The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Book 1)

Book 1 of 9 in the Maximum Ride Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 8X4.674752
In James Patterson's blockbuster series, fourteen-year-old Maximum Ride, better known as Max, knows what it's like to soar above the world. She and all the members of the "flock"--Fang, Iggy, Nudge, Gasman and Angel--are just like ordinary kids--only they have wings and can fly. It may seem like a dream come true to some, but their lives can morph into a living nightmare at any time...like when Angel, the youngest member of the flock, is kidnapped and taken back to the "School" where she and the others were experimented on by a crew of wack jobs. Her friends brave a journey to blazing hot Death Valley, CA, to save Angel, but soon enough, they find themselves in yet another nightmare--this one involving fighting off the half-human, half-wolf "Erasers" in New York City. Whether in the treetops of Central Park or in the bowels of the Manhattan subway system, Max and her adopted family take the ride of their lives. Along the way Max discovers from her old friend and father-figure Jeb--now her betrayed and greatest enemy--that her purpose is save the world--but can she?
Paperback, 464 pages
Published on April 1, 2007 by jimmy patterson
ISBN-10: 0316067954
ISBN-13: 9780316067959
102 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Snork Master 7Monday, October 14, 2019 at 10:53 am
    This book is great, it shows real life problems and problems that most "different" kids would face. It is a very interesting book with very life like characters. 5/5 would read again
    • sgoiscool
      sgoiscoolSunday, June 2, 2019 at 5:27 pm55 stars
      The Angel Experiment is WONDERFUL. one of James Patterson's best series. All the characters have their own personality, unlike some books. This book makes you want to read the rest of the series that's how good it is.
      • summer24
        summer24Friday, May 3, 2019 at 2:33 pm55 stars
        this book is absolutely amazing. read the entire series
        • Unicornlover11Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 11:48 am
          I love this book because it is adventurous and awesome.I am in the 5th grade and it was my grade level and was my interest level
          • jdoodles35
            jdoodles35Monday, February 25, 2019 at 12:28 pm55 stars
            I LOVE this this book! This is such an enjoyable read. A lot of problems the charming characters can solve with such intelligence and strength. I love the fact that every character was different. Fang was that kid who was strong, silent, and mature. Nudge was your practical motor mouth, but very sweet. Gazzy was your everyday little boy and Iggy was a classic teen. Angel...your average sweetheart! And Max...a hero. Destined to save Earth. But then they went to the School and got wings!!!! Your everyday kid just turned into a mutan freak!
            • KellyTuesday, February 12, 2019 at 6:55 pm
              It’s so good I mean at first I thought it won’t be that interesting but then I read the whole book of number 1 then I started to read all of them they are so interesting but then my friends started getting in too cuz it was super and now I LOVE to read
              • peterconlow
                peterconlowThursday, January 18, 2018 at 11:31 am55 stars
                OMG! I love this book! I found it by chance, but it the best book I have ever read! Read this book NOW! And I mean it!
                • jojo3978
                  jojo3978Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 8:01 am
                  I have someone in my class reading the book she says It is super intresting and i am going to read it.:)
                • ninislitdoe
                  ninislitdoeThursday, December 21, 2017 at 7:05 pm55 stars
                  I never really like si-fi, and a friend recommend this book to me, and it was so good i got all the books.
                  • nguyennhiusa
                    nguyennhiusaThursday, October 5, 2017 at 4:07 pm55 stars
                    A really great way to start the book series. Read later on to find out what happen to Max. The series is amazing!
                    • MathiasMonday, September 25, 2017 at 12:28 pm
                      God bok