Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 10, 2012 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803736703
ISBN-13: 9780803736702
237 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • armcginn
    armcginnTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 4:39 pm44 stars
    This book was well... OK ,it could have been a better it was probably my least favorite book I have read through Dogo Books this summer, I found it disappointing, I was hoping for a lot more excitement and adventure, I found this book dull and boring.
    • ajg15
      ajg15Tuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:23 am44 stars
      Mo (Moses) LeBeau is your average sixth grade girl, except 11 years ago in the worst hurricane in history and washed up in North Carolina. She has been raised by The Colonel and Miss Lana this entire time. All Mo wants is to find her upstream Mother , people in her little town are very kind and throw messages in bottles when they leave town of other little outings. But when a cranky man in town shows up dead...(murdered) Mo and her best friend Dale solve the biggest mystery yet. Great book I think a part 2 would be cool. Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
      • jwarne
        jwarneFriday, August 3, 2018 at 11:40 am55 stars
        After reading this I wanted to be a Desperado Detective! I would be Mo, though, because she was the funniest and the leader. This book was so funny. I didn't want Mo to find her upstream mom because I love her family the way it is.
        • auntieb
          auntiebWednesday, August 1, 2018 at 8:59 am44 stars
          Three Time Lucky is a book about a girl named Moses -aka Mo- who was washed ashore onto Tupelo Landing by a hurricane 11 years ago. This book is about the murder that happens at Tupelo Landing the Colonel's true identity and Mo's upstream mother!
          • pizzagirl7
            pizzagirl7Tuesday, July 31, 2018 at 12:17 pm33 stars
            Three times lucky///ok this was not a bad book but not a great book I would read it again let's just say that this book was funny there was suspense it was good! Ok so mo washed up ashore in tupelo landing, North Carolina 11 years ago (different part➡➡➡) no and her friend Dale solve a murder and a kidnapping and while doing so they went through tornados and more .it was a pretty good book I recommend it to preteens and I rate it 3stars
            • soffles
              sofflesMonday, July 30, 2018 at 6:38 am55 stars
              This book was AMAZING!! I read this online and my brother and sister started saying that I was obsessed with the laptop because I was reading so much. When I finished it I immediately got the other books in the series.
              • DevenFriday, July 27, 2018 at 10:12 am
                I really like this book
                • sports_star
                  sports_starFriday, July 27, 2018 at 7:23 am55 stars
                  I love this book! It's about Mo, and her friend Dale, who solve a murder, and a kidnapping, through tornadoes, being followed, and more! This adventure is really fun, but has lots of comedy in it too. As soon as I finished reading this I went into my Kindle library and got the next book! I've already finished that and can't wait to start reading The Odds of Getting Even.!!!
                  • dreambig100
                    dreambig100Monday, July 23, 2018 at 6:42 pm44 stars
                    Three Times Lucky is a wonderful tale about mystery and adventure. When Mo and her best friend Dale encounter a frightning murder case that involves there evil neigbor Mr.Jesse. Soon Miss.Lana(Mo family member that is closest to her) gets kidnapped too. Now it is up to Dale and Mo to save Miss.Lana and find out who did the murder with the help of a detective.
                    • jenny12345678
                      jenny12345678Sunday, July 22, 2018 at 2:15 pm44 stars
                      This book is part of our school's reading challenge and I think that it's a great book. I love how Dale (the best friend of Mo, the main character), becomes sort of a celebrity after being released from jail and how the book focused a lot on Mo and Dale working together to solve the mystery.

                      More TopicsView in 3D

                        Our Apps and Plugins