover with someone called Paolo. Well, her dad can lecture her till he's royal blue in the face, but no way is Mia going to turn herself into a style-queen. And they think she's moving to Genovia? Er, hello? I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! This book is so captivating and entertainingly funny. If by the name of the book, you think it's girl, think again! It navigates perfectly through Mia's teen year's. Perfect for girl tweenagers,( girls in age between 10 and 14) teenagers, and young adults.
      • I crazy.com Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 10:46 pm
        I completely agree with sydneyz
        • sydney_zepp
          sydney_zeppSunday, November 8, 2020 at 3:46 pm44 stars
          I'm giving 4 stars because even though I loved the story, there was some things that weren't really appropriate and could've been left out to make the book better. I'd say read it, but have a parent read the book first, or have them read reviews and make sure they approve of you reading it first.😄
          • rybicabu-157805874692
            rybicabu-157805874692Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 8:20 am55 stars
            In my opinion, I really liked this book. One reason why is because it is written "in a diary" with her feelings. Another reason why is the main character thinks she is a normal girl but she really isn't. My favorite part is when she smears ice cream all over a mean girls shirt. You might like this book if you like fantasy and realistic fiction. You should read this book because the girl doesn't really have any friends then when everyone finds out her dad was a prince she got really popular and her grandma has to teach her to be ladylike; her crush notices her and takes her to the dance, then she dumps him; and her best friends brother and her dance and talk. Its a really good interesting book. There is also a movie for this book.
            • keylimepie
              keylimepieTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:35 pm55 stars
              i know this seems really girly and bad and horrible, don't judge a book by it's cover!!!!!!!!! The pink is just a fooler. It is actually about a girl who finds out she is princess of Genovia, her reaction, love life, ect. Recomend
              • pupnews
                pupnewsSunday, May 1, 2016 at 12:29 pm
                GREAT BOOK,LOVE IT
                • cimmie
                  cimmieSaturday, April 30, 2016 at 10:00 pm55 stars
                  Great book! I really related to it with the changes she went through, I would read it again no doubt!
                  • kkkkkkkkk123Wednesday, March 2, 2016 at 7:31 am
                    I'm in 6th grade and i read this high school interest level!!!! is that good or bad?
                    • kyrait
                      kyraitThursday, February 25, 2016 at 6:24 am55 stars
                      Mia is a teenage girl, she is also the princess of Genovia. She never knew that she was a princess for her whole life, and she was definitely not prepared to be one. Until one day, her grandmother (which is the queen) decided to come pick her up and make Mia get ready to become a queen. Right now Mia has no idea how to be like a lady she is more on the tomboy side. So the queen personally got Mia a makeover, and taught her how to act, and look like a princess. It's really hard for Mia to take all these things in and get use to it. In the story it gives many funny details, and it's really relatable, because I think most of the girls will understand how Mia feels. I will recommend this book to people who really enjoy comedy and like the royal families.