Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Paperback, 416 pages
Published on July 10, 2012 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407697
ISBN-13: 9781442407695
133 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • bailey2005
    bailey2005Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 2:24 pm55 stars
    This is such a good book! I love to write short stories, but the plot and characters are so well thought out and so well written, I couldn't have even gotten near to writing such a good book! The idea that on the other half of strict, cruel Quill is a magical mansion full with magical abandoned children is amazing! I recommend this book very much!
    • kc17
      kc17Saturday, May 19, 2018 at 8:05 am55 stars
      I love this book. I would rate this book a five out of five. The author used a lot of great and unique crafts. There are lessons that you can relate to the main character. This book is outstanding. I have no words but wow. The main character goes through a lot of ups and downs. The main character goes through a lot of journeys. I lenjoyed this book.
      • waterlily1255
        waterlily1255Friday, May 18, 2018 at 2:38 pm44 stars
        The Unwanteds is a incredible book about awesome characters. This book is fiction of course, but is relatable to some real world stuff which I think is very important.
        • lylcheetah
          lylcheetahThursday, May 17, 2018 at 6:39 pm33 stars
          The beginning of the book was OK
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 4:58 pm55 stars
            My brother thought the beginning was the most boring part, but I really liked it!
          • lillyratgirl
            lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:31 am44 stars
            i really really liked this book. I liked the satire that it contained. It was as if the book was asking if you can't be creative what's left?
            • bookstory13
              bookstory13Friday, May 18, 2018 at 5:41 pm55 stars
              You liked its satire?
            • lillyratgirl
              lillyratgirlWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 5:11 am44 stars
              this book is perfect for fans of the hunger games
              • starchursher
                starchursherMonday, May 14, 2018 at 5:23 pm55 stars
                I might want to read the real book so I can see how it ends
                • bookstory13
                  bookstory13Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 6:49 pm55 starsFeatured
                  If you have read any of my other reviews, you know that my brother and I fought over the Michael Vey series after he found it. Well, this time I found a series-the Unwanteds. I read all the books in about nine days and freaked out when I discovered the Unwanteds Quests. My brother thought I was playing a prank on him when I showed him a picture of the cover. I think Alex (one of the twin main characters) really enhances his personality in this book. When I focus on one thing a long time all day, I usually dream about it. I read this book a lot and then I dreamed I was Lanie-and it was totally awesome. I was in awe when I walked around Artime and shook hands with my favorite characters, or shook paws, in Simber's case. ;) This book is amazing and good for kids. Lisa McMann is a favorite author for me because she only writes the best books and they are always clean and good for kids. If you like basically ANY OTHER BOOK, I suggest you read The Unwanteds, by Lisa McMann.
                  • unicorn992
                    unicorn992Sunday, May 13, 2018 at 6:29 pm55 stars
                    Wow just wow. This is one of the best books I've ever read. It is mind blowing and a very good story! i recommend this if you like to read fantasy novels. one of my favs.
                    • zethland
                      zethlandFriday, May 11, 2018 at 4:10 pm44 stars
                      This book is really good if you like the hunger games for kids. Starts off sad and escalates throughout the book. I suggest whoever wants to read anything everyman for himself related I suggest read this book.