Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on July 10, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407697
ISBN-13: 9781442407695
158 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • happy_cat
    happy_catWednesday, July 11, 2018 at 8:03 am44 stars
    Currently reading this amazing book... Unwanteds Quest. It is, without a doubt, such a cool book about dragons. There are twins called Fifer and Thisbe. Magical abilities is there main thing, although uncontrollable. Revinir, an evil monster, enslaves there two twins. It is up to Hux, the dragon, and the village of them, to save these two kids!
    • 30057
      30057Tuesday, July 10, 2018 at 8:22 am
      The cover of this book is truly spectacular, that got me into wanting to read this book. It is full of action and some sorrowful times, like not being one of the Wanteds, but and Unwanted, as said in the summary. I am interested and anxious to figure out what quests the characters will take on and how the problems are solved.
      • dreambig100
        dreambig100Sunday, July 8, 2018 at 8:35 pm
        The Unwanteds Series is amazing you can never guess what will happen next. It was so well written that I started feeling that I was in the characters shoes.
        • kingkitty2005
          kingkitty2005Tuesday, July 3, 2018 at 3:51 pm55 stars
          I really enjoyed this book. The book has a great plot and, the theme of creativity is really interesting. My cousins recommended me to read the book since they like it so much, and I'm glad they did.
          • letscutitout
            letscutitoutSunday, July 1, 2018 at 7:21 am
            I did not like this book. I know that 13 year olds are different but I don't think it needs to be pointed out in books. In some cases, it made me feel that being different is bad. I think this book could upset many readers,I don't recommend it.
            • soyster
              soysterSaturday, June 30, 2018 at 9:44 pm55 starsFeatured
              I surprisingly really liked this book. This book is about a boy named Alex. Alex lives in the land of Quill where the people are divided into 3 categories. The wanteds, necessaries, and the unwanteds. The unwanteds are sent away to be killed because they showed creativity. His brother, Aaron, becomes a wanted, but he becomes an unwanted (along with his best friend Meghan). Along with many other kids, he is sent away to die, but instead finds a land called Artimé with a mage named Mr. Today running it. Artimé is a place filled with all the past unwanteds. The people use their creativity there to turn it into magic. He makes some friends there, but Alex dreams of getting his brother back. His brother learns all the information on Artimé and betrays him by telling the person in charge of Quill. A war is waged and there's tension. At the beginning of the book, I wasn't hooked that much, but as I continued, I found that I was sort of addicted to the story. If you like reading things like magic, you might want to try reading this book.
              • belle252
                belle252Friday, June 29, 2018 at 9:32 pm33 stars
                I didn't really like this book but it was written really well because in some places I was so into it it gave me the creeps, but I'm not really into such writing
                • starsong
                  starsongWednesday, June 27, 2018 at 2:47 pm55 stars
                  I read the preview and I fell in love. Once I got the book I read in one day. I wish I could give it 10 or 20 stars. It had magic and adventurer. I love it so much. I really recommend it.
                  • armcginn
                    armcginnTuesday, June 26, 2018 at 11:45 am55 stars
                    Full of twists, turns, magic and creativity, the Unwanteds (by Lisa McMann) is definitely one of my all-time favorite books!, filled with fantasy, adventure, and fun!
                    • seniorgato12345
                      seniorgato12345Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at 8:38 pm55 stars
                      This book starts with a tense situation, and then it thrills you into imagination and wonder. This is by far the best of Lisa McMann's books. Though I don't like the others in the series, this one stands out. I would recommend this book to kids 9-12 years old.

                      More TopicsView in 3D