The Brightest Night (Wings of Fire, Book 5)

Book 5 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.574378
The dragonets struggle to fulfill the prophecy and -- somehow -- end the war in this thrilling new installment of the bestselling WINGS OF FIRE series!

It all comes down to this: The Dragonets of Destiny must finally bring the epic war to an end, reconcile the seven tribes, and choose the next queen of Pyrrhia... and make it out alive.
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on April 28, 2015 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545349273
ISBN-13: 9780545349277
60 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • dogo_maniac
    dogo_maniacThursday, July 23, 2020 at 9:35 am55 stars
    It was on of the best in the series just because I really like Sunny
    • squirrelflight
      squirrelflightWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 11:18 am55 stars
      A heartwarming and beautiful story...packed with adventure, this book will blow you away on an amazing thrill ride! A must-read. The dragon world has now become a place of lies. An old prophecy has been found out to be a fake, and the treacherous dragons who delivered it are not who they seem. But for Clay, Glory, Tsunami, Starflight, and Sunny, the truth has become a shattering betrayal. These were the dragons from the false prophecy, foretold to bring a lasting peace and save everyone. But some dragons cannot accept their fate. Sunny, the youngest and smallest of the five dragonets, knows the prophecy has a hidden meaning--and she's going to find out what it is. As she and the others uncover more secrets, they must find out what lies in their future. Read this book to find out what happens!
      • lpsbrooklyn11
        lpsbrooklyn11Friday, December 27, 2019 at 7:18 pm55 stars
        Ok, so first of all, I want to tell you that I will spoil a few things so, SPOILER ALERT!!!! Ok so I just was really excited because since I started reading the book, the title role me that the war was going to end, in the prophecy page it said that on the brightest night, the war would end twenty years after on the brightest night. So the most interesting part was when the war was ending, the first time the three SandWing sisters saw each other in twenty years. So Burn, the oldest an strongest, was the first to die. Blister have her a present she would have loved it it was dead, but it was alive, the one and only snake that was strong enough to kill a dragon, so it but Burn on the ankle and the venom from its range killed her. Blister, my favorite, died second. The Eye of Onyx decides whether the royal dragon holding it was good enough to be queen. So Sunny told her mother, Thorn, that she would be a great queen, that Blaze was too dumb and Blister was too cruel. So she took he Eye and sadly, she died. So since Blaze was too dumb, Thorn became queen. At least Queen Thorn is a good queen, but I truly preferred Queen Blister, she would have been the MOST AMAZING QUEEN IN THE HISTORY OF PYRRHIA!!!!!!! GO BLISTER!!!!! .😢 thank you so much for following me!!! Bye my amazing followers!!!! I love DOGO news, don't you? You: YES!! yayeet! Ok bye!!
        • dragons4life
          dragons4lifeThursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:42 pm55 stars
          I think this is the best book in the series [I read the series and cant wait for book 14!] because its through sunny's amazing point of view and sunny is a very happy, funny character who i feel i know in person! I highly recommend this book!
          • YeetboisThursday, November 7, 2019 at 11:21 am
            It is amazing. I've read the book almost 80 times, and I am always entertained.
            • juhefere-156934617400
              juhefere-156934617400Friday, November 1, 2019 at 4:02 pm55 stars
              This book keeps you at the edge of your seat. But make sure you start from the beginning 😁
              • kailyn6b
                kailyn6bFriday, October 18, 2019 at 7:47 am55 stars
                Poor sunny.She is always misunderstood.Find her view point of the story and see if she is really only a little bundle of kindness,like her friends think, or can she take care of herself and stop the war.
                • turtleanimus777
                  turtleanimus777Monday, October 7, 2019 at 7:42 pm55 stars
                  This book gives readers a peek into the mind of Sunny, who is the second of the dragonets of destiny to find both parents (sane, that is). Sunny shows us that she is more than she is portrayed to be in the first four books and seen to be by her friends. This proves to readers that optimism may be necessary at some times, but faith will always see you through.
                  • AlexSaturday, July 20, 2019 at 5:54 am
                    Love this book. Very heart warming and sweet and very evil and nefarious. I enjoyed it sooo much!
                    • JeffFriday, June 28, 2019 at 12:10 am
                      I love the book every chapter makes me want to read more.