The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chronicles, Book 2)

Book 2 of 3 in the The Kane Chronicles Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W4.8113038

In this exciting second installment of the three-book series, Carter and Sadie, offspring of the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane, embark on a worldwide search for the Book of Ra, but the House of Life and the gods of chaos are determined to stop them.

Paperback, 528 pages
Published on April 3, 2018 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1368013597
ISBN-13: 9781368013598
113 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookworms4ever
    bookworms4everThursday, September 10, 2020 at 10:31 am55 stars
    I can't get enough of this book. if you are not into spoilers, STOP READING THIS COMMENT. SO. Sadie and Carter have like 2 days to save the world and they get help from Bex, a dwarf god in a speedo. Don't search up pictures of him- trust me, he's ugly. But a very loveable and memorable creature and character. So, they jump out to save the world, get sidetracked, and many more stuff that are very dangerous. I recommend this book for people who read Heroes of Olympus and Percy Jackson! Also, I CANNOT GET OVER IT HOW BEX SACRAFICED HIMSELF FOR SADIE AND CARTER I JUST CAN'T. Ahem. Hope you read it, bookworms4ever
    • creativity37
      creativity37Monday, August 24, 2020 at 12:02 pm55 stars
      "...the Egyptian Gods are running around loose in the modern world; a bunch of magicians called the House of Life are trying to stop them; everyone hates Sadie and me; and a snake is about to swallow the sun and destroy the world." Yes, you got to love this introduction to the story. Anyway, Sadie and Carter Kane are young magicians in training. The Chaos Snake, Apophis is awakening and they have to stop him, otherwise, the world will likely come to an end. To do that, they have to find and revive Apophis's old enemy; Ra, the Egyptian Sun God. It's not so easy though. Sadie and Carter have to search the world for the Book of Ra, which is in three parts. The Book of Ra will supposedly tell them how to get Ra back. But they don't even know where it is! The siblings only have guesses. On top of that, you have your ba floating around while you sleep showing you crazy images, missing friends to save, a dwarf god in a Speedo and Hawaiian shirt that shouts "BOO!", the Spit God (wink, wink), farting camels, and other various stuff to worry about. They don't even know if when they find Ra, will he even be willing to save them? Or CAN he even save them?
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolWednesday, July 8, 2020 at 1:22 pm55 stars
        Sadie and Carter Kane have recruited people to train and help them. They must find Ra, and help him fight Apophis. Carter is also occupied with finding the real Zia, since it had turned out the other Zia was a shabti. Overall, I thought this book was interesting and if you are interested in Egyptian mythology or enjoy the Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus series, then this book is for you. I rate this book 5/5.
        • bluedragon1
          bluedragon1Tuesday, June 30, 2020 at 8:22 am55 stars
          These book by rick roiden always keep u on the edge of your seat. They have to find the book of Thor to keep disaster from striking!
          • undertaleundyne
            undertaleundyneThursday, June 18, 2020 at 3:41 pm55 stars
            I really LOVED this book other than the first book! I liked one part when Zia and Sadie are gambling over Vlad Menshikov's sunglasses with Walt and the god Bes. I loved every series you throw at me. Thank you Mr. Riordan for writing all these books!
            • 4usa
              4usaSunday, May 24, 2020 at 7:02 am
              This is the second book in a great series! Sadie and Carter have started training magicians and it's time to see if they are ready because now they have to save the world again! The siblings have decided to try to bring back Ra to help fight his old enemy! In a sum at days a monster serpent will break free and they have to stop him before he can do so but there are many forces in the way that are determined to stop them! There is also the issue of Zia's location being unknown and Carter is determined to find her!
              • lunagood35
                lunagood35Sunday, November 17, 2019 at 4:18 pm44 stars
                I decided to read this book because all my friends were reading it. I love it because it is related to mythology, and I love mythology.
                • stuffthingsidk
                  stuffthingsidkWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 6:26 pm55 stars
                  I loved it and recommend it to anyone who loves learning about mythology, though they should read the first book first!
                  • 39002052
                    39002052Wednesday, September 4, 2019 at 3:02 pm55 stars
                    I hope i get to read all of Rick Riodarns book because his books are very entertaining an interesting .
                    • october
                      octoberTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 6:00 pm55 stars
                      When Apophis starts to rise, Carter and Sadie are at it again, saving the world as we know it - now with their new trainees including Walt, Jaz, and so much more! This book is AMAZING! Anyone who has not already read it definitely should.