Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.859004
Does an abandoned asylum hold the key to a frightful haunting?

Everyone's heard the stories about Graylock Hall.

It was meant to be a place of healing - a hospital where children and teenagers with mental disorders would be cared for and perhaps even cured. But something went wrong. Several young patients died under mysterious circumstances. Eventually, the hospital was shut down, the building abandoned and left to rot deep in the woods.

As the new kid in town, Neil Cady wants to see Graylock for himself. Especially since rumor has it that the building is haunted. He's got fresh batteries in his flashlight, a camera to document the adventure, and a new best friend watching his back.

Neil might think he's prepared for what he'll find in the dark and decrepit asylum. But he's certainly not prepared for what follows him home. . . .

Scary, suspenseful, and surprising, Dan Poblocki's latest ghost story will keep you turning pages deep into the dead of night.
Hardcover, 272 pages
Published on August 1, 2012 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545402689
ISBN-13: 9780545402682
19 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookstory13
    bookstory13Friday, June 29, 2018 at 9:25 am55 starsFeatured
    ​Dear avid horror book readers: Whatever you do, DON'T READ THIS RIGHT BEFORE YOU FALL ASLEEP! The Ghost of Graylock is an amazingly written but terrifying book. It's still good though, so don't let that stop you! I just finished reading it for the fifth time, and I had to read it on my couch curled up with a blanket during the middle of the day. Have you ever heard of the legend of terrifying ghost, Nurse Janet?​ Ventured into the woods to get your taste of the broken down mental hospital, Graylock Hall? These were two of the first things Neil Cady did when he went to stay with his aunts at Hedston after his dad moved out and his mom seeked help. Only, when he visits Graylock, it starts to get kind of creepy. Well, REALLY creepy. Everything seems frozen in time. He gets locked into room number 13 with his sister in the youth section. Suddenly the light on his camera dies. A dark shape crouches in the corner.... Bree seems determined to forget everything about Graylock, but no one can outrun that dark shape in the corner.... BKS reviews
    • protnt88
      protnt88Friday, January 5, 2018 at 5:27 pm
      i want to read this book it look interesting my friends said that this book is so good and creppy
      • unicorn992
        unicorn992Monday, June 12, 2017 at 8:34 pm
        kinda scary but really good
        • gavreed1617
          gavreed1617Thursday, December 8, 2016 at 8:11 amFeatured
          The Ghost of Graylock By Dan Poblocki is about the protagonists Bree and Neil Cady who go and visit with their Aunt's Claire the protagonist and Anna because they are having family troubles. Along the way they meet two kids Wesley and Eric who become their friends. The Four of them have heard about the rumors of Graylock and decided to go and explore an abandoned asylum. Thinking it’s going to be a normal investigation turns out to be the scariest day of their lives. Bree and Neil are haunted by scary nightmares, visions and a ghost who wants people to know about her death. Breaking into houses, going to the library and even going to a retirement home where Janet Reilly, or better known as Nurse Janet is living. Bree and Neil get an unsuspected twist when a friendly neighbor, Andy, turns out to be Rebecca's dad and is also the killer of Rebecca's mom Alice, and even Rebecca. I recommend this book to people that like scary/adventure books.
          • oscar2015
            oscar2015Thursday, June 2, 2016 at 7:10 am
            The Ghost of the Gray luck is a mystical book, it is talking about As the new kid in town, Neil Cady wants to see Graylock for himself. Especially since rumor has it that the building is haunted. He's got fresh batteries in his flashlight, a camera to document the adventure, and a new best friend watching his back. Neil might think he's prepared for what he'll find in the dark and decrepit asylum. But he's certainly not prepared for what follows him home. It is a really cool book, I recommend u to read this awesome book!
            • kuo
              kuoSaturday, September 19, 2015 at 10:42 am55 stars
              I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM ALMOST FINISHED WITH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • rikuhiro
                rikuhiroTuesday, February 10, 2015 at 10:29 pm55 stars
                This got me on the edge of me seat somewhere around the beginning, it's so interesting! I seriously can't stop rereading this.
                • rikuhiro
                  rikuhiroTuesday, February 10, 2015 at 7:59 pm55 stars
                  Right now, I'm enjoying the book. The suspense makes me want to read more and gets me coming back for more. I'd say it's a really good horror novel in my opinion.
                  • snore
                    snoreMonday, June 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm55 stars
                    If you are into scary books,then this is the one for you. Two kids staying with their aunts for the summer,they find out that there is a haunted place. They go and have a look in it with two boys, who are brothers, they go inside a when they come out the is a ghost following them. They helped the ghost and find out what the ghost wants from them.
                    • kk1102
                      kk1102Sunday, March 17, 2013 at 10:05 am55 stars
                      This book is a reel page turner! If they gave out awards for the best page turner this book would win.