Moon Rising (Wings of Fire, Book 6)

Book 6 of 13 in the Wings of Fire Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.370010
The New York Times-bestselling series soars to even greater heights with a new prophecy and five new dragonets ready to claim their destiny!

Peace has come to Pyrrhia . . . for now.

The war between the tribes is finally over, and now the dragonets of the prophecy have a plan for lasting peace: Jade Mountain Academy, a school that will gather dragonets from all the tribes and teach them to live together, perhaps even as friends.

Moonwatcher isn’t sure how she feels about school, however. Hidden in the rainforest for most of her life, the young NightWing has an awful secret. She can read minds, and even see the future. Living in a cave with dozens of other dragons is noisy, exhausting--and dangerous.

In just a few days, Moon finds herself overwhelmed by her secret powers and bombarded by strange thoughts, including those of a mysterious dragon who might be a terrible enemy. And when someone starts attacking dragons within the academy, Moon has a choice to make: Stay hidden and safe? Or risk everything to save her new friends?
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 28, 2016 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545685362
ISBN-13: 9780545685368
54 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • not_imposter
    not_imposterWednesday, September 30, 2020 at 3:27 pm55 stars
    This is a great book, starts off kind of sad but slowly goes into a story only where you can experience in your sleep. I recommend reading it when your stuck in quarantine.
    • alphacloudmike
      alphacloudmikeThursday, September 17, 2020 at 12:12 pm55 stars
      Moon doesn't like school. She likes to be in her mother's arms. She's is nervous about everything. But for one reason: She can mind read and see the future. She communicates with a mysterious dragon who might be a terrible enemy. It is very nice and I like Moon's appearance.
      • squirrelflight
        squirrelflightThursday, July 16, 2020 at 12:31 pm55 stars
        Do you ever imagine what it would be like to become a dragon? Do you have the wildest dreams of living in a dragon world? If you do, this book is definitely for you! Wings of Fire is guaranteed to satisfy you with the sweet twist of a great book. Moonwatcher has always lived a fairly happy life—with all the food she could eat, away from the other dragons of her tribe, who would do anything to expose her and her mother, Secretkeeper. That is, until her whole world turns upside down. Until she’s discovered in the rainforest by her tribe, and becomes an outcast. In a whirlwind of preparation, Moonwatcher is whisked away to Jade Mountain Academy, a school for young dragons...and fitting in is much harder than she thought. Soon, she finds herself overwhelmed with everything that goes on at the academy—and to make matters worse, she’s a mind reader who has to hide her powers! Then, when a mysterious dragon from within Jade Mountain starts to attack the others, she must make a choice; stay safe in her own shadow? Or risk her life to save her new friends? Which one will she choose? Read this book to find out!
        • ThisBookIsEpicWednesday, April 8, 2020 at 1:53 pm
          I just love this book! It's so good! I read the other series! READ THEM ALLLLLL!!!
          • lpsbrooklyn11
            lpsbrooklyn11Tuesday, December 31, 2019 at 7:11 pm55 stars
            Ok I'm just going to tell you that I've read the series before and it was good, so I'm reading it again. After the war ended, the dragonets of Destiny made a school that is for all Dragon tribes. In each class, there are one or each tribe. They all have to get along and understand that they are basically the same. So them a mysterious Dragon talks to Moonwatcher in her thought, and yes, I already know who this Dragon is. SPOILER ALERT!!!! It's Darkstalker. Find out way more when you read this book!! Love ya, bye!!!
            • shadowmaster
              shadowmasterSunday, November 24, 2019 at 9:27 am55 stars
              This is my favorite book. Moonwatcher or just Moon is a Nightwing. They are said to have powers but we’re lying. Then it turns out Moon has powers of reading minds and telling prophecys. She and her friends go on a crazy adventure to help free Darkstalker and save the kingdom.
              • chocolate168
                chocolate168Sunday, November 17, 2019 at 2:17 am55 stars
                This book is amazing!!!
                • chocolate168
                  chocolate168Saturday, November 16, 2019 at 5:02 pm55 stars
                  This book is about how Moonwatcher tries to fit in & make friends while hiding her secret powers.
                  • dragons4life
                    dragons4lifeThursday, November 7, 2019 at 2:44 pm55 stars
                    I love this book second best because moon is like me, shy, funny, and most of all just trying to fit in! I love this book and highly recomend it!
                    • turtleanimus777
                      turtleanimus777Monday, October 7, 2019 at 7:45 pm55 stars
                      Moon proves that most people are good deep down. She can see into minds and the future, and even though some believe those powers would make her turn from other dragons, she stands brave through all sorts of evil alongside her friends.