Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Paperback, 375 pages
Published on August 5, 2014 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 038538520X
ISBN-13: 9780385385206
421 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • mewborngal
    mewborngalSunday, September 3, 2017 at 11:16 am55 stars
    This book was confusing in the beginning, but it will make more sense when you really start to get into it!
    • ijalauhn
      ijalauhnTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 2:29 pm
      it makes me cry from all the the things the were going through.
      • da_gangsta_joe
        da_gangsta_joeMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:37 am
        The blurb is scary don't listen to my other account i was joking then. It really scary.
        • georgiagirl
          georgiagirlFriday, July 14, 2017 at 4:05 pm
          I loved this book so much and i really recomend it! My favorite charectors are Newt and Minho.
          • fireninja
            fireninjaSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 3:02 pm44 stars
            I really like this book because it has adventure and some cliffhangers. I give it four stars because it has some curse words.
            • wilsokei000Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 7:16 pm
              I have to say this is an amazing series so much action fiction reality and detail with all the characters it builds up an amazing series that leads to loving each and every page. here's a preview for book one: Thomas a teen boy ends up in the glade, a piece of land surrounded by a laybrinth the area is full of young boys when a girl shows up in the box where people come up in. Thomas imediatly feels a connection between them. Soon grievers, metal creatures that live in the maze invade and kill alot of boys.Thomas and a group of boys and Teresa, go into the maze and use thier brains to find a way out...
              • lizzybeemar
                lizzybeemarFriday, May 26, 2017 at 12:36 pm55 stars
                I loved this book! The action and suspense had me on the edge of my seat and I could not put the book down. I definitely recommend reading the book before seeing the movie!
                • mayjud1718
                  mayjud1718Thursday, September 21, 2017 at 10:54 am
                  I totally agree with you. The movies are so far from the book. They could have made the movies really good, but they didn't. At least the book serious is really good, even though the movies stink.
                • The Anonymous Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:44 am
                  This book is absolutely amazing I recommend you should buy it
                  • dboyTuesday, May 2, 2017 at 11:38 am
                    I love this book it is awesome
                    • mjordan6
                      mjordan6Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 10:32 am
                      This book is about a boy named Thomas who is a teenager. Thomas was dumped in a labyrinth and have lost his memory. When Thomas woke up he seen other teenagers that have already been there. Thomas and Teresa are trying to escape through the maze.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club