Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
177 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • furandgills
    furandgillsThursday, March 21, 2019 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    I really liked the beginning of the book. I liked how Lisa explained the system of the purge. I also liked how descriptive the first couple chapters were. Overall, my favorite book series!! I don’t like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson so I am shocked I like this. But the way Lisa McMann wrote it is just wonderful!! Definitely recommend this book and the whole seriea
    • williamSunday, January 13, 2019 at 10:52 am
      this book is very exciting to read. It is filled with mystical creatures like Simber the stone cheetah. I am going to spoil a part if you have not read the series but mr. today dies. And I am on book 4 island of legends. I recommend it for people in grades 4 and 5. And I think people in grade 4 and 5 should read this book.
      • CatloverThursday, December 6, 2018 at 2:31 pm
        I LOVE IT!! Was so into it and couldn't stop reading. Really recommend.
        • hiSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 7:34 pm
          so good!
          • starsky89
            starsky89Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 1:15 pm44 stars
            I can't really write a proper review, but my friends all say it's an awesome book!!!! I'm going to read it soon!! Can't wait it should be a great book!! I love fantasy books!!!
            • freckleface04
              freckleface04Monday, October 22, 2018 at 5:47 pm55 stars
              Love this book. it's really good!
              • MaggieMonday, October 22, 2018 at 3:28 pm
                good
                • jdbWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 3:48 am
                  Loved the whole series, now onto Unwanted Quests!
                  • ajg16
                    ajg16Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:21 am55 stars
                    Quill is a world where 13 year olds that have creativity (Unwanteds) are sent to there death. The kids who aren't creative are "wanteds" and are special and all that (blah blah) And in between are the neccesaries. Alex and his twin brother Aaron are now thirteen and are about to find out where they place, Awe n gets with the "wanteds" but Alex is doomed to be unwanted because he rd w with a stick in the dirt. Soon Alex and the unwanteds don't see there rate as horrible as they ever could imagine. They discover get to live in Artimé a beautiful, magical, creative place where at least 500 unwanteds live. I think this book was really good I would definitely read it again! Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
                    • nasuada
                      nasuadaMonday, August 13, 2018 at 10:04 am44 stars
                      I enjoyed this book a lot. Alex and Aaron are twins in the horrid kingdom of Quill. They are separated at the Purge. Aaron believes Alex is dead, but Alex goes to a place called Artime, which is far brighter and happier than Quill. Alex has everything he could ever want, except his twin brother. The Unwanteds is a well-written, adventurous, and a little bit heartbreaking tale of corruption and revolution.

                      Our Apps and Plugins