Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
169 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • ajg15
    ajg15Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:21 am55 stars
    Quill is a world where 13 year olds that have creativity (Unwanteds) are sent to there death. The kids who aren't creative are "wanteds" and are special and all that (blah blah) And in between are the neccesaries. Alex and his twin brother Aaron are now thirteen and are about to find out where they place, Awe n gets with the "wanteds" but Alex is doomed to be unwanted because he rd w with a stick in the dirt. Soon Alex and the unwanteds don't see there rate as horrible as they ever could imagine. They discover get to live in Artimé a beautiful, magical, creative place where at least 500 unwanteds live. I think this book was really good I would definitely read it again! Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
    • nasuada
      nasuadaMonday, August 13, 2018 at 10:04 am44 stars
      I enjoyed this book a lot. Alex and Aaron are twins in the horrid kingdom of Quill. They are separated at the Purge. Aaron believes Alex is dead, but Alex goes to a place called Artime, which is far brighter and happier than Quill. Alex has everything he could ever want, except his twin brother. The Unwanteds is a well-written, adventurous, and a little bit heartbreaking tale of corruption and revolution.
      • jaden07
        jaden07Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
        hands down, this was an AWE MAZING BOOK. im so excited to read the second book. you all have creativity. you just have to find it.
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 12:17 pm44 stars
          The unwanteds #1, /////////so this book is very good and adventurous I really enjoyed reading this I couldn't put it down I just keep turning the pages! Lol💙I recommend this for 10 to 14 year olds and I rate this book 4 stars! 💚 💜 💛 💙 so Aaron and Alex twins who live in the land of quill and every year the 13 year olds get sorted out into wanted, necessary , and unwanted .Aaron is a wanted always has been but Alex got caught drawing in the dirt and now he has to go to the death farm and it is not like he thought it would be . This was a very good book a little complicated but very good .now........GO READ THIS BOOK!!!! 😝 (LOL) thank you so so so much for reading! -pizzagirl7 😋 😋 😋
          • bookstory13
            bookstory13Monday, August 13, 2018 at 11:08 am55 stars
            Haha, good review! That's exactly what I was thinking too! Basically when I describe it to other people I say it's this world, there is no America, and the unwanted children are sent to their deaths at age thirteen. That line always gets them! Then I describe the world of Artime! This is my most favorite series EVER! Well maybe Michael Vey but probably this. My favorite character is Lani, because she is a nerd and has some wit.
          • coolbooks
            coolbooksFriday, August 10, 2018 at 4:48 pm55 stars
            I think this book is amazing and i totally recommend you guys reading it. So basically two twins are best friends until the purge. Read the book to bring yourself in a wonderful adventure.
            • auntieb
              auntiebTuesday, August 7, 2018 at 11:38 am44 stars
              The Unwanteds is a book about twins Alex and Aaron, who live in the land of Quill. Every year there is the "Purge" the one holiday in Quill. The Purge is where teenagers are sorted into the "Wanted", the "Necessary" and the "Unwanted" The Wanteds go to help at the Quillitary Academy and the "Necessaries" farm. The Unwanteds well........They go to the Death Farm. Aaron is a Wanted always has been, on the other hand Alex......Well he's been caught drawing in the dirt and several other infractions. So when he goes to the Death Farm he learns things are not as they seem. And he finds some very sinister secrets!
              • jwarne
                jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 5:09 pm55 stars
                This was a really sad world. I didn't like that there were Unwanteds. It seemed really unfair. I hope that there are more books, because it didn't seem to really end the really bad treatment of people. I wouldn't want to live in Quill.
                • sjsj
                  sjsjFriday, August 3, 2018 at 7:30 am
                  I think you should really read this book! You will just love the book! I recommend this book to you! So what are you waiting for?
                  • catface7312
                    catface7312Monday, July 23, 2018 at 1:14 pm
                    This is the first book in a series. I didn't really enjoy it too much though. In Quill, every 13 year old is sent to an event called the Purge where they will be in either the Wanted or Unwanted. Two twin brothers (Alex and Aaron) are now 13 and have to attend the Purge. Alex was placed with the Unwanted and Aaron was placed with the Wanted.
                    • jso6
                      jso6Wednesday, July 18, 2018 at 3:03 pm44 stars
                      Every year when someone turns thirteen in Quill, they are tested. The strong and intelligent Wanteds to an Academy, but the Unwanteds are sent to be killed. I would recommend this book for people 11 through 14.

                      Our Apps and Plugins