The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, The Elite is a must-read for fans of fairy tales, The Bachelor, and dystopian YA fiction. This sequel to The Selection delivers even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, and will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever. But America Singer’s heart is torn. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love?

Paperback, 352 pages
Published on May 6, 2014 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062059971
ISBN-13: 9780062059970
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitWednesday, January 10, 2018 at 3:14 am44 starsFeatured
    In the 2nd book in the Selection series, the original 35 girls competing for the crown has been quickly narrowed down to six. America is still stuck in the worst situation. The Prince is cute and nice, yeah, but she can't let go of Aspen, who, unluckily for America, is chosen as a palace guard. Celeste is the mean girl, Marlee gets kicked out for making out with someone else, and Kriss is getting too much attention--many problems in the girls. The book was, overall, fast-paced and good, but it focuses too much on the (endless) rebel attacks and girlish quarrels. I give this 4 out of 5 stars. -grapefruitreviews
    • Hannah RoachMonday, October 30, 2017 at 12:58 pm
      This book was a great book i only read this book out of the books because it was the first one i found and everything that had happen in the book was great and a lot of wars happen and its easy to tell what the book is about after 3 chapters but its just a great book and i rec-emend everyone to read this book.
      • racoon3711
        racoon3711Saturday, December 17, 2016 at 7:04 pm55 starsFeatured
        THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS!!! The Elite is an awesome story about a 16 year old named America Singer. In this novel America is one of the six Elite (the name for the last 6 girls still in the contest for Prince Maxon's heart) and Maxon is quite taken with her. Towards the middle of the book Maxon resurrects Halloween to make America happy. The palace then holds a ball celebrating the holiday where America and Maxon decide they want to marry each other. However, the next day a terrible event occurs causing America to not want to have to make a final choice between her ex, Aspen, and Maxon. Next, while on TV she suggests that the King (Maxon's Dad) should try to eliminate the caste system pushing him to attempt to send her home. In addition to all these problems many rebel attacks were occurring at the palace. During one attack America and Maxon ended up alone together and America had to tend to Maxon's wounds. Despite his previous intentions of getting rid of her, the King decides to allow America to stay in the Selection because she saved Maxon during the attack. Sadly, the King still wanted America gone, but she was and is willing to fight to stay in the Selection and compete for Maxon's love. Read this book to find out how America gets out of all this trouble, and how she plans to win Maxon. I loved this book and I recommend it to 7th graders on up.
        • bookqueen1o13
          bookqueen1o13Tuesday, December 13, 2016 at 2:11 pm55 stars
          I WANT THIS BOOK SO BAD!!! :(
          • bluehorse3
            bluehorse3Sunday, March 20, 2016 at 3:16 pm55 stars
            As the next book in the Election series, you love just as much! The characters get even closer to your heart and you wish you could comfort them! I would want to meet/be friends with SO MANY of the characters in the Elite!
            • faithnikol
              faithnikolThursday, January 14, 2016 at 5:49 am55 stars
              The Elite is the second book in the Selection series when America singer makes it into the top 12 girls( i think it has been awhile since i have read the book.) in the competition to be Prince Maxton's Princess. The book was so amazing and suspensful and I was mad when i had to put it down. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.
              • live2read
                live2readSunday, June 28, 2015 at 10:15 am55 stars
                This book is AMAZING!!! America has to choose, Aspin or Maxin? Aspin or Maxin? a life in the palace or the life as a guards wife? with a mix of love, dedication and loyalty, this book will keep you hooked until you finish... the series!
                • fany13
                  fany13Sunday, June 14, 2015 at 12:20 pm33 stars
                  America Singer has become part of the Elite, the last 6 participants of the Selection. Just like the second books in many series, I did not enjoy this book as much as the others. America still isn't able to decide whether she wants to be with the ex-boyfriend that broke up with her, or the prince that wants to give her everything. I understand that the choice is more that just two boys: If she chooses one, she will become a Six, only two steps above poverty, and if she chooses the other, she will become a One, and later the queen of the country. Still, her problem with decision-making doesn't just apply to the two men.
                  • niah208
                    niah208Friday, April 17, 2015 at 5:57 am
                    this book sounds like a fairy tale and its really not my thing
                    • booklover#1Tuesday, April 14, 2015 at 8:58 am
                      this book it great and i love it its dying to read and i hope it will become a movie cause it is awsome