Book one in the blockbuster Maze Runner series that spawned a movie franchise and ushered in a worldwide phenomenon! And don’t miss The Fever Code, the highly-anticipated series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built!

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround them is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying: Remember. Survive. Run.

The Maze Runner and Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials are now major motion pictures featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. The third movie, Maze Runner: The Death Cure, will hit screens in 2018.

Also look for James Dashner’s edge-of-your-seat MORTALITY DOCTRINE series!

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

“[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost.” —EW.com

“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.” Newsday

“[A] nail-biting must-read.” Seventeen.com

“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly

Heart pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews

Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

“James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.” —Shelf Awareness, Starred

Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.” —Deseret News

Paperback, 375 pages
Published on August 5, 2014 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 038538520X
ISBN-13: 9780385385206
426 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • #gtaylorisWRONGWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 8:27 am
    Man, you must hate James dashner. He feels like a dad to me. I'm his biggest fan. Thomas is very funny and keeps peoples spirits up even in hard times. Recomend to everyone. Deserves 5 stars. Keep writing bud. Deepest wishs for your next book.
    • gtaylor505
      gtaylor505Thursday, November 2, 2017 at 10:35 am33 starsFeatured
      The Maze Runner series, despite all the attention it's gotten and all its fans, isn't all that great. Yes, the plot is interesting and the characters are at least moderately likable, but other than that, I didn't love it. Many people think it's a great series; I even have a friend who is a big fan of the books; but I don't share their enthusiasm for it. I didn't find the main character very relatable or great, and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The character arc and development is small, if there at all.
      • bearpawzeus66
        bearpawzeus66Sunday, November 5, 2017 at 3:54 am
        I deeply disagree with you but I think it's great but like you said the main character isn't very relatable or great but other than that, I would recommend it for someone who loves sci-fi. I love the series but it a little hard to follow, and out of all five, my favorite would have to be The Fever Code.
      • happypug12
        happypug12Saturday, October 14, 2017 at 12:18 pm33 stars
        After watching the Maze Runner movies, I was interested enough to want to delve into the books, so I began the adventure with this one. We are immediately thrown into the fray, following a kid named Thomas who has no memories, just like every other "shank" in the glade. Dashner creates a mostly fascinating book, with strong characters, and I think he did a good job on it, but it almost feels as if it's missing something. I would say the thing The Maze Runner lacked most of was, as a reader, I somewhat feel a bit detached from the characters. But overall, this was a nice dystopian novel, and I'd recommend to anyone in middle school and above who's looking for a sound read.
        • inh8
          inh8Saturday, September 23, 2017 at 5:35 pm
          Best. Series. Ever.
          • mewborngal
            mewborngalSunday, September 3, 2017 at 11:16 am55 stars
            This book was confusing in the beginning, but it will make more sense when you really start to get into it!
            • ijalauhn
              ijalauhnTuesday, August 22, 2017 at 2:29 pm
              it makes me cry from all the the things the were going through.
              • da_gangsta_joe
                da_gangsta_joeMonday, July 17, 2017 at 10:37 am
                The blurb is scary don't listen to my other account i was joking then. It really scary.
                • georgiagirl
                  georgiagirlFriday, July 14, 2017 at 4:05 pm
                  I loved this book so much and i really recomend it! My favorite charectors are Newt and Minho.
                  • fireninja
                    fireninjaSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 3:02 pm44 stars
                    I really like this book because it has adventure and some cliffhangers. I give it four stars because it has some curse words.
                    • wilsokei000Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 7:16 pm
                      I have to say this is an amazing series so much action fiction reality and detail with all the characters it builds up an amazing series that leads to loving each and every page. here's a preview for book one: Thomas a teen boy ends up in the glade, a piece of land surrounded by a laybrinth the area is full of young boys when a girl shows up in the box where people come up in. Thomas imediatly feels a connection between them. Soon grievers, metal creatures that live in the maze invade and kill alot of boys.Thomas and a group of boys and Teresa, go into the maze and use thier brains to find a way out...

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...