Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6U5.662751

Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter's Warriors series a #1 national bestseller! Epic adventures. Fierce Warrior cats. A thrilling fantasy world. It all begins here with Warriors #1: Into the Wild.

For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their ancestors. But the warrior code is threatened, and the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger. The sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying—and some deaths are more mysterious than others.

In the midst of this turmoil appears an ordinary housecat named Rusty . . . who may turn out to be the bravest warrior of them all.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Paperback, 320 pages
Published on March 17, 2015 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062366963
ISBN-13: 9780062366962
449 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • Grace KuTuesday, September 22, 2020 at 7:06 pm
    Wonderful! The Erin Hunter group has made a total of 62 warrior books, all amazing, but none compared to the first chapter - the originals - and especially the first book. This one. Legit, fabulous.
    • aaa57
      aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:12 am55 stars
      I have read pretty much every Warriors book ever and love them! If you like Wings of Fire or Percy Jackson this nips definitely a must read!
      • sydsilver
        sydsilverFriday, September 4, 2020 at 7:28 am55 stars
        I love it and It's hard to believe that Rusty (Firepaw) was a kittypet but in the new books he is the most famous Warrior in the forest! Firepaw/Firestar/Rusty is my favorite Warrior!
        • aaa57
          aaa57Friday, September 11, 2020 at 9:14 am55 stars
          I agree! An he actually has four names Rusty, Firepaw, Fireheart then Firestar.
        • cutepiggy
          cutepiggyFriday, September 4, 2020 at 2:06 am55 stars
          You should definitely read this! Just a little tip! So the main character is Rusty and there is 5 or 6 clans! At the 6 book, the darkest hour there is bloodclan and they fight.😄
          • fightercat13
            fightercat13Friday, August 28, 2020 at 4:30 am55 stars
            this is the first book in the series and it was very exiting and fun lots of secrets and things and you can read it a million times and still not get bored with it.
            • reader56
              reader56Friday, August 7, 2020 at 8:33 am55 stars
              It is a good fiction book and I recommend it because it is the start of a new great series
              • ravenpaw51
                ravenpaw51Tuesday, July 28, 2020 at 9:59 am55 stars
                If you LOVE cats then you should read this very book. It's the very first one of the whole inter book series! A friend of mine introduced me to these books and know I LOVE them!! Thank you! Rusty, a kitty-pet, goes and explores the forest all by himself and but then, Graypaw jumps out and starts tacking him! When Gray-paw's Mentor; Lionheart, steps up and they freeze. Read more to find what happens next! Wish you guys the best of luck and hope you get the chance read this book and continue on with Firepaw's adventure. DO NOT READ IF YOU DON'T WANT A SPOILER!!! Through out the books, Rusty's name will chance once he's a apprentice, warrior, and even the ThunderClan leader! Her are his names: Rusty> Fiepaw> FireHeart> Firestar
                • squirrelflight
                  squirrelflightWednesday, July 1, 2020 at 11:44 am55 stars
                  An amazing book, packed with thrill and a heart-pounding adventure...beautifully written! Rusty is a house cat who dreams of exploring the wild. He is willing to brave the dangers of the forest, and knows he must see it for himself. One day, he meets a wild cat named Bluestar...who makes an offer that will change his life forever. When Rusty finds out about the Clans--cats who live in the forest and hunt fot themselves--he must make the decision of leaving his friends, or living the confined life of a house cat, never knowing what lies beyond. Bluestar offers to train him as a Clan cat...and Rusty agrees, changing his name to Firepaw and leaving his old life behind. But he meets new challenges everyday, and must face them--or die trying. Can Firepaw really settle down in the Clans? Read this book to find out!
                  • JayfeatherSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 3:01 am
                    It's amazing!😻 I've been reading for a year now. I've read 50 books. But it is NOT for sensetive children. It can be quite gorey like there's loads of death and blood. But keep reading, even after a terrible death like Sparkpelts mate died right in front of her while she was kitting. Parents might be worried about kids reading Thea's violent books.
                    • greendogo
                      greendogoThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:30 pm55 stars
                      This is probably my favorite book of all time. I would give this more than 5 stars if I could.