Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12n/an/an/an/a
A beautiful illustrated boxed set collecting the two most popular Tolkien hardbacks -- the Centenary edition of The Lord of the Rings and the 60th Anniversary edition of The Hobbit, both illustrated by Alan Lee. Since they were first published, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings have been two books people have treasured. Steeped in unrivalled magic and otherworldliness, these works of sweeping fantasy have touched the hearts of young and old alike. Between them, nearly 100 million copies have been sold around the world. And no editions have proved more popular than the two that were illustrated by award-winning artist, Alan Lee -- the Centenary edition of The Lord of the Rings and the 60th Anniversary edition of The Hobbit. Now, for the first time, these two beautifully illustrated hardbacks have been collected together into one deluxe boxed set. Readers will be able to follow the complete story of the Hobbits and their part in the quest for the Ring -- beginning with Bilbo's fateful visit from Gandalf and culminating in the dramatic climax between Frodo and Gollum atop Mount Doom -- while also enjoying over seventy full-page colour paintings and numerous illustrations which accompany this epic tale.
Hardcover, 1504 pages
Published on November 6, 2000 by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN-10: 0007105029
ISBN-13: 9780007105021
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ginnyweasley2
    ginnyweasley2Thursday, September 24, 2020 at 1:58 pm44 stars
    I liked this book but it was a little confusing because I read the last book way after I read the other ones.
    • ladyarwen
      ladyarwenMonday, September 14, 2020 at 4:24 pm55 stars
      This is a great book for advanced readers. The writing style is great, the plot is touching, there's plenty of details, it's just amazing.
      • ironmanx
        ironmanxFriday, June 30, 2017 at 2:52 pm55 stars
        Best Book Ever!!!
        • 42mineturtles
          42mineturtlesFriday, May 13, 2016 at 5:58 pm55 stars
          I really enjoyed this book way more than the movies and found it interesting learning more about Bilbo and Hobbits.
          • lovebooks1
            lovebooks1Thursday, September 3, 2015 at 5:59 am55 stars
            If you love fantasy, action, and are willing to take a few days to read it, this is your book. I love it so far, and the movies are also great to watch.
            • hi Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 7:30 am
              i have read alot of books you made and i love this one the most
              • kwalsh
                Mrs. WalshFriday, February 7, 2014 at 5:25 pm
                The movies are nice, but the books will have details in them that will answer all your questions. Follow Bilbo, Gandalf and the dwarves as they journey far away from the Shire. Then Frodo's journey will shock you with more dangers you ever imagined!
                • mmg
                  mmgTuesday, January 22, 2013 at 1:12 pm
                  I really want to read these books because I am a fantasy girl, and I absolutely love fantasy. From what I know, Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hunger Games lovers will love this series.
                  • soccerwhizMonday, January 7, 2013 at 10:18 am
                    All my friends have read this book, and they all say it's really good. I'm on page 51 out of 300!!!!!!!
                    • rbhansali
                      rbhansaliSaturday, December 8, 2012 at 2:25 pm
                      I am reading this book to be the smartest kid in the school!