Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 4 - 8X6.485926
Nicholas Flamel appeared in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter—but did you know he really lived? And he might still be alive today! Discover the truth in Michael Scott’s New York Times bestselling series the Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel with The Alchemyst, book one.

The truth: Nicholas Flamel was born in Paris on September 28, 1330.

The legend: Nicholas Flamel discovered the secret of eternal life.

The records show that he died in 1418.
But his tomb is empty.
Nicholas Flamel lives. But only because he has been making the elixir of life for centuries.
The secret of eternal life is hidden within the book he protects—the Book of Abraham the Mage. It's the most powerful book that has ever existed. In the wrong hands, it will destroy the world. That's exactly what Dr. John Dee plans to do when he steals it. Humankind won't know what's happening until it's too late. And if the prophecy is right, Sophie and Josh Newman are the only ones with the power to save the world as we know it.
Sometimes legends are true. And Sophie and Josh Newman are about to find themselves in the middle of the greatest legend of all time.

[A] A riveting fantasy…While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias…those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read.”—SLJ, Starred

Read the whole series!
The Alchemyst
The Magician
The Sorceress
The Necromancer
The Warlock
The Enchantress
Hardcover, 400 pages
ISBN-10: 0385612931
ISBN-13: 9780385612937
31 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • abi_k_12
    abi_k_12Thursday, January 23, 2020 at 11:16 am44 stars
    Sophie and Josh are normal twins living in San Francisco when everything changes. They meet Nicholas Flamel, and they find out that they both may be in a prophecy written thousands of years ago. They must fight to stop the Dark Elders from returning to earth, but Dr. John Dee, the man they are fighting, tries to turn Josh at his weakest point to his side, and tells him that Flamel is not who he says he is. I connected to this book because I know what its like to feel left out. I give this book 4 stars because it is a good book, but it has a lot going on all at the same time.
    • lucasb2007
      lucasb2007Friday, May 26, 2017 at 5:18 pm55 stars
      It was fun to read about magical things happening to ordinary people. I also think it is cool to read about characters that are also in or mentioned in the Harry Potter books. My family enjoys magical books and this one is great so we started reading the next one right after.
      • pianist360
        pianist360Friday, May 12, 2017 at 8:55 am
        I am reading this book now and so far the idea seems so cool! I am at page 83 and the idea seems so creative. I also have seen that it is a series of books, and this series reminds me of the Lord of the Rings, but personally I like this a bit better.
        • aleezay
          aleezayTuesday, November 15, 2016 at 1:23 am
          I have read alchemist.it is awesome book although the english written in this book was difficult.the book inspired me very much that we can do anything if we discover our capabilities
          • eyp
            eypThursday, September 22, 2016 at 9:47 am55 stars
            This is a book where you pick it up and never put it down until you are finished.
            • kishan
              kishanTuesday, March 8, 2016 at 8:53 am
              The Alchemist This book is extraordinary and a one-of-a- kind read that will amaze you from start to finish. “The Alchemyst by Michael Scott” is a fantasy book that you can never put down. I absolutely love this book and it definitely deserves full stars on any review. This book heavily focuses on magic used by the being's Aura which is the invisible life energy source for every living being and overusing it results in SHC or spontaneous human combustion. The 3 main characters of the book have pure auras are the trio of Sophie and Josh Newman with the legendary Nicholas Flamel. This book also focuses on the Elder race who are comprised of gods from around the world such as Odin, Mars, Osiris, and the main elder of the story Hecate the Greek god of Magic. Nicholas Flamel is a real rumor in the world because when he supposedly died in 1418 his coffin was empty and there was no evidence of grave robbery. In the book he is the guardian of the epic book of Abraham the Mage. The series circulates around the fact that Sophie and Josh are the twins of legend and they were made to foil the dark elders who believe the elders should come back into the realm of reality in steads of living in their own. The twins were destined to save the world by destroying another island known as Danu Talis or in our world Atlantis. Most of the book occurs in San Francisco or in Hecate's realm of reality where she teaches the twins to use their auras. I love this book because it dives into so many mythologies and shows me how diverse the ideas of the world really are. I also like this book because it sets up so many mysteries for the rest of the series. This book is similar to popular to the Percy Jackson series in the respect that they both dive into mythology. This is Michael Scott’s only series but is amazing. I believe the type of reader who would enjoy this book is some who enjoys reading about Mythology and enjoys a fantasy that explores connections in every way.
              • optimistic-edit
                optimistic-editFriday, February 27, 2015 at 4:49 am44 stars
                this book is really good! it is about Nicholas flamel and how he has lived forever, but a magical book has been stolen and his wife! two twins who witnessed the accident try to save their world.
                • readerboyWednesday, February 11, 2015 at 9:24 am
                  i am only half interested
                  • ccgirl02655
                    ccgirl02655Thursday, January 29, 2015 at 5:56 pm
                    Isn't Nicholas Flamel from Harry Potter?
                    • eyp
                      eypThursday, September 22, 2016 at 5:02 pm55 stars
                      Nicholas Flamel was a real person but when he died people thought he was an alchemist. J.K Rowling just put Nicholas Flamel as a character who made the philosopher's stone.
                      • eyp
                        eypThursday, September 22, 2016 at 9:50 am55 stars
                        This series is all about nicholas flamel,perenelle flamel, and Josh and Sophie Newman. The Flamels think that they are the twins of the legend to stop the Dark elders from taking over the world.
                      • rhiannonhayesmcqueen
                        rhiannonhayesmcqueenFriday, January 23, 2015 at 2:38 pm55 stars
                        harry potter and Nicolis Flamel series are written by two different people but are both amazing. i recommend both to anyone and everyone