Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 6 - 8V5.6118460

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

Hardcover, 485 pages
Published on March 7, 2007 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316057770
ISBN-13: 9780316057776
138 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everSunday, August 9, 2020 at 11:15 am55 stars
    Reynie Muldoon has always been the odd one out. Strange, awkward, and clever beyond his years, his only friend is his dear old tutor, Miss Perumal. But that all changes when an advertisement is posted: "Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Curious, Reynie decides to grasp this chance and participate in a series of contests, which become stranger and stranger as they are carried out. But in the end, Reynie passes all these tests with sheer determination and cool logic; and he is invited to a life unlike any he's ever known. Beautiful, mysterious, and inherently dangerous, Reynie meets a peculiar Mr. Benedict, who fears for the world's safety. As secrets are spilled and the parts of the puzzle are pieced together, Reynie - along with three other children who passed Mr. Benedict's tests, named Kate Wetherall, Sticky Washington, and Constance Contraire - realize that their mission is much more fatal than it seems. Because the only way to succeed in saving the world is to venture into their enemy's base - and stay for months as spies. Winding, suspenseful, and utterly perfect, The Mysterious Benedict Society is a spectacularly-written novel following the adventures of four children who break the mold yet are the world's only hope.
    • effie302
      effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:17 am
      I haven't read it yet
      • celia_berry13
        celia_berry13Friday, May 15, 2020 at 8:01 am55 stars
        So. Many. Plot. Twists!!! Things are never what they seem in this brilliantly written book! The characters are all so diverse and so well written.
        • roxanne3
          roxanne3Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 11:09 am44 stars
          I just started reading this series for the second time, but I don't really remember what happens. So far, the 4 children that passed Mr. Benedict's test have become friends and been sent off to the school that the evil guy runs. It turns out that the evil guy is twins with Mr. Benedict, but neither of them knew they had a twin.
          • iamsailorm-chan
            iamsailorm-chanMonday, May 11, 2020 at 4:53 am55 stars
            I would recommend this book to anyone who is reading this because it is very fun and mysterious. Although it is a big book, (about 400 pages long) it makes you want to read more and more! So there were children who went to take a special privilege test and only four of them passed. They went to an institute and met a very weird but kind guy named Mr. Benedict who told them to go to another institute where they would learn things. But instead of learning things, it was kind of like hipmatizing (I do not know if I spelled that right) them! So they were trying to escape that institute but it was kind-of like the institute was pulling them back. I do not want to say anymore because that would spoil the book. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!
            • unipup_dogonews
              unipup_dogonewsWednesday, February 5, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
              A thrilling mystery series. Lots of fun twists to make you feel spooked and mysterious. A series that you do not want it to end. Exciting and fun, lots of riddles for the main characters to solve. It is DEFINITELY mysterious. SUPER FUN!! GET THE SERIES!!
              • adventure0329
                adventure0329Saturday, November 30, 2019 at 7:07 pm55 starsFeatured
                This was a really good book, I would recommend it to all people who enjoy mysteries, and just want to read a good book. It all begins with a newspaper add to children about tests for special privileges. Only four pass the test, enough to give kind Mr. Benedict, (the person who put the add in the newspaper) the perfect amount to make a team of significantly talented children to go to the fearful institute to find some very odd, and scary things. Reynie, who can solve puzzles very fast, Sticky, who remembers everything he reads, Kate who's physical knowledge helps more than you can imagine, and finally Constance. Stubborn Constance who brings hilarity into the book, and contributes even more in the end than you may think. What do you, think the outcome of this story maybe?
                • inmemoryofcpr
                  inmemoryofcprFriday, October 25, 2019 at 5:17 pm44 stars
                  Meet the Benedict Society, with adventurous Kate, clever Reynie, stubborn Constance, and the genius Sticky, as they embark on a journey to prevent the evil Mr. Curtain from hatching his plans. Will they be too late and will they all survive? Read this exciting book to find out! I loved this series and I just found out that a new book was added!!! This was a childhood book and I recommend it to all. For ages 9+ 99999999999999999999/5 stars
                  • owl5day
                    owl5dayWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 7:17 am55 stars
                    It is so good i can not wait to read book 2 it is so thrilling i love it is is in my top 10 favorite books .
                    • lawalex
                      lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 10:37 am55 stars
                      This book is a great read, and filled to the brim with puzzles. This book is immpossible to put down. With lovable characters and an evil master mind to defeat, this is sure to be an adventure!