Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.861751

All Izzy wants is for something interesting to happen in her sleepy little town. But her wish becomes all too real when a mysterious song floats through the woods and lures her little sister Hen into the forest...where she vanishes. A frantic search leads to a strange hole in the ground that Izzy enters. But on the other side, she discovers that the hole was not a hole, this place is not Earth, and Hen is not lost. She's been stolen away to the land of Faerie, and it's up to Izzy to bring her home.

But inside Faerie, trouble is brewing-and Izzy is in way over her head. A ragtag group of outlaw Changelings offer to help, but she must decide whether a boulder that comes to life, a girl who looks like a ghost, and a boy who is also a stag can help her save Hen before it's too late.

Praise for The Changelings:

"Fresh and imaginative―new inventions on every page. I loved every ingenious twist and turn right up to the wonderfully satisfying ending." ―Katherine Catmull, author of The Radiant Road and Summer and Bird.

"The Changelings is charming! Perfect for readers who love stories full of magic, adventure, mystery and fairies, topped off with a satisfying and very happy ending. Soontornvat's debut sparkles and delights!" ―Nikki Loftin, author of The Sinister Sweetness of Splendid Academy

Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on September 6, 2016 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
ISBN-10: 1492632600
ISBN-13: 9781492632603
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • SaraSunday, September 18, 2016 at 8:00 am
    This book is really amazing and I love it even the movie the book is good.
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileSaturday, September 3, 2016 at 11:02 amFeatured
      Meet Izzy Doyle, an eleven year old, who recently moved to Everton (totally unrelated, but Everton has a store called the Jiggly Goat)... Anyways there is a specific house in Everton that was bequeathed (more like it was forced- you’ll see after you finish reading this book) to Izzy’s father, which is the place where they moved to. According to the cash register in Jiggly Goat, there is a witch, Marian Malloy, and she’s watching out for “faries.” It’s sort of ironic how the cashier said that… Izzy is very determined to find out what exactly does the witch do for fun… I mean does she cast some sort of spell??? As she was “spying” on the witch… Marian Malloy was just washing the dishes! And maybe Hen might have accidentally told on Izzy… And maybe Hen spilled lemonade on Izzy’s book, which induced her to cry out and scream at Hen. The following day- Hen was playing in the woods, but Izzy heard some sort of music “from inside the woods,” but Hen was already gone. DUN DUN DUNNNNNNN. Izzy woke up from her huge headache and found herself in the “witch’s room” aka Marian Malloy. Izzy became cautious after she saw a kindergarten picture of her, but Marian told her that it was her grandmother’s scrapbook (the one who passed away) and that she genuinely cared for both girls- she wanted to protect them. However… remember that music that was going on when Hen disappeared? Well, Izzy hummed the parts she could remember and Marian instantaneously grew pale… Uh oh… Something smells fishy here! As Marian instructed Izzy to go back home as Marian will dutifully bring Hen home, Izzy defiantly did the opposite and followed Marian. She later finds herself stuck with Marian and ends up going to the land of “Farie.” In the land of Farie, there is trouble brewing up… She ended up being chased by Unglers (Unglers are creepy creatures who chase Changlings)... Now who are the Changlings? Well they’re humans who can transmogrify into any animals. *I’m so jealous right now- I want to have those types of power* Izzy meets Lug as they are running for their lives… Lug and Dree takes Izy to their safe haven and Izzy meets Selden… Together they all go on a trip to Avhalon to see what will happen… Izzy later finds out that the Piper is illegally stealing children (ie: Hen) for the Queen… and now Hen is the Queen’s “daughter.” How will this group of outlaws be able to retrieve Hen and find the Queen’s devious plans before it actually comes true? Where are the other Changelings- or are they the only one left? Why did the Piper take Hen? All of these questions can be answered once you read it…. Enjoy! Usually, fantasy and me don’t really match; however this was an amazing book about true friendships and the power of love… I absolutely adored this book… This whimsical and fantastical story will transport you to the land of Farie and will take you on an adventure… This is one story you would not to miss!
      • felicisowl
        felicisowlSaturday, September 3, 2016 at 7:11 pm
        THE JIGGLY GOAT SORRY I CAN'T - YOUR REVIEW WAS GREAT LIKE ALWAYS BUT I NEED THE "JIGGLY GOAT" IN MY LIFE FORGET BURGER KING
        • bibliophile
          bibliophileMonday, September 26, 2016 at 6:45 pm
          HAHA!!! lol... so true... honestly I was so temped to put this as my intro- which is why I did it.. I feel guilty but I couldn't stop myself... Are you watching the first presidential debate??? Ahh I'm listening to it as I'm working on homework... and literally I fear for our country (just kidding)... but still I would have such a hard time if I had to vote XD
          • felicisowl
