Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on July 10, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407697
ISBN-13: 9781442407695
180 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • xx6figuresxx
    xx6figuresxxFriday, June 14, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
    My 2nd favorite series. This whole series is just outright awesome and insanely action packed with some hilarious moments and romance, ts got everything.
    • meTuesday, April 30, 2019 at 7:57 pm
      i luv this book
      • unwantedlover
        unwantedloverThursday, April 11, 2019 at 2:14 pm55 stars
        This book had so much adventure and suspnse. I loved it. I am now on the fifth unwanteds book, but I would not be there if I had not read the first book. I LOVE LISA MCMANN!!!😍😍😍🀩🀩🀩
        • furandgills
          furandgillsThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
          I really liked the beginning of the book. I liked how Lisa explained the system of the purge. I also liked how descriptive the first couple chapters were. Overall, my favorite book series!! I don’t like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson so I am shocked I like this. But the way Lisa McMann wrote it is just wonderful!! Definitely recommend this book and the whole seriea
          • williamSunday, January 13, 2019 at 10:52 am
            this book is very exciting to read. It is filled with mystical creatures like Simber the stone cheetah. I am going to spoil a part if you have not read the series but mr. today dies. And I am on book 4 island of legends. I recommend it for people in grades 4 and 5. And I think people in grade 4 and 5 should read this book.
            • CatloverThursday, December 6, 2018 at 2:31 pm
              I LOVE IT!! Was so into it and couldn't stop reading. Really recommend.
              • hiSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 7:34 pm
                so good!
                • starsky89
                  starsky89Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 1:15 pm44 stars
                  I can't really write a proper review, but my friends all say it's an awesome book!!!! I'm going to read it soon!! Can't wait it should be a great book!! I love fantasy books!!!
                  • freckleface04
                    freckleface04Monday, October 22, 2018 at 5:47 pm55 stars
                    Love this book. it's really good!
                    • MaggieMonday, October 22, 2018 at 3:28 pm
                      good