Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
96 Book Reviews
to use your custom avatar.
  • luna83281
    luna83281Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:12 pm55 stars
    i checked this book out from my library once and i love it. i am disappointed in the twins parents and hate Aaron.if you ask me that kid is a snobby stuck up coward that is afraid of change.if you ask me, my fave character is Alex. he is just happened even though he gets impatient sometimes he is great.i love this book so much and i was upset when i thought that was the only books.so imagine my surprise when 5 days later i see a book on my librarian's desk that said it was the sequal of the first book.
    • selina
      selinaMonday, June 26, 2017 at 3:32 pm55 stars
      Thirteen year old Alex is in no position to be with his brother Aaron any longer. Aaron is one of The Wanteds. Aaron shall stay in the land where he grew up. Alex isn't so lucky. He is one The Unwanteds. Alex will be going to Artime where he will be doing things that aren't the same as The Wanteds are. During his time in Artime, he makes friends, enemies and more friends. Soon enough though, he will become mortal enemies whith his own brother just because both aren't together anymore and feel like the other is a threat to all.
      • mybooksandi
        mybooksandiSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:08 am22 stars
        The Unwanteds by Lisa Mcmann was a novel that you have to finish. Even if you start it, and don't like it you'll still finish it. So I did start it, the first five chapters were really good. But when I started that sixth chapter, I detected some Hunger Games and Harry Potter kinda story. I don't like when an author writer a story that sounds really familiar to another famous novel. That just irritates me. I liked Alex, i though Aaron was a good villian. But Lana had problems with the conflict, it sounded exactly like The Hunger Games. I will give this novel two stars. It was good in the beginning, then it went down a rocky hill.
        • readwriter
          readwriterFriday, June 16, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 stars
          This book was VERY good! It's about a boy who lives in a Utopian Society and is separated from his family. He is sent to the part of the island no one wants to go to-the place where anyone who shows creativity, smarts, or any unwanted talents are sent to be killed. But what he discovers and does may get him-and everyone he knows and loves-into danger.
          • alex102Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 11:53 am
            Such a good book!
            • anagkan
              anagkanMonday, June 12, 2017 at 2:56 pm55 stars
              Imagine a dystopia in which all those who are creative are slaughtered. This is exactly what happens in The Unwanteds. In the land of Quill, teenagers (13-year-olds) are sorted into three groups, Wanteds, Necessaries, and Unwanteds. Wanted's are intelligent people who are sent to The University and are trained for great things. Necessaries are people who will live in slave-like conditions and do low-level work. Finally, Unwanteds, these are people who have committed infractions. An infraction can be anything from boasting, to dragging a stick around in mud (drawing). Alexander (Alex) Stowe becomes an Unwanted while his twin Aaron is a Wanted. Alex and the other Unwanteds are taken to the Death Farm and expect to be thrown into the Great Lake of Boiling Oil by the Eliminators. Instead, he is saved by Marcus Today (Mr. Today). He shows them the magical land of Artime. He is then trained in the skills of magic. Alex enjoys the utopia until he tries to get his brother to join him. Alex draws a 3-d door that will let him travel between where the drawing is, and where the real door is. Alex travels to Aaron's room and tries to get him to join him in Artime. What he doesn't realize is that all that his brother wants is to please High Priestess Justine. Aaron then reveals Artime and starts a war. The war lasts for a couple days and is composed of epic battles between The Quillitary and Artimeans. Eventually, Artime wins and Mr. Today's spy becomes High Priest of Quill.
              • unicorn992
                unicorn992Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:07 pm55 stars
                Unwanteds The Unwanteds is a VERY good book! A boy named Alex grows up in a world where you have to be perfect. Creativity is discouraged. At the age of 13, they are sorted. They will either become a Wanted or Unwanted. Unwanteds go to a death farm where they are killed. Wanteds go to a University where they get educated and get jobs. Very good book!
                • cobrazeus10
                  cobrazeus10Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 1:32 pm55 stars
                  I loved this book. It had everything a good book needs including: adventure, peril, fantasy, and suspense. I enjoyed seeing some of the characters meet up with long lost family members. the creatures made of sand and other materials was also pretty cool.
                  • fidgetspinner
                    fidgetspinnerWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 11:05 am
                    In a world where art is a death sentence, Alex and his twin Aaron are separated at 13. Alex is an Unwanted, while Aaron is not. But Alex discovers that art is more than improper and inconvenient, it's beautiful and can save your soul-literally. This is a great book full of action and creativity.
                    • baller101swag
                      baller101swagWednesday, June 7, 2017 at 9:58 am
                      is book is really good with a twist of regular magic stereotypes. It is where all creativity is shamed except for in the Lake of Boiling Oil. The characters are really funny and engaging.