            felicisowlMonday, September 26, 2016 at 8:48 pm
            I know! I missed it but I might catch it on CNN when I have time - at least the insults are kind of entertaining :)
      • penguin313
        penguin313Sunday, August 28, 2016 at 4:49 pm55 stars
        This book was very enjoyable and was well written. Izzy and her family have moved into the home of her deceased recluse grandmother, and Izzy is told by a local that she was moving next door to a witch. She and her sister, Hen, investigate, but find nothing out. Soon, Hen is lured away by flute music into the forest by the neighbor's house, and Izzy finds out her neighbor was a changeling from a fairy tale world, and she used to be able to shape shift. After crossing over, Izzy is separated from her neighbor, and stumbles upon the last three changelings, Dree, a pale girl who can turn into a butterfly or bird, Lug, who can turn into larger animals such as a ram, and Selden, who can turn into a wolf or stoat. Throughout Izzy's quest to save Hen, you meet many cool and weird creatures that live in the fairy tale world. If you enjoy a fantasy story, I recommend this book.
        • readwriter
          readwriterTuesday, August 23, 2016 at 4:21 pm55 stars
          Izzy and Hen Doyle move to the sleepy town of Everton, where nothing interesting ever happens. At least, not until Hen gets lost in the woods. Izzy is led on an incredible journey in Faerie, a mythical place full of strange yet fascinating creatures. This unpredictable novel is full of twists and turns that keep you flipping pages faster than you'd think possible. It's plot is so twisty and narrow you'll never see what's coming next! I hope someday there'll be a sequel to this outstanding book!
          • snicker9
            snicker9Sunday, August 21, 2016 at 10:30 amFeatured
            Izzy has spent her entire life moving. She lived in 9 different cities in her eleven years. But then when Izzy and her family are given their grandmother's old house, they move for good. But Izzy is not happy, because her grandmother's house is in the middle of nowhere, in a sleepy old town. So she is very interested when the grocer tells her that their new old neighbor is a witch. And then things become even more exciting-but not in a good way. One of days Izzy and Hen hear a strange song in the woods. Izzy is horrified when Hen seems to be enchanted by the song, and follows the song into the forest and disappears. Izzy follows to a hole in the ground and finds herself in the land of Faerie. Faerie is a magical land with different creatures such as goblins, wyverns, changelings and beings filled with magic. But all is not well in Faerie. An evil woman has taken over the kingdom, and is slowly hunted down Changelings to imprison to use for her magic potions. It is up to Izzy to bring Hen home, and help her new friends, a group of hiding Changelings. Things are getting more dangerous each moment, as Izzy discovers secrets about this new world. I really liked learning about different aspects of Faerie, and the Changelings, and the way Faerie works. This book has a place on my special shelf! I recommend this book to fantasy and adventure lovers, and for middle school ages and up. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
            • maddyp18
              maddyp18Thursday, August 18, 2016 at 2:10 pm55 starsFeatured
              The Changelings is one of the best books I've ever read! Izzy and her younger seven year old sister Hen are NOT excited when they find out that they are moving to a boring sleepy town in the middle of nowhere. They are going to live in the girls's grandmothers old house. Izzy's family has lived in 9 different city's, and now Izzy's eleven, and her family is finally settling down for good. When the Doyle family stops at the grocery market for food, on the way to their new home, the grocer tells their family that their next door neighbor is a witch, and he tells them to watch out. When Izzy arrives at their new house, she and her sister instantly begin to spy on their neighbor, Marian Malloy. The girls get into an argument about Izzy including Hen in what Izzy does. The next day, Izzy hears enchanting music and see's Hen getting lured away by it. Izzy tries to follow, but hits her head. She wakes up in Marian Malloys house and finds out that Marian is quite nice. Izzy tells Marian about the music, and Hen, and Marian gets very worried. She tells Izzy to go back to her house, and that she'll look for Hen. But Izzy follows Marian to a strange hole in the ground, and she goes through it to find a whole new world called Faerie on the other end. Izzy finds out that an evil witch named Morvanna took Hen. Also a group of Changelings offer to help Izzy find her sister. But things in Faerie are not perfect. Will Izzy and her new friends save Hen before it's too late, or not? I loved this book so much! The Changelings is an amazing fantasy story, that both boys and girls will love! This book is an adventurous, exciting story, and I love how it portrays sibling love. Izzy is a strong, brave, person, would easily save her friends over herself. I think that the message in this story is to believe in yourself, even if others doubt you. This is definately a big thing in this book, because many people doubted Izzy could save her sister. I hope you like this book as much as I did!