Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.780248

Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.

Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on March 26, 2013 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059947
ISBN-13: 9780062059949
79 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • jilly_bean
    jilly_beanTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 4:32 am55 stars
    This novel is really what every girl needs to read before they turn fourteen. The characters are so irresistibly charming! I love how every girl has their own great personality and have different levels of feelings for Prince Maxon. America and Maxon really are a cute couple in my head.
    • girlforgreen
      girlforgreenThursday, January 10, 2019 at 4:05 pm55 stars
      The story keeps me on the edge of my seat, in a wonderful way. You just want to experience everything America is. Wow! And the sequel, The Elite, is just as good!
      • 24krussell
        24krussellWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 5:56 am55 stars
        I found this book extremely interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I found it a tiny bit boring at first, but when she actually got to the castle and is thrown into drama, I started to find the book hard to put down. I would definitely recommend this book. I can not wait to read the next book in the series.
        • yellingout
          yellingoutTuesday, November 27, 2018 at 4:06 pm11 star
          i don't like it on the honest side but it is ok really.
          • dimondera
            dimonderaSunday, November 25, 2018 at 5:06 pm44 stars
            It's a nice love story, bu t it was missing the key things I was looking for. I feel as if it needed more romance and suspends with some more of the storyline.
            • dwightschrute
              dwightschruteMonday, November 5, 2018 at 1:53 pm55 stars
              I loved this book, it kept me on the edge of my seat and I enjoyed reading it. It is the kind of book that you don't want to put down, you want to keep turning the page, and you stay up all night reading. I highly recommend this book and think that if you are into the drama /romance /dystopian thing, this is totally a book for you :)
              • grapefruit
                grapefruitSunday, January 7, 2018 at 2:11 am55 stars
                In a futuristic world many years after now, America Singer is fretting. Her country "Illea", is seperated into different castes--from Ones to Eights,with Ones at the top. Mer is a Five--poor, until she is chosen for a big event, the Selection, in which she has a chance to become the wife of Prince Maxon and the future heir for Queen.35 girls have come, and Maxon finds Mer the best. Mer is forced to forget her first love, Aspen, who is a Six. Can America win the heart of the Prince? Or will she be sent home to her dreadful life as a Five? Read on to find out!
                • tripathyaditi12
                  tripathyaditi12Sunday, June 4, 2017 at 6:57 pm55 stars
                  This book is about a poor girl who is so beautiful she has a chance to compete in the pageant to win the Prince's heart, making her the new Queen of Illia.
                  • aditrip
                    aditripSaturday, June 3, 2017 at 3:37 pm44 stars
                    I think this one of the best romance books I have ever read. I usually don't like romance so this was a change. It's about a girl from a poor family who has the opportunity to compete in a competition to win the Prince's heart and become the next Queen.
                    • lollipoplily
                      lollipoplilyTuesday, January 10, 2017 at 8:59 am55 stars
                      It was amazing! It's about a girl from a poor family and she gets to go to the palace with others girls. The prince picks one of them to be his wife. But before she went to the palace she loved another man. Things change as she goes through a journey of love. Its a series though so you have to read all the books to find out what is going to happen.