The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book One)

Book 1 of 5 in the The Maze Runner Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 8X5.3101182

Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Paperback, 375 pages
Published on August 5, 2014 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 038538520X
ISBN-13: 9780385385206
418 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • da_gangsta_joe
    da_gangsta_joeMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:37 am
    The blurb is scary don't listen to my other account i was joking then. It really scary.
    • georgiagirl
      georgiagirlFriday, July 14, 2017 at 4:05 pm
      I loved this book so much and i really recomend it! My favorite charectors are Newt and Minho.
      • fireninja
        fireninjaSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 3:02 pm44 stars
        I really like this book because it has adventure and some cliffhangers. I give it four stars because it has some curse words.
        • wilsokei000Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 7:16 pm
          I have to say this is an amazing series so much action fiction reality and detail with all the characters it builds up an amazing series that leads to loving each and every page. here's a preview for book one: Thomas a teen boy ends up in the glade, a piece of land surrounded by a laybrinth the area is full of young boys when a girl shows up in the box where people come up in. Thomas imediatly feels a connection between them. Soon grievers, metal creatures that live in the maze invade and kill alot of boys.Thomas and a group of boys and Teresa, go into the maze and use thier brains to find a way out...
          • lizzybeemar
            lizzybeemarFriday, May 26, 2017 at 12:36 pm55 stars
            I loved this book! The action and suspense had me on the edge of my seat and I could not put the book down. I definitely recommend reading the book before seeing the movie!
            • The Anonymous Friday, May 19, 2017 at 9:44 am
              This book is absolutely amazing I recommend you should buy it
              • dboyTuesday, May 2, 2017 at 11:38 am
                I love this book it is awesome
                • mjordan6
                  mjordan6Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 10:32 am
                  This book is about a boy named Thomas who is a teenager. Thomas was dumped in a labyrinth and have lost his memory. When Thomas woke up he seen other teenagers that have already been there. Thomas and Teresa are trying to escape through the maze.
                  • joejoebro
                    joejoebroTuesday, April 11, 2017 at 2:21 pm44 starsFeatured
                    Let me just put it out there, this book series is great. I loved them and especially loved the second book. I find these books very funny and a great mystery series, as you can never fully understand what is happening. The first three books were great. The characters in the book had lots of great qualities and are just in general great. The fourth book just confused me. I know it's supposed to be a prequel (a story that takes place before the actual main plot) to the series, but it was so confusing. I felt like two hours of reading went to waste. The purpose of the book felt pointless and the only thing it covered was the flare disease in the first three books. But, I can't be mad because the first three books were great. They told me everything I needed to know and it was just wonderful. However, learn that this book is not for everyone. Even if you are a fan of The Hunger Games. However, if you liked this review, I suggest you start reading. Great series and I recommend it to anyone who loves book comedy, and a mixture of dark twists.
                    • zachforlife
                      zachforlifeTuesday, April 11, 2017 at 9:19 am
                      I read The Kill Order, The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, and I am working on The Death Cure. I did not read The Fever Code. I do not know where it is. My favorite so far is the maze runner, but it is REALLY different from the movie. I liked the book better. it gives you Thomas's thoughts.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Nikki. She ha...
                      Dork Diaries 10: Tales from a No...

                      wiseowlbookworm

                      This book is about Raina. She kn...
                      Smile

                      Unicorn wrote:

                      Love the storyline but wish it w...
                      Sticks & Stones (Upside-Down Mag...

                      r.w wrote:

                      great book.so awesome
                      Tomorrow, When the War Began (Th...