The House of Hades (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 4)

Book 4 of 5 in the The Heroes of Olympus Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8129725

Download FREE Teacher's Guide

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy's instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through Gaea's forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors from both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?
They have no choice. If the demigods don't succeed, Gaea's armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives into the depths of Tartarus.
This paperback edition will include a never-before-seen short story, "The Crown of Ptolemy," in which Percy and Annabeth fight alongside Carter and Sadie Kane, and more bonus content!
Paperback, 672 pages
Published on September 24, 2019 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1368051715
ISBN-13: 9781368051712
385 Book Reviews
  • gold3nglare
    gold3nglareWednesday, May 12, 2021 at 8:10 am55 stars
    This book is amazing I totally recommend this 100%
    • sreadergirl
      sreadergirlMonday, April 26, 2021 at 11:17 am55 stars
      OMG I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! I love how he still includes characters from Percy Jackson but he also adds new characters!! Team Leo and Nico forever
      • staypositive
        staypositiveFriday, April 23, 2021 at 8:57 am55 stars
        I love this series! This is my favourite book in the whole series! It's so interesting and suspenseful!
        • m0ns3r3n3rgy420
          m0ns3r3n3rgy420Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 6:32 pm44 stars
          A great book, some of the stuff that goes on with the seven, not including Percy and Annabeth is a bit repetitive.
          • bail3y
            bail3yThursday, March 11, 2021 at 7:50 am55 stars
            Great book!
            • chromatic1
              chromatic1Monday, October 19, 2020 at 9:53 am55 stars
              so goood
              • kkgautamm
                kkgautammSaturday, August 15, 2020 at 2:10 pm55 stars
                this is probably my favorite heroes of olympus book because of the character development. and of course, leo and calypso, but i also love nico di angelo so much !!! but i also really liked the tartarus chapters, they were really cool
                • girlpower4ever
                  girlpower4everTuesday, July 7, 2020 at 4:40 pm55 stars
                  Percy and Annabeth have fallen into the pit of Tartarus, thousands of miles below their friends and in a place where the most evil of monsters reside. Now a fivesome, Leo, Piper, Jason, Frank, and Hazel must carry the burden of their friends' most-likely-fatal fall while trying to fulfill the fourth line of the Prophecy of the Seven: "foes bear arms to the Doors of Death." The five demigods and Percy and Annabeth, who are in Tartarus, race to the Doors of Death; they must get there and lock them before Gaea and the monsters do, or the entire world is doomed. But in the midst of the urgency, Leo is on quests of his very own, Percy and Annabeth are hunted by monsters at every turn, and the other demigods are divided by fear, morales, and uncertainty. In this beautifully heartbreaking novel, the stakes are higher than ever before, but the seven demigods will do everything within their power to stop Gaea's vengeful return.
                  • swirlycool
                    swirlycoolMonday, June 15, 2020 at 1:56 pm55 stars
                    Annabeth and Percy are stuck in Tartarus. However, they have the help of Bob, Little does he know that Percy Jackson removed his memory, and his actual name is Iapetus. Annabeth and Percy are nervous wondering what will happen if Bob finds out. Percy and Annabeth soon find out what the wrath of Tartarus really feels like. Meanwhile, the demigods are trying to find a way to rescue Percy and Annabeth. Overall, I thought this book was interesting and I think it was one of my favorite books of this series. I recommend this book to people who enjoyed the Percy Jackson series, or to people who like reading about greek mythology.
                    • bluedragon1
                      bluedragon1Saturday, May 30, 2020 at 6:10 pm55 stars
                      These book are action packed and really well written. I highly suggest them to any one who is looking for a good read. Look at any rick roiden books for good reads😃!