Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.768014
Every year in Quill, thirteen-year-olds are sorted into categories: the strong, intelligent Wanteds go to university, and the artistic Unwanteds are sent to their deaths

Thirteen-year-old Alex tries his hardest to be stoic when his fate is announced as Unwanted, even while leaving behind his twin, Aaron, a Wanted. Upon arrival at the destination where he expected to be eliminated, however, Alex discovers a stunning secret--behind the mirage of the "death farm" there is instead a place called Artime.

In Artime, each child is taught to cultivate their creative abilities and learn how to use them magically, weaving spells through paintbrushes and musical instruments. Everything Alex has ever known changes before his eyes, and it's a wondrous transformation.

But it's a rare, unique occurence for twins to be separated between Wanted and Unwanted, and as Alex and Aaron's bond stretches across their separation, a threat arises for the survival of Artime that will pit brother against brother in an ultimate, magical battle.
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on August 30, 2011 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1442407689
ISBN-13: 9781442407688
175 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • CatloverThursday, December 6, 2018 at 2:31 pm
    I LOVE IT!! Was so into it and couldn't stop reading. Really recommend.
    • hiSaturday, November 24, 2018 at 7:34 pm
      so good!
      • starsky89
        starsky89Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 1:15 pm44 stars
        I can't really write a proper review, but my friends all say it's an awesome book!!!! I'm going to read it soon!! Can't wait it should be a great book!! I love fantasy books!!!
        • frecklefacec
          frecklefacecMonday, October 22, 2018 at 5:47 pm55 stars
          Love this book. it's really good!
          • MaggieMonday, October 22, 2018 at 3:28 pm
            good
            • jdbWednesday, September 5, 2018 at 3:48 am
              Loved the whole series, now onto Unwanted Quests!
              • ajg15
                ajg15Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:21 am55 stars
                Quill is a world where 13 year olds that have creativity (Unwanteds) are sent to there death. The kids who aren't creative are "wanteds" and are special and all that (blah blah) And in between are the neccesaries. Alex and his twin brother Aaron are now thirteen and are about to find out where they place, Awe n gets with the "wanteds" but Alex is doomed to be unwanted because he rd w with a stick in the dirt. Soon Alex and the unwanteds don't see there rate as horrible as they ever could imagine. They discover get to live in ArtimΓ© a beautiful, magical, creative place where at least 500 unwanteds live. I think this book was really good I would definitely read it again! Thanks for reading -Ajg15's Reviews
                • nasuada
                  nasuadaMonday, August 13, 2018 at 10:04 am44 stars
                  I enjoyed this book a lot. Alex and Aaron are twins in the horrid kingdom of Quill. They are separated at the Purge. Aaron believes Alex is dead, but Alex goes to a place called Artime, which is far brighter and happier than Quill. Alex has everything he could ever want, except his twin brother. The Unwanteds is a well-written, adventurous, and a little bit heartbreaking tale of corruption and revolution.
                  • jaden07
                    jaden07Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 5:32 pm55 stars
                    hands down, this was an AWE MAZING BOOK. im so excited to read the second book. you all have creativity. you just have to find it.
                    • pizzagirl7
                      pizzagirl7Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 12:17 pm44 stars
                      The unwanteds #1, /////////so this book is very good and adventurous I really enjoyed reading this I couldn't put it down I just keep turning the pages! LolπŸ’™I recommend this for 10 to 14 year olds and I rate this book 4 stars! πŸ’š πŸ’œ πŸ’› πŸ’™ so Aaron and Alex twins who live in the land of quill and every year the 13 year olds get sorted out into wanted, necessary , and unwanted .Aaron is a wanted always has been but Alex got caught drawing in the dirt and now he has to go to the death farm and it is not like he thought it would be . This was a very good book a little complicated but very good .now........GO READ THIS BOOK!!!! 😝 (LOL) thank you so so so much for reading! -pizzagirl7 πŸ˜‹ πŸ˜‹ πŸ˜‹
                      • bookstory13
                        bookstory13Monday, August 13, 2018 at 11:08 am55 stars
                        Haha, good review! That's exactly what I was thinking too! Basically when I describe it to other people I say it's this world, there is no America, and the unwanted children are sent to their deaths at age thirteen. That line always gets them! Then I describe the world of Artime! This is my most favorite series EVER! Well maybe Michael Vey but probably this. My favorite character is Lani, because she is a nerd and has some wit.

                      Our Apps and Plugins