Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.5124305

Since his mother’s death six years ago, Carter Kane has been living out of a suitcase, traveling the globe with his father, the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane. But while Carter’s been homeschooled, his younger sister, Sadie, has been living with their grandparents in London. Sadie has just what Carter wants — school friends and a chance at a “normal” life. But Carter has just what Sadie longs for—time with their father. After six years of living apart, the siblings have almost nothing in common. Until now.

On Christmas Eve, Sadie and Carter are reunited when their father brings them to the British Museum, with a promise that he’s going to “make things right.” But all does not go according to plan: Carter and Sadie watch as Julius summons a mysterious figure, who quickly banishes their father and causes a fiery explosion.

Soon Carter and Sadie discover that the gods of Ancient Egypt are waking, and the worst of them—Set—has a frightening scheme. To save their father, they must embark on a dangerous journey—a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and its links to the House of Life, a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.

Paperback, 544 pages
Published on August 16, 2011 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423113454
ISBN-13: 9781423113454
241 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • skyeFriday, April 12, 2019 at 7:05 am
    an amazing book!!!:)
    • sadiekane
      sadiekaneTuesday, March 12, 2019 at 3:23 pm55 stars
      I loved this book. I really liked how action packed it was. I recommend to read the other rick riordan books like Percy Jackson, Magnus chase and others!
      • applemango
        applemangoWednesday, March 6, 2019 at 6:48 pm55 stars
        This book is action packed with Carter and Sadie's lives turned upside down one day when they discover really why their mother is died and why their dad is keeping Carter and Sadie apart. Their lives are led to another realm where Egyption Gods exist! Sadie has an important role to play, the part of Isis to destroy Set, an evil god. Meanwhile Carter rolls in with Horus the leader of the gods. Sadie and Carter must combine their forces to destroy Set....Can they do it? Get ready for this turn and twist adventure you are about to enjoy....leading to friend or foe...
        • eggycluxTuesday, February 26, 2019 at 3:00 pm
          this book was the best book by rick rioridan, my father (Not Julius kane) loves Egyptian mythology and after this book, i do to, i also read all percy jackson books and the first magnus chase.
          • malibu
            malibuMonday, January 7, 2019 at 7:40 am44 stars
            This book is so great! I love rick riodan so much <3 <3 also recommend percy jackson and magnus chase!!!!!!!
            • NtFriday, November 2, 2018 at 7:09 am
              this is a really good book because at the begging it is intense because saddies dad exploded the musem
              • slytherinfan
                slytherinfanWednesday, August 29, 2018 at 1:12 pm55 stars
                Since their mother's death, Carter and Sadie have barely seen each other. While Sadie lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, a person who studies Egyptology, the study of Egypt. But one night, their father brings them together for an experiment at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes an Egyptian god, and- read more to find out!! #AMAZING!!
                • hufflepuffhomie
                  hufflepuffhomieTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 10:03 pm44 stars
                  I love this book! I am currently doing a book report on this, and so far it's really good! I love the humor Rick Riordan puts in every single one of his books!
                  • fossilfury
                    fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 8:37 pm55 stars
                    Great book! It adds a perfect amount of action, I love it! This is the first in the series. Rick Riordan really makes amazing books.
                    • auntieb
                      auntiebMonday, August 27, 2018 at 8:56 pm55 stars
                      The Red Pyramid is an amazing book about two siblings who live separately and get to see each other once a year on Christmas, then on Christmas Eve when Carter and his father visit Sadie and go to the British Muesum to look at an artifact because of their Egyptologist father. When he suddenly makes the Rosetta Stone explode and the Egyptian gods Isis and Horus escape and enter Sadie and Carter adventure ensues to protect the planet from the evil god Set who was also released from the Rosetta Stone!