Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.073167
In an America devastated by war and plague, the only way to survive is to keep moving.

In the aftermath of a war, America’s landscape has been ravaged and two-thirds of the population left dead from a vicious strain of influenza. Fifteen-year-old Stephen Quinn and his family were among the few that survived and became salvagers, roaming the country in search of material to trade. But when Stephen’s grandfather dies and his father falls into a coma after an accident, Stephen finds his way to Settler’s Landing, a community that seems too good to be true. Then Stephen meets strong, defiant, mischievous Jenny, who refuses to accept things as they are. And when they play a prank that goes horribly wrong, chaos erupts, and they find themselves in the midst of a battle that will change Settler’s Landing--and their lives--forever.
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 1, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545290228
ISBN-13: 9780545290142
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • EndyFriday, April 5, 2019 at 1:48 pm
    This book overall really got me inspired to write my personal dystopian story of the rebelling of Androids in Detroit because of how well it described the world around the main character and all the challenges that lay ahead of him as well as the fight to become civilized in a world that won’t allow it. Stephen is just a 15 year old, but he did things that even the toughest man would shed blood and tears just to do them. He is the prime example of someone who was raised in -and accustomed to- hell who also went through the greatest possible pain of becoming less savage. Though the ending was not as nostalgic as I thought it would be with all the bulging sadness before it, I liked this book and I recommend it to you all, especially for those looking to find out how teens flirt during apocalypses.
    • elliotl20
      elliotl20Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 6:11 am55 stars
      This book is really interesting, this is also set in a post apocalyptic landscape but this time, there was a virus that killed most of the human population and a lot of the survivors became salvagers. Some however were military men or just evil and they had weapons and supplies. It follows the story of Stephen and his father. They get to a village and then there is a big battle that will change their lives. I liked the part when Stephen decides to join in and play with the other kids and hang out. I think that this is a really interesting book, I recommend it.
      • jamesdaniel11
        jamesdaniel11Tuesday, November 17, 2015 at 4:09 pm
        It is sad and a suspensful book.
        • cherrybomb
          cherrybombTuesday, October 20, 2015 at 3:15 pm55 stars
          This is the best book I have ever read. It has action, romance, and disaster.
          • masonpowerz
            masonpowerzTuesday, January 20, 2015 at 5:15 am
            LOVE IT!! The best book I've ever read!
            • animefan3
              animefan3Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 11:58 am55 stars
              This look scarying not really just the cover look scarying
              • animefan3
                animefan3Thursday, October 30, 2014 at 9:26 am55 stars
                This look scarying not really just the cover look scarying
                • edmodo-wxl9afkjbe
                  edmodo-wxl9afkjbeThursday, October 30, 2014 at 9:21 am
                  This book is very descriptive on what is happening. Stephen, in the book, doesn't even know about school or what it is. he has been living through this plague for almost 15 years. Stephen was born one year after the fall. The Chinese started the plague that killed everyone in the u.s. except for a few scavengers and slavers or many other things, but there are only a few left. Stephens grandpa and mom died and his dad fell off a cliff and is about to die . Stephen has never seen what the world was like before the fall. he found a town and is living there until and his dad is better. Stephens dad fell off a cliff because they were being chased and shot at by slavers that had two slaves with them. Stephen is getting help from the town. I have only got to page 102 but there is much more to happen. this book is a great way to improve on writing because the description in the book.
                  • 15lowe
                    15loweThursday, October 3, 2013 at 4:41 pm
                    It is awesome this desease kills the united states with only a few survivors.when a kids dad falls into a coma..... read it
                    • edmodo-ka2hnr6g4t
                      Brenda WaterburyThursday, May 30, 2013 at 9:11 pm55 stars
                      If you like The Hunger Games, you will really like this book. It takes place in a world where the world has been destroyed by a super flu. The main character and his father are scavengers, who find junk and sell it to survive. They discover a utopias community that really is too good to be true. Read the book! I highly recommend it.