Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grade KGuided Reading: V 0.073053

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired the Choose Kind movement.

I won't describe what I look like. Whatever you're thinking, it's probably worse.

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

"Wonder is the best kids' book of the year," said Emily Bazelon, senior editor at Slate.com and author of Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy. In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. R.J. Palacio has called her debut novel “a meditation on kindness” —indeed, every reader will come away with a greater appreciation for the simple courage of friendship. Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on February 14, 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375969020
ISBN-13: 9780375869020
3741 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ChickenuggetsSaturday, November 16, 2019 at 10:39 am
    I love this book. It was so awesome to read. I think that it does not matter how you look, and it is not fair if you are treated badly just because you look different. Choose to be nice and don't judge people.because of their appearance. Overall, this book is one of my all time favorites.
    • bookwave
      bookwaveWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 5:42 am55 stars
      I loved how Auggie didn't let his face defeat him at the end. His face is weird, but weird is just another word for unique. I loved the book. It was marvelous! I have already read this book three times. I recommend this book to everyone. this book shows that being different is stupendous.
      • narutouser11
        narutouser11Monday, November 11, 2019 at 2:38 pm55 stars
        I hate when he has to play dodge ball but i love when he had gotten into a fight eh
        • moonlightwolf
          moonlightwolfThursday, November 7, 2019 at 10:56 am55 stars
          I love this book. It is really sad that Auggie is bullied.
          • LOL BOY#1Thursday, November 7, 2019 at 8:46 am
            I LOVE this book because the lesson of the story is don't judge the way people look. Also look out for the sad parts.
            • elevatecamp
              elevatecampMonday, November 4, 2019 at 12:47 pm55 stars
              I love this book so much its very inspiring
              • hogwarts123
                hogwarts123Friday, October 25, 2019 at 7:14 am55 stars
                It is a really great book but beware it is a book that will make you cry!
                • HiSaturday, October 19, 2019 at 3:23 pm
                  Beautiful. Despite August's Face deformity, he managed to keep up.
                  • AvaLIA&KialSaturday, October 19, 2019 at 12:50 pm
                    Wonder is One of those books that teach kids important things in life like what is it called again...*a few minutes later* Yes it's a Moral A Moral is when a book has somebody who or a animal that is not capable of doing something others can,and then you learn that No matter what yoU can or can't do your always special and unique. Wonder is one of the best stories with the best Moral or character trait and morals always have a character trait. Wonder is a great book to teach kids about Being different and being kind to others who are different but they are not different there just unique or they just are not there YET. Some people can't do something you can do because there not there YET you will be there one day always remember to be happy and don't treat others differently.If you are the different one Don't worry you'll get there I know it!!!
                    • megnog
                      megnogThursday, October 17, 2019 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                      "Wonder" is an amazing book. It shows you that, just because someone looks different doesn't mean they should be treated different. This book gives, I think, very good advice, "when given the choice to be right or to be kind, choose kind.". This book may seem like it just is one of those books that seem to be giving you a lecture but, it is so much more than that. It shows you how words, nice or not, can change a person's thinking. This book deserves all the attention it gets and more, and is by far a favorite of mine. ~ Meg