The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V6.424130

SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES

Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing?

It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 23, 2003 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060518286
ISBN-13: 9780060518288
199 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • nac
    nacFriday, June 19, 2020 at 7:44 pm55 stars
    Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire, are intelligent children, but their story is full of misfortune, and this book is the beginning of their tragic story. It all starts when their parents perish in a terrible fire, leaving them an enormous fortune that the kids will inherit once Violet comes of age. And now they must move in with their new guardian, Count Olaf. Unfortunately Count Olaf is intent on stealing the Baudelaire's fortune, and he has proved that he will stop at nothing to get his hands on it. As his grand scheme unfolds, the Baudelaires are backed into a corner, and it seems as if they have no chance in getting out of Count Olaf's clutches. The Baudelaires will have to use their skills like never before in order to triumph. This book was surprisingly good, and something interesting is that the narrator, Lemony Snicket, is always telling you to not read this book because it is so sad, and that just makes you want to read it even more. I really enjoyed this book and I looked forward to reading the next books in the series.
    • Violet B.Wednesday, June 17, 2020 at 4:36 pm
      I love the series of unfortunate events I love the books and t.v series and movie. They are better than harry potter to me! I love them. For sure better than anything I have ever read! These books are my favorite.
      • bookfan2008
        bookfan2008Monday, June 8, 2020 at 6:23 am55 stars
        Dear all readers, this is a upgraded review of the review I made down below. Have you read this book? I hope so! And if not, no problem, here is some info about this sad but very good book. This book mostly has unfortunate events. This book is suspeseful and knows how to hook the readers into reading the book farther until the end. This book talks all about the very begining of the very unfortunate life of the bauldaner orphans. One day, when the three siblings, Sunny the youngest who loves to bite things, Klaus the middle child who loves to read, and Violet the oldest who is great at inventing, go to a desserted beach alone. Soon during there trip a nice but weird man named Mr.Poe tells them the horrible news. He says that there parents have died in a horrible fire and are sadly not alive anymore. The bauldaneres are shocked and feel horrible hearing this bad news. Mr Poe also says they have found a far guardian named Count Olaf who agrees to be there legal guardian. The kid have never heard of him and aren't very fond of going. But as I said, this is a unfortunate book with unfortunate events. The very next day the orphans drive over to count olafs house. But Count Olaf isn't at ALL what they thought. Count Olaf is plain HORRIBLE and EVIL. As soon as Mr. Poe leaves his house Count Olaf shows starts showing his evil side. First of all the Bauldaneres have only ONE tiny and I mean tiny bed for all three of them! And also, Count Olaf makes them down the hardest chores for example cut wood and make a full dinner for Count Olaf and his very bad acting crew! The Bauldaneres are having a horrible time with Count Olaf so far as you can see. But basicly only more horrible things happen as they countine to live with him to to tell the truth. I'm not going to give away much more because it would spoil the story. But I hope you decide to read this book because most readers would enjoy this book. And I reccomend this book even more if you love sad, deppresing and unfortunate story's. I give this book 5/5 and I hope you do too. Thank you for reading my review and keep on reading!- bookfan2008
        • Fan boy7Friday, June 5, 2020 at 9:25 am
          I love this book!😀
          • bookfan2008
            bookfan2008Thursday, May 7, 2020 at 11:06 am55 stars
            Very good book! It's about three siblings named Violet, Sunny, and klaus. This is book 1. In this book there whole orphan avventure starts off. The 3 siblings are calmly walking to the beach. After a few minutes at the beach Mr. Poe , a nice man comes and tells them horrible news. He says that there parents have died in a fire and there mansion has burned down too. He says that luckily they have found a far guardian named Count olaf. The siblings are very sad. They stay at the poes's house for the night and right the next day they go to the new guardians house. But this guardian isn't at all what they think...
            • mhkgc235
              mhkgc235Thursday, April 30, 2020 at 10:34 am55 stars
              i love the book series!!!!!!!
              • cupcakeq
                cupcakeqSunday, April 19, 2020 at 1:40 am33 stars
                Let me tell you all about these series. They are very interesting. I've read every book and in each book, there is always a BIG plot twist. I've also watched the Netflix series it's pretty good. I'm not saying don't watch it. I'm saying keep an eye out for the different events. After all, it's called a series of unfortunate events. THX FOR READING!! :D
                • leaverseman
                  leaversemanMonday, April 6, 2020 at 2:40 pm55 stars
                  I love all of the books! Unlike some of the other books I've read, A Series of Unfortunate Events is more 'depressing'. It's about the Baudelaire siblings; violet, Klaus, and Sunny, who after their parents perished in a terrible fire ( if you've read the first book you know why I used that word) and fall into the wrong hands. I love the film series too and I'm currently on the 12th! I totally recommend it!
                  • ekatsaros
                    ekatsarosThursday, March 12, 2020 at 2:44 pm44 stars
                    This book is about how these Baudelaire children are at the beach one day. Then someone comes and tells them that their house has burned into flames so they tried to find out who did it. Since their parents died in the fire they had to have a family member take care of them and it was Count Olaf but he was strange and they have to find out how the fire happened, and how they're related to Count Olaf. I connected to this book by, sometimes things happen and I get really sad but things happen for a reason. I gave this book a 4-star rating because, there was no happy ending.
                    • toono
                      toonoTuesday, December 17, 2019 at 5:31 pm55 stars
                      I love this book!!!! I am currently on book 11 and I love it! It is the mix of sad depressing and orphan if you likke those things this is for you