Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8X5.3101182

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Paperback
Published on September 3, 2015 by Chicken House Ltd
ISBN-10: 1910655104
ISBN-13: 9781910655108
472 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nicegirl123
    nicegirl123Monday, July 6, 2020 at 9:01 pm55 stars
    I’m glad we got a long vacation, and what I did was read. I have a list pinned in my wall of the books I must read; I mean which I WANT to read as ever. But unfortunately, all the bookshops and libraries were closed, so my only choice was read the pdf. I downloaded the pdf the same day, and read it, and I couldn’t put the book down. I couldn’t take my eyes of it. I was obsessed by the book. This book is about a boy named Thomas, who woke up in a box, and he was sent to which seems like another world. He finds some other boys in the place, which they call the glade. He thinks everything is ridiculous. Anybody will think everything is ridiculous if they wake up in a glade. The next day, another girl comes t the glade, who Thomas thought was familiar even though he could not remember who it was. He finds out that he could telepathy with the girl. However, they find a way out of the glade, and next, they get to know they are going to have another challenge the scorch trials. I recommend this book to everybody, this book can be read by anybody, and I’m sure everybody of you’ll will enjoy it as much as I did.
    • NewtFANSunday, July 5, 2020 at 1:34 pm
      I love this book. I has been my favorite series.
      • lovetoread26
        lovetoread26Sunday, May 31, 2020 at 3:25 pm55 starsFeatured
        It seems like every book I read during quarantine earns a top spot on my favorite books list, and this book is no different! I can't wait to read the next one. Estimated 16 year old Thomas wakes up in a dark box that is slowly creaking up a shaft, with no memory of who he is or how he got there. The only thing he remembers about his past life is his name, Thomas. When he gets out of the box, he learns that he is in a place called the Glade, and every other boy there arrived in the same fashion. Everything is going smoothly until the next day a girl arrives. Then everything descends into chaos; the girl falls into a coma, speaking to Thomas through her mind. She arrived clutching a note in her hand saying that she was the final person to be delivered. Thomas decides that he wants to be a Runner, who searches the mysterious maze surrounding the Glade for clues on how to escape. The next week, supplies aren't delivered, and soon after, the sky goes gray. No sun, no night or day. Many blame Thomas for all of the strange happenings, but he knows they are wrong. This book is sort of a mystery, because no one knows how the "Gladers" will survive. There are many shocking twists and turns, and this book is not for the faint-hearted. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, and that it makes a top spot in your favorite book list as well.
        • vankem7151
          vankem7151Friday, May 1, 2020 at 10:31 am55 stars
          I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!
          • smokey7990
            smokey7990Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 8:30 am33 stars
            it had me going off the walls because i could only read for a hour
            • dogwhisper2010
              dogwhisper2010Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 3:35 pm55 starsFeatured
              I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! I it is really good and I think that the author (James Dashner) has a huge imagination to think of all this. This book is very enthusiastic and addicting. I had many favorite parts and I hope you do to. I don't want to give you any spoilers but I will sum it up for you. Thomas , a teenager, arrives in a glade at the center of a giant labyrinth. Like the other youths dumped there before him, he has no memory of his previous life. Thomas quickly becomes part of the group and soon after demonstrates a unique perspective that scores him a promotion to Runner status -- those who patrol the always-changing maze to find an escape route. Together with Teresa, the only female, Thomas tries to convince his cohorts that he knows a way out. I really hope you like the book!
              • lmise7931
                lmise7931Wednesday, October 23, 2019 at 6:53 am55 stars
                i give this book a straight out 2 thumbs up, i have read the book and watched the movies, this book is awesome!!!!!!!!, PLEASE MAKE THIS A FREE GIVE AWAY BOOK!!!!!!!!!;)
                • sa;lly;)Wednesday, October 9, 2019 at 4:44 am
                  i love this book, i have watched the movie and everything! i love it. its so adventurous and mysterious. i love it!
                  • ryanboi
                    ryanboiTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 8:32 am33 stars
                    Its kinda mysterious and the characters are trying to find out who they really are.
                    • lotte_parker667
                      lotte_parker667Monday, July 1, 2019 at 5:03 pm55 stars
                      I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!! It can get kinda scary for younger kids, so 12+ probably, but it is SO good. Everyone should read this book series!
                      • dogwhisper2010
                        dogwhisper2010Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                        I am younger than 12 and I love it!!