Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 8W3.962217
Newbery honor winner, New York Times bestseller, Edgar Award Finalist, and E.B. White Read-Aloud Honor book.

A hilarious Southern debut with the kind of characters you meet once in a lifetime

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's business is fair game and no secret is sacred. She washed ashore in a hurricane eleven years ago, and she's been making waves ever since. Although Mo hopes someday to find her "upstream mother," she's found a home with the Colonel--a café owner with a forgotten past of his own--and Miss Lana, the fabulous café hostess. She will protect those she loves with every bit of her strong will and tough attitude. So when a lawman comes to town asking about a murder, Mo and her best friend, Dale Earnhardt Johnson III, set out to uncover the truth in hopes of saving the only family Mo has ever known.

Full of wisdom, humor, and grit, this timeless yarn will melt the heart of even the sternest Yankee.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 10, 2012 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803736703
ISBN-13: 9780803736702
228 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • coolgirlintown
    coolgirlintownSaturday, July 14, 2018 at 9:49 am44 stars
    This book was really, really good. I like how well this book is written. You will fall in love with Mo Dale. That's a promise. Would totally recommend this book to anyone.
    • lotusdance
      lotusdanceThursday, July 5, 2018 at 7:27 am55 stars
      The first book in the Mo&Dale series, this book is full of fun laughs and suspense. Mo&Dale live in a small town and one day Detective Joe Starr comes to town then someone in town is murdered. Join Mo & Dale as they solve the case.
      • kingkitty2005
        kingkitty2005Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 3:54 pm55 stars
        This mystery book tells the story of child named Mo and her friend, Dale. They engage in a murder investigation and help the officials catch the culprit. The plot twist is quite surprising, too.
        • jso6
          jso6Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 10:39 am55 stars
          Mo is a girl who was born during a hurricane. Her mother put her on a bulletin board and it slipped from her hands and went down a river, until a man found her and named her Mo, like Moses. I really liked this book because it was really interesting mystery.
          • demigod3000
            demigod3000Friday, June 29, 2018 at 4:57 pm55 stars
            This book is about Mo LoBeau who lives in a small town where everything is local and there are no secrets. Mo washed up from a hurricane when she was a baby and knows no other home. So when a detective comes around asking about a murder, Mo and her friend Dale must work together to protect those they love in this meaningful story. Through its gentle start to its awesomely exciting climax that keeps you on your toes, Three Times Lucky is a great book about family, friends, and of course, mystery.
            • seniorgato12345
              seniorgato12345Tuesday, June 26, 2018 at 9:05 am55 stars
              The first book of the Mo & Dale Mysteries is a book of laughter, betrayal, heartbreak and... mystery! This book I was hesitant to read. I had other books. The plot includes many twists and turns and makes you laugh and stare confused at the book. This book is amazing. I recommend this book for kids 8-12
              • rainshine116
                rainshine116Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:40 pm55 stars
                Sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC. She washed up on the shore of the beach eleven years ago during a hurricane, and is still trying to find her 'upstream' mother. Though right now she lives with the Colonel who owns a café but has forgotten his whole past, and Miss Lana the café hostess. When somebody in Mo's town gets murdered things go a little out of hand. Will she and her best friend Dale Earnhardt Johnson III be able to solve this riveting mystery? Read this amazing book to find out!
                • tybook2018
                  tybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 3:38 pm
                  Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) is an enjoyable mystery. And I wish that I was int eh book solving the mystery and being three times lucky.
                  • nybook2018
                    nybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 9:49 am
                    Three Times Lucky (Mo & Dale Mysteries) is a book that i wish i was in because i would want to be Three Times Lucky!
                    • eybook2018
                      eybook2018Tuesday, June 12, 2018 at 2:57 pm
                      Three Times Lucky is a book that I really wish I was in and was a part of! I would wish that I had Three Times Lucky. It would be really cool.

                      More TopicsView in 3D