Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
99 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • annette
    annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:05 pm44 stars
    This book starts out at a slightly disturbing but captivating way, but it is still a great book. The plot is a classic dystopian story line, where people are separated into groups and then some are killed while others are saved. This book though has it's own feature that make it unique to others. I think it was a great read.
    • georgiasilver
      georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 11:54 am
      Knowing the author's name, I suspect a very satisfying tale brewing inside this book. The title gives away the fact that it will tell of a very action packed and mysterious world that I have not yet discovered or stumbled upon until now.
      • maddyloveshorse
        maddyloveshorseThursday, July 27, 2017 at 11:34 am55 stars
        Thirteen-year-old Alex lives in Quill where every year the thirteen-year-olds get sorted into wanted or unwanted. Wanted kids go to university and Unwanted kids are killed, so when Alex is announced as an Unwanted he tries to hold himself together. But instead of the death he had expected he and the other Unwanteds learn to be creative. 5 out of 5.
        • luna83281
          luna83281Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at 9:12 pm55 stars
          i checked this book out from my library once and i love it. i am disappointed in the twins parents and hate Aaron.if you ask me that kid is a snobby stuck up coward that is afraid of change.if you ask me, my fave character is Alex. he is just happened even though he gets impatient sometimes he is great.i love this book so much and i was upset when i thought that was the only books.so imagine my surprise when 5 days later i see a book on my librarian's desk that said it was the sequal of the first book.
          • selina
            selinaMonday, June 26, 2017 at 3:32 pm55 stars
            Thirteen year old Alex is in no position to be with his brother Aaron any longer. Aaron is one of The Wanteds. Aaron shall stay in the land where he grew up. Alex isn't so lucky. He is one The Unwanteds. Alex will be going to Artime where he will be doing things that aren't the same as The Wanteds are. During his time in Artime, he makes friends, enemies and more friends. Soon enough though, he will become mortal enemies whith his own brother just because both aren't together anymore and feel like the other is a threat to all.
            • mybooksandi
              mybooksandiSaturday, June 17, 2017 at 8:08 am22 stars
              The Unwanteds by Lisa Mcmann was a novel that you have to finish. Even if you start it, and don't like it you'll still finish it. So I did start it, the first five chapters were really good. But when I started that sixth chapter, I detected some Hunger Games and Harry Potter kinda story. I don't like when an author writer a story that sounds really familiar to another famous novel. That just irritates me. I liked Alex, i though Aaron was a good villian. But Lana had problems with the conflict, it sounded exactly like The Hunger Games. I will give this novel two stars. It was good in the beginning, then it went down a rocky hill.
              • readwriter
                readwriterFriday, June 16, 2017 at 2:11 pm55 stars
                This book was VERY good! It's about a boy who lives in a Utopian Society and is separated from his family. He is sent to the part of the island no one wants to go to-the place where anyone who shows creativity, smarts, or any unwanted talents are sent to be killed. But what he discovers and does may get him-and everyone he knows and loves-into danger.
                • alex102Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 11:53 am
                  Such a good book!
                  • anagkan
                    anagkanMonday, June 12, 2017 at 2:56 pm55 stars
                    Imagine a dystopia in which all those who are creative are slaughtered. This is exactly what happens in The Unwanteds. In the land of Quill, teenagers (13-year-olds) are sorted into three groups, Wanteds, Necessaries, and Unwanteds. Wanted's are intelligent people who are sent to The University and are trained for great things. Necessaries are people who will live in slave-like conditions and do low-level work. Finally, Unwanteds, these are people who have committed infractions. An infraction can be anything from boasting, to dragging a stick around in mud (drawing). Alexander (Alex) Stowe becomes an Unwanted while his twin Aaron is a Wanted. Alex and the other Unwanteds are taken to the Death Farm and expect to be thrown into the Great Lake of Boiling Oil by the Eliminators. Instead, he is saved by Marcus Today (Mr. Today). He shows them the magical land of Artime. He is then trained in the skills of magic. Alex enjoys the utopia until he tries to get his brother to join him. Alex draws a 3-d door that will let him travel between where the drawing is, and where the real door is. Alex travels to Aaron's room and tries to get him to join him in Artime. What he doesn't realize is that all that his brother wants is to please High Priestess Justine. Aaron then reveals Artime and starts a war. The war lasts for a couple days and is composed of epic battles between The Quillitary and Artimeans. Eventually, Artime wins and Mr. Today's spy becomes High Priest of Quill.
                    • unicorn992
                      unicorn992Wednesday, June 7, 2017 at 8:07 pm55 stars
                      Unwanteds The Unwanteds is a VERY good book! A boy named Alex grows up in a world where you have to be perfect. Creativity is discouraged. At the age of 13, they are sorted. They will either become a Wanted or Unwanted. Unwanteds go to a death farm where they are killed. Wanteds go to a University where they get educated and get jobs. Very good book!