Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
107 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • floppythedoggy
    floppythedoggyTuesday, December 12, 2017 at 11:39 am55 stars
    This book was recomended to me by a friend and i loved it. It is about a boy named alex in a distopen socity. It has an amazing plot twist and is amazing! READ IT!
    • tori3ghoul
      tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 6:25 pm44 stars
      A group of young teens are taken to the world of Artime after execution in Quill. Artime is a magical world of animal statues, cool hangout rooms, and lots of magical creativity. My favorite parts were when one of the girls sees her long-lost brother and the school lessons.
      • BookN3rdTuesday, November 14, 2017 at 4:25 pm
        GREAT SERIES. From 1-7 I was clenching my desk and holding on, hoping to find out what would happen next. Fans of this book? Make sure to check out Lisa’s new book Going Wild. I recommend it.
        • alexWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 6:13 am
          I love unwanteds 1+2
          • hydythegreat
            hydythegreatSaturday, October 21, 2017 at 4:34 pm55 stars
            I love it so far! A story of two lands, one of harsh judgement where only the "strong survive" and a land of art and peace! Definitely suggest it to fantasy lovers.
            • SkgThursday, October 12, 2017 at 2:24 pm
              I love the book, and love the books 1-7 and the new series dragon captives #1!
              • SophiaThursday, October 12, 2017 at 2:22 pm
                I love the UNWANTEDS it’s awesome! I read books 1-7 and the new series dragon captives #1
                • annette
                  annetteMonday, September 4, 2017 at 1:05 pm44 stars
                  This book starts out at a slightly disturbing but captivating way, but it is still a great book. The plot is a classic dystopian story line, where people are separated into groups and then some are killed while others are saved. This book though has it's own feature that make it unique to others. I think it was a great read.
                  • webber123
                    webber123Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 2:03 pm55 stars
                    it is five stars!!!!!!
                  • georgiasilver
                    georgiasilverThursday, August 24, 2017 at 11:54 am
                    Knowing the author's name, I suspect a very satisfying tale brewing inside this book. The title gives away the fact that it will tell of a very action packed and mysterious world that I have not yet discovered or stumbled upon until now.
                    • maddyloveshorse
                      maddyloveshorseThursday, July 27, 2017 at 11:34 am55 stars
                      Thirteen-year-old Alex lives in Quill where every year the thirteen-year-olds get sorted into wanted or unwanted. Wanted kids go to university and Unwanted kids are killed, so when Alex is announced as an Unwanted he tries to hold himself together. But instead of the death he had expected he and the other Unwanteds learn to be creative. 5 out of 5.

                      More TopicsView in 3D