Two brothers will need all their wilderness skills to survive when they set off into the woods of Wyoming in search of their absent father.

Jake and Taylor Wilder have been taking care of themselves for a long time. Their father abandoned the family years ago, and their mother is too busy working and running interference between the boys and her boyfriend, Bull, to spend a lot of time with them. Thirteen-year-old Jake spends most of his time reading. He pours over his father’s journal, which is full of wilderness facts and survival tips. Eleven-year-old Taylor likes to be outside playing with their dog, Cody, or joking around with the other kids in the neighborhood.

But one night everything changes. The boys discover a dangerous secret that Bull is hiding.

And the next day, they come home from school to find their mother unconscious in an ambulance. Knowing they are no longer safe and with nowhere else to go, the Wilder Boys head off in search of their father. They only have his old letters and journal to help them, but they have to make it.

It’s a long journey from the suburbs of Pittsburgh to the wilderness of Wyoming; can the Wilder Boys find their father before Bull catches up with them?
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on August 8, 2017 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 148143263X
ISBN-13: 9781481432634
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ConThursday, January 28, 2016 at 9:58 am
    I like the book but they should make a movie about it
    • bookworm890
      bookworm890Wednesday, September 30, 2015 at 4:47 pm
      This is a story of survival, family bonds, and the trials of life that come between them. When something happens to their mother, Jake and Taylor trek across the country to find their father. Full of non-stop action, Wilder Boys is a sure hit for fans of Hatchet.
      • inventor60
        inventor60Monday, September 21, 2015 at 6:51 pm44 stars
        Jake and Taylor know they are no linger safe.... the other day they had found their mother unconscious and now Bull, her boyfriend and the number one suspect to their mother's state, is behind their backs. They must find their father and fast.
        • sadier
          sadierSunday, September 13, 2015 at 6:11 pm33 stars
          love mysteries and wilder boys and navy drew are in my top ten mysteries of ym life love them soooo much would definently read to my siblings.
          • olliebob
            olliebobTuesday, September 1, 2015 at 4:07 pm
            I won this as a prize book, and I cant wait to read it.
            • ijzhang
              ijzhangFriday, August 28, 2015 at 7:27 am44 stars
              I enjoyed reading Wilder Boys. It's about these two brothers, Jake and Taylor, who's mom is really sick and who's dad left their home in Pittsburgh several years earlier to go explore the wilderness in Wyoming. When they discover a dangerous secret that Bull, their mother's boyfriend, is hiding, they decide they have no choice but to go find their dad with only his old letters and journal to help them. It's a long and dangerous journey in the wilderness, and, what's more, people are looking for them. I thought it was really exciting and adventurous.
              • yaya35223
                yaya35223Thursday, August 27, 2015 at 11:05 am44 stars
                The Wilder boys is such a good book! The characters are so lifelike! I love how they put survival skills into the book! I loved this book!
                • kitkat1998
                  kitkat1998Saturday, August 22, 2015 at 3:32 pm33 stars
                  This is an interesting story about two brothers who run away to find their estranged father. It is pretty well done, except the ending screams at you to buy the next book.
                  • genius1326
                    genius1326Wednesday, July 1, 2015 at 6:11 pm55 stars
                    Great book, about adventure and mystery, two boys leave home with few supplies and a dog. It was really funny and good, but a lot of parts where the characters discover a secret.
                    • ejvarga
                      ejvargaSunday, June 21, 2015 at 2:21 pm
                      Wilder Boys looks like an adventurous journey though the woods search for someone or something. I enjoy reading books like Wilder Boys. It looks REALLY good to read over the summer!!!! :)

                      More TopicsView in 3D