Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.417050
A timeless tale by the incomparable Kate DiCamillo, complete with stunning full-color plates by Bagram Ibatoulline, honors the enduring power of love.

"Someone will come for you, but first you must open your heart. . . ."

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes' camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle — that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.
Hardcover, 228 pages
Published on February 14, 2006 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763625892
ISBN-13: 9780763625894
217 Book Reviews
  • lmhewlett
    lmhewlettFriday, May 7, 2021 at 10:41 am55 stars
    Edward Tulane is a china rabbit doll. He cannot move or talk, but he can think. He has painted on eyes and loves to wear silk suits. He can communicate with other dolls. His story starts on Egypt Street with Abilene and her grandmother Pellegrina, who made him. Edward travels around the world and goes on many adventures and journeys. He meets a lot of new people and sees many places. He loves to look at the stars. He is loved by many people throughout his life and goes through many heartbreaks and lots of loneliness. He has to learn how to love and has a lot of chances to learn. During his life he goes through a lot of pain, trouble and heartbreak with many people. HIs life is like a roller coaster; it goes up and down. I recommend this book because it is very relatable and sad. Edward learns what it feels like to miss people. This book has a lot of emotion but is also funny and full of adventures.
    • lmhewlett
      lmhewlettFriday, May 7, 2021 at 8:57 am55 starsFeatured
      “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane” is a loving and emotional story. It’s a very heartwarming, amazing book. It is the story of Edward Tulane, who is a rabbit doll made of china. Edward’s life has many seasons, as he goes on different adventures with different families. Edward’s story starts with an owner named Abilene, who loves him very much. Abilene’s grandmother’s name is Pellagrina, who commissioned Edward for Abilene. Edward and Pellagrina can communicate. At first Edward does not feel a lot of emotion, but that changes throughout the story. Edward loves the stars and always loves to look at them, repeating the names of the people who have loved him. I really liked how this story plays out. Kids could learn a lot of lessons from this book. If you like going on adventures, read this chapter book.
      • OFLLWednesday, January 27, 2021 at 8:50 am
        I LOVED IT it was sad and happy and the end was soooo sweet OMG IT IS SOO GOOD it made ME CRY AND OMG IT TOO GOOD
        • Anyjed Wednesday, January 27, 2021 at 8:49 am
          I absolutely love it Iv'e been reading this book for 1.7 years and I still LOVE it you should 2.
          • Nob 1 2 3 4Friday, November 13, 2020 at 3:08 pm
            I absolutely love it
            • jb9
              jb9Friday, October 30, 2020 at 12:51 pm
              we are reading this book as a read aloud and it is really good so far!
              • alexgamer39
                alexgamer39Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 12:09 pm55 stars
                The book I am going to review is “The Journey of Edward Tulane” by Kate DiCamillo. It is a story about a china bunny named Edward Tulane that was cared for by a lot of people. I connected to this book because Edward had many struggles but did not give up just like me. I was trying to make a blanket, but I didn’t have the right scissors to cut the fabric. I tried several scissors in the house, and kept trying until I got it done.A boy had Edward and someone mashed Edward into pieces, and the boy did not give up and tried to find someone to fix Edward. The boy found a place that would fix Edward, but the man said it would be his if he wanted him to fix him and the boy had to give up Edward for Edward to get fixed. What I learned is to never give up. The character I am analyzing over the course of the book is the main character. Edward Tulane had so many things that happened to him. In the beginning he feels loved by a young girl but then two boys threw Edward into the ocean. A year later, he felt lonely and broken in his heart. But then he was caught and taken home by a fisherman in a net. Edward felt happier than he was on the floor of the ocean. A man was surprised that the man found a china bunny doll in the big ocean. Edward was on the man's shoulder, and he fixed Edward up and started getting happier. But then Edward felt worse when he was thrown in the trash and then he was cared for by other people but Edward still felt the same but worse. But then someone mashed Edward. But then he was fixed by a man Edward felt loved and he never gave up. What I analyzed is that you should never give up because you can do anything if you never give up. I hope you like this book.
                • Maila Thursday, December 5, 2019 at 4:35 pm
                  Sooo adventures
                  • BookwormGMESFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:02 am
                    I absolutely LOVED this book! I felt as though I was actually going through this adventure with Edward. This book made me laugh and cry and it was so full of suspense. I would DEFINITELY read this book again.
                    • sheashea
                      sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:16 am55 stars
                      Kate DiCamillo writes this heart wrenching story of a stuffed rabbit Edward Tulane. Readers get to travel with Edward and meet the people who love him as he searches for his lost owner.