Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 7Grades 3 - 8V5.341905
Publication Date: 2000

Winner of the Pura Belpré Medal for outstanding children's literature that celebrates the Latino/a cultural experience.

Paperback, 262 pages
Published on September 27, 2016 by Scholastic
ISBN-10: 043912042X
ISBN-13: 9780439120425
135 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chocolate168
    chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:58 am55 stars
    This book is inspiring. I would recommend it to those who are in a situation that to them seems impossible.
    • chocolate168
      chocolate168Monday, November 18, 2019 at 12:55 am55 stars
      This book is amazing!!! I love it!!! 😍
      • chocolate168
        chocolate168Saturday, November 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
        An amazing and emotional book. The story shows how Esperanza grows and matures to become a strong & wonderful person.
        • casrui1
          casrui1Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 7:57 pm55 stars
          An emotional story when a girl named Esperanza life is taking turns into a dark place when she is very young. Very great book also teaches you a lesson why you should be grateful for the things you have in your life.
          • acalzoa
            acalzoaMonday, October 14, 2019 at 3:38 pm55 stars
            This book was pretty good. I like how it hard for Esperanza to do it. When her mom got very sick for 5 months I though she wouldn't make it but she did. In my head I felt bad for Esperanza but she is a strong one
            • addy-kaylynn
              addy-kaylynnSunday, July 21, 2019 at 5:19 am55 stars
              I read this book with my mom and my friends. I was like this book is so good. I could not stop reading it. It pulled my heartstrings but it just kept getting better. No matter how good it was, every single chapter steps up 100 percent.
              • applemango
                applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 5:21 pm55 stars
                Her father has suddenly been killed by bandits....on her birthday...and now her mother has to marry their uncle, Tio Luis which they all hate. She suddenly has to escape as a peasant, to america with her mom and others. Her grandmother has to stay behind because of her cuts when they woke up to a fire. She escapes and finds out that the boys have brought the roses in relation to her father. Esperanza has trouble with accepting the peasant life. Her friends and mom help her and the story ends with Esperanza meeting her grandmother again.
                • ccswishingstar
                  ccswishingstarSunday, June 16, 2019 at 3:09 pm55 stars
                  Esperanza Rizing is an amazing book! It is about a rich girl in Mexico named Esperanza that loses her father the day before her birthday. Esperanza, her mother and their servants leave Mexico and into the United States of America to work in the fields..
                  • applebutter
                    applebutterSaturday, June 8, 2019 at 3:51 pm33 stars
                    this sounds like a really good book. I love historical fiction books. they always inspire me.
                    • inmemoryofcpr
                      inmemoryofcprTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 5:38 pm55 stars
                      When Esperanza's father abruptly dies, all of her family's money disappears. Now she and her mother must go with her father's friends's families to work in a plantation, while she struggles to adapt to the hard work. I would recommend this for ages 9+ This book was really enjoyable and it was nicely lightly sprinkled with romance. I liked how the author displayed life on the plantations really well. because while I was reading this, a picture appeared in my mind. I would definitely recommend this.