Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.063170
When thirteen-year-old Ronan Truelove’s seemingly ordinary mom snatches him from school, then sets off on a high speed car chase, Ronan is shocked. His quiet, nerdy dad has been kidnapped? And the kidnappers are after him, too?

His mom, he quickly learns, is anything but ordinary. In fact, she’s a member of an ancient order of knights, the Blood Guard, a sword-wielding secret society sworn to protect the Pure—thirty-six noble souls whose safety is crucial if the world as we know it is to survive.

Now all those after-school activities—gymnastics, judo, survival training—she made him take, make sense. For suddenly Ronan is swept up in a sometimes funny, sometimes scary, but always thrilling adventure—dashing from one danger to the next, using his wits to escape the Bend Sinister, a posse of evil doers with strange powers. Falling in with two unlikely companions, Greta, a scrappy, strong-willed girl he’s never much liked and Jack, a devil-may-care teenage pickpocket, Ronan is left with only his wits and his mom’s last words of advice: Trust no one.

That’s a lot for an ordinary kid to deal with. But then again, maybe Ronan’s not ordinary at all.

 

Hardcover, 279 pages
Published on March 4, 2014 by Two Lions
ISBN-10: 1477847251
ISBN-13: 9781477847251
96 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4usa
    4usaSaturday, May 2, 2020 at 5:20 am44 stars
    This is a pretty good book about the adventure of Ronnen (read the book and find out what his real name is) , Greta, and Jack! When Ronnen is picked up from school one day he and his mom are being chased and his mom tells him that she is in a group called the Blood Guard! She tells him that the Blood Guard protect the 36 pure people and when they did before their time the world suffers for it! Now all of his after school activities make sense! She was training him the whole time!
    • 4usa
      4usaWednesday, April 1, 2020 at 2:29 pm44 stars
      This was a pretty great book full of magic, action, and adventure! In my opinion those are the best kind of books so if you like those kind to than I recommend my two favorite series"Keeper of the Lost Cities"and"The 39 Clues"!
      • b-rad210
        b-rad210Monday, October 29, 2018 at 8:03 am44 stars
        I and reading this book because it is GO
        • leahw
          leahwThursday, October 4, 2018 at 12:53 pm55 starsFeatured
          I recommend this book for people who love to read science fiction, magic, and adventure. You never know what is going to happen next or who is going to turn on the main charters. This book was one of the best I have ever read. I would recommend this book for 8 through 13-year-olds. If you also like the book series like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. I think you will really like it.
          • memoiloveit
            memoiloveitMonday, September 5, 2016 at 4:31 am44 stars
            This book starts out normal, until the author adds more action. I recommend it for anyone because it is a mystery and an adventure at the same time.
            • yaya35223
              yaya35223Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 3:24 pm33 stars
              The Blood Guard was a pretty cool book! I really liked the characters! I liked how all the characters had really cool backstories. This book has a lot of adventure!
              • schoolgirl3616
                schoolgirl3616Sunday, September 4, 2016 at 5:27 am
                If you like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson you are going to LOVE it!
                • anagkan
                  anagkanFriday, September 2, 2016 at 6:22 am55 starsFeatured
                  In The Blood Guard, Evelyn (Ronan) Truelove finds out that his mother is part of an ancient order of knights bent on protecting the 36 pure. The 36 pure are the people who are the only people who stand between the world being as it is, and god destroying everything and building a new world again. These 36 special people do not know anything about what a pure is, or that they are a pure. But just as every book, there must evildoers. In this book, those people are the Bend Sinister. The sinister in the Bend Sinister is latin for the word left. The group is bent on murdering enough pure to start a new world. Every time a pure is killed, the world is cast into a dark age until the soul is reincarnated, that is the last safeguard. But now the Bend Sinister has a machine called The Eye of the Needle which can suck out a soul and trap it. This means that enough pure souls are trapped the Sinisters will succeed in destroying the current world and bringing a new one. Ronan Truelove who along the way meets Greta Sustermann who he knew from his old school and is also a pure. At the end, he finds out a sickening secret about his father. The first book of the series is amazing. I would reccomend it to anyone who loves fiction.
                  • coreycole
                    coreycoleWednesday, August 31, 2016 at 11:44 am33 stars
                    i thought i would like this more but i didnt. my mom says give at least two books in a series a chance because the first can be not good but it can get better. im not into this i barly remember the story at all it was kinda everything and nothing at the same time
                    • strawberry1234
                      strawberry1234Tuesday, August 16, 2016 at 3:01 pm44 stars
                      I like this book i am going to read the who;e series if i can . I would recommend this book o anyone. Read this book