The Fairy Tale Detectives (The Sisters Grimm, Book 1)

Book 2 of 10 in the The Sisters Grimm Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 4 - 6U5.256907

With the winning combination of Nancy Drew meets Shrek, this first book in the new Sisters Grimm series will entertain with a hilarious mix of mysteries and fairy tale twists.

In the tradition of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and The Spiderwick Chronicles comes a new humorous mystery of fantastic circumstances. The Sisters Grimm (Book One): The Fairy Tale Detectives introduces us to two orphaned sisters, Sabrina and Daphne, who are sent to live with their mysterious grandmother, Relda Grimm. Grandmother Grimm lives in a strange town in New York State, known for it's extraordinary number of unexplained and unusual crimes. As soon as the sisters arrive, they begin to unravel a mystery that leads to their ancestors' magical beginnings. Sabrina and Daphne learn they are descendants of the Brothers Grimm, who were actually detectives of the magical phenomenon perpetrated by the Everafters, a parallel race of magical beings. They soon discover it is the Grimm family's legacy to keep the Everafters in line and the two sisters are the sole heirs to this challenge!

In this first book in the series, the girls are pitted against giants, who have been rampaging through town in their search for an Englishman named Jack, currently working at the Big & Tall store.

In a new breed of mystery that intermingles humor, excitement, adventure and imagination, The Sisters Grimm Book One: The Fairy Tale Detectives will inject the legends of fairytale with modern day sensibilities and suspense, creating an irresistible combination young readers will love!

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on August 1, 2005 by Harry N. Abrams
ISBN-10: 0810959259
ISBN-13: 9780810959255
93 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • horseridinggirl
    horseridinggirlThursday, June 25, 2020 at 12:20 pm55 stars
    I LOVE the Sisters Grimm. The first book is just as good as all the rest! Sabrina and her sister Daphne, who stay in an orphanage, are sent to live with a crazy old lady who says she's their grandmother. She cooks crazy food, lives in a messy house, and just acts weird in general. After trying to escape from their room, being found, having their window nailed shut, and more, Sabrina and Daphne discover that they're actually related to the brothers Grimm.
    • nac
      nacThursday, May 28, 2020 at 1:42 pm55 stars
      Ever since Sabrina and Daphne's parent's went missing they have been in and out of foster homes, and now they are being sent to live with a grandma which they never knew they had. It turns out the two sister's are descendants of the Grimm brothers, and that the Grimms have kept magical beings and people in line for centuries, and now the job falls to them. Now they must face giants, fairies, Pixies, and discover who is behind all of the criminal happenings in this small town of Everafters. This book reminded me of the Percy Jackson series the way it put a new twist on fairy tales and the modern world, and it was very interesting and a page turner for sure.
      • madisonann
        madisonannWednesday, January 15, 2020 at 4:52 pm55 stars
        THIS IS A ASOWME BOOK. it is full of a little fansasy and lots of adventure and mystery
        • gamergirlMonday, June 17, 2019 at 3:35 pm
          i love this book
          • Jazzy0023Mae004Monday, April 29, 2019 at 2:12 pm
            i think this book has a BRILLIANT plot and is very eye catching:)
            • tapipodokigohy
              tapipodokigohyFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:03 am22 stars
              I read this book for a class assignment and found the plot kind of predictive. I would have wished it to be more mysterious and a more inventive plot. All around it was okay and I would recommend if you love a good fractured tale!
              • y22adiFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:01 am
                This book was good the ending the middle and the end was amazing my favorite part was when Sabrina starts scolding jack about they need to hurry and rescue there grandma
                • ryhakynopiduze
                  ryhakynopiduzeFriday, February 15, 2019 at 11:00 am44 stars
                  I read this book for a reading group and it is really good. I would recommend it for anyone who likes a mystery. The Sisters Grimm has a lot of details and is very interesting. Also if you like fairy tale characters you would like this book.
                  • kilybygiledubi
                    kilybygiledubiFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:58 am55 stars
                    I love the book it is so cool. It's basically about These kids named Sabrina and Daphne and they have to learn how to survive in a orphanage but than they realize that there Grandma, Relda, And they have to fight giants and monsters. It's basically a whole bunch of fairy tale books combined, I love the book and I hope you do too!!!
                    • febywaxokexygo
                      febywaxokexygoFriday, February 15, 2019 at 10:58 am33 stars
                      I think that this book needs a little bit more of a mystery but overall I liked it! It's just that they are just talking about fairy tales so we know how they are going to end. I just think that they need to add more of a mystery to it so that it is more interesting.