Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5U4.417050
A timeless tale by the incomparable Kate DiCamillo, complete with stunning full-color plates by Bagram Ibatoulline, honors the enduring power of love.

"Someone will come for you, but first you must open your heart. . . ."

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

Kate DiCamillo takes us on an extraordinary journey, from the depths of the ocean to the net of a fisherman, from the top of a garbage heap to the fireside of a hoboes' camp, from the bedside of an ailing child to the bustling streets of Memphis. And along the way, we are shown a true miracle — that even a heart of the most breakable kind can learn to love, to lose, and to love again.
Hardcover, 228 pages
Published on February 14, 2006 by Candlewick
ISBN-10: 0763625892
ISBN-13: 9780763625894
210 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • BookwormGMESFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:02 am
    I absolutely LOVED this book! I felt as though I was actually going through this adventure with Edward. This book made me laugh and cry and it was so full of suspense. I would DEFINITELY read this book again.
    • sheashea
      sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:16 am55 stars
      Kate DiCamillo writes this heart wrenching story of a stuffed rabbit Edward Tulane. Readers get to travel with Edward and meet the people who love him as he searches for his lost owner.
      • borupyhy-156623588802
        borupyhy-156623588802Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:55 am55 stars
        I decided to read this book because I had it and it was a gift. I think that other people should read this book because it was very cool. You will also like it if you're a traveler because Edward Tulane travels a lot.Two boy throw him of a ferry and a fisherman finds him on his hook and sells him to a doll shop. The little girl grows up and has a child.Her child goes to the doll shop and wants Edward Tulane and the little girls mother remembers what happend to Edward Tulane .
        • vyvufoky-156623590383
          vyvufoky-156623590383Wednesday, September 11, 2019 at 8:55 am55 stars
          A good book and the ending is happy he goes through a lot of owners and, I think it is cool that you see what he is going through from losing his home trying to find Abeline. Now he has a really big family. I think it is a really good book to read.
          • soso17970
            soso17970Monday, May 6, 2019 at 7:45 pm44 stars
            I read this a long time ago, so I don’t remember much, but I do remember this: This book is about the amazing journey of a China Rabit. As Edward faces abandonment and adversity, he also sees kindness in people such as the fisherman. This heartwarming book shows that you have to keep on fighting for the things you believe in. I think this ends happily, I forgot. =)
            • lavoiem
              lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 7:32 pm44 stars
              Very good book and never got boring
              • shiv89wThursday, January 10, 2019 at 8:26 am
                I really enjoyed this book.
                • chlooe
                  chlooeFriday, November 9, 2018 at 4:15 pm55 stars
                  I am really glad on how Edward learns kindness and not be a spoiled brat. When I first heard that Edward was made out of china (Was in 3rd grade <:), I was literally like, WHAAAAA? From CHINAAAAAAA? I still like to imagine how Edward feels like and how satisfying he is. Don't mind me but, I just love to imagine the story in my head.
                  • eso293Monday, October 29, 2018 at 4:43 pm
                    It is the best book I ever seen. Please borrow it because it is ( obviously )........... AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • lpro24
                      lpro24Monday, August 6, 2018 at 2:09 pm55 stars
                      This book is the best. It sends such a great message to the readers. If you start reading this book you are going to be hooked from being to end. Trust me this is a book you want to read