Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
229 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • demigod3000
    demigod3000Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 4:21 pm55 stars
    The Red Pyramid and all the other books in the Kane Chronicles are amazing! They are about Carter and Sadie Kane who live in the world of Egyptian mythology. They must battle monsters and gods-befriend heroes and talking baboons-this book is a must read for any Percy Jackson or Rick Riordan fan.
    • selina
      selinaTuesday, August 14, 2018 at 11:50 am55 stars
      After their mother died in an unknown accident, Sadie and Carter Kane hardly know each other. Sadie lives in London with her grandparents and Carter travels the world with their father, the famous Dr. Julius Kane. When Dr. Kane takes the siblings to an to the British Museum to learn about Ancient Egypt, he accidentally releases Set. Now Sadie and Carter must run for their lives while the figure out how to end this mess.
      • jwarne
        jwarneMonday, August 6, 2018 at 1:28 pm55 stars
        I LOVE Rick Riordan's books. Especially this one. It's really big, so I was a little intimidated at first, but once I started reading it it went by really fast because the story is really compelling. It's full of action and suspense.
        • readwriter
          readwriterMonday, August 6, 2018 at 12:28 pm55 stars
          As with all Rick Riordan books, The Red Pyramid was impossible to stop reading! It was suspenseful and heart-wrenching, and just amazing! I loved it so much!
          • spykitten
            spykittenTuesday, July 24, 2018 at 8:23 am44 stars
            I like this book. It isn't as good as the Percy Jackson series but I still like it. It is about a boy named Carver Kane who comes to Egypt and there is a big explosion. The book is a bit long, to be aware. I recommend this book.
            • dreambig100
              dreambig100Monday, July 23, 2018 at 4:29 pm44 stars
              Everyone knows that any book by Rick Riordan has to be amazing and is impossible to stop reading well The Red Pyramid is just like that. In the Kane Chronicles we learn all about Egyption mythology and about dark secret that has been held on for a very long time. Sadie and Carter have to find their father and return the evil gods back to where they belong.
              • jaden07
                jaden07Monday, July 23, 2018 at 5:33 am
                This is a great book. this story is welcomed in a different way than the greeks, and i like this way. i think sadies part of the story is so funny. i think it is so cool that their dad is oasis. I really liked bast and carter and the baboon.
                • nasuada
                  nasuadaSaturday, July 21, 2018 at 7:26 am44 stars
                  Riordan takes a completely different angle on Egyptian mythology than he did with the Greek mythology. In this book, there is another dimension, the Duat, full of monsters, gods, and monstrous gods. Before reading, I didn't know much of Egyptian myths, and I read up on them afterwards. Egyptian stories are very confusing but Riordan unifies them under a few principles and makes them fit into a coherent book.
                  • ginnymweasley
                    ginnymweasleySunday, July 15, 2018 at 9:46 am55 stars
                    Although Carter and Sadie Kane are siblings, if they were standing in the same room you would never know. Not to mention the fact that Sadie and Carter have been separated ever since their mom died, Carter going with their dad to study Egypt and Sadie living with their grandparents in England. When their dad takes Carter to see Sadie and brings them to the British Museum, they see that their father wants more than ever to bring their mom back. When their visit to the Rosetta Stone goes wrong and Carter and Sadie's father is imprisoned by a strange creature, they realize just how much they don't know about Julian Kane. Toss in a few monsters, some angry Egyptian Gods, and a good dose of Egyptian magic, and suddenly Carter and Sadie are on a quest to get their dad back without getting killed themselves. This book is amazing and I totally recommend it to anyone who loves fantasy, mythology, and adventure! Rick Riordan is an amazing author and paints pictures with his writing, allowing the reader to be transported into Carter and Sadie's world. I would give this book 5/5 stars and recommend it for ages 10+!
                    • bookwormilg
                      bookwormilgMonday, July 9, 2018 at 7:53 am44 stars
                      It was a GREAT book! I enjoyed learning about Egyptian Mythology while reading a hilarious story about two siblings! Rick Riordan is a talented author, and I'm a huge fan of his books! (Mostly Magnus Chase!!!!!!!!!)

                      Our Apps and Plugins