A King's Ransom (The 39 Clues: Cahills vs. Vespers, Book 2)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.239894
Amy and Dan are in a race for their lives . . . and the enemy may be even closer than they think.

When seven members of their family were kidnapped by a sinister organization known as the Vespers, thirteen-year-old Dan Cahill and his older sister, Amy, vowed they'd stop at nothing to bring the hostages home. But then the ransom comes in and the Vespers demand the impossible. Amy and Dan have just days to track down and steal an ancient map. The only catch? No one has seen the map for half a century.

Now Amy and Dan are on a desperate search that will lead them to the Nazis, spies, a mad king and some of history's dirtiest secrets. It's the race of their lives . . . and one misstep will mean certain death for the hostages.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on December 6, 2011 by Scholastic Press
ISBN-10: 0545298407
ISBN-13: 9780545298407
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • vikkstar
    vikkstarMonday, March 9, 2015 at 3:43 pm55 stars
    This book is so good
    • ikyra_marie
      ikyra_marieFriday, February 14, 2014 at 9:21 am
      I love the 39 clues books they are really good
      • noa253
        noa253Sunday, October 20, 2013 at 8:06 am55 stars
        amasing book! I like all 39 clues books. their so interesting:) you can sit hours and read them! grate book, 5 stars
        • tadashawalters
          tadashawaltersMonday, March 4, 2013 at 9:18 am55 stars
          i love 39 Clues book
          • lovessTuesday, January 29, 2013 at 2:25 pm
            i love the 39 cules i'm on book 11 can't wait to read the 6 new ones Amy Dan you rock
            • DarkLucas4Tuesday, May 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm
              It's an amazing book! I recommend anyone looking for a great book to read, to read this book. It's worthwhile.
              • katjune62
                katjune62Wednesday, May 9, 2012 at 6:41 pm55 stars
                This book is great!!! It takes the 39 Clues to the next level. I know what you're thinking, "Oh, how can it get more dangerous and extreme than the vicious hunt for the ultimate power?" Well, super smart Amy and Dan Cahill, along with a band of some other relatives, travel to Italy to follow the orders of an evil anonymous person known as Vesper One, (highest chair in the ruthless and dangerous Vesper organization), who has kidnapped seven relatives and threatens to kill every one of them. (He's not joking! He already shot their au pair, Nellie, who luckily survived.) This book is full of surprises!
                • marvin
                  marvinTuesday, April 24, 2012 at 1:07 pm
                  this book is great because a brother and sister have to search for their grandmother's will and their competing against their family members and other people.
                  • kami10
                    kami10Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 8:36 pm55 stars
                    This book is amazing and I can't wait to read the next one! I don't want to give anything away so read it to find a book full of action, mystery, and an ending FULL of suspense
                    • izzysk8er
                      izzysk8erFriday, March 16, 2012 at 8:22 pm55 stars
                      though i haven't read this book yet, i bet it is amazing because of the summary and the "cahills vs. vespers" series